Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Music Subject Guide
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Music | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Music Index
Produced by Harmonie Park Press, Music Index Online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages. Some backfile data from the period 1962-1975 is also included. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal subject classification system. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Compiled by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 100 languages from 5,200 journals. Containing nearly 400,000 entries, RILM now has direct EBSCO links to 370 full text sources in Academic Search Premier. Approximately 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. The RILM Abstracts of Music Literature includes coverage from 1967 to the present.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books
Grove Music Online (5 user limit)
Grove Music Online, the "cornerstone" of Oxford Music Online, is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd. ed., 2001), the New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992 ed.), and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd. ed., 2002), "as well as all subsequent updates and emendations, including 50,000 signed articles and 28,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world." Our subscription to Grove Music Online "also includes the Oxford Companion to Music (2002 ed.), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres" and the Oxford Dictionary of Music (2nd. rev. ed., 2006) which "will similarly supplement Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users." Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen. Grove Music Online will be updated annually to ensure it remains the most up to date music reference work on the Internet. Key features are: full-text searching (across all five titles above) with advanced capabilities; over 3000 links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations; and annual updates by the Grove editorial advisory board.

Oxford Reference Online: Performing Arts
Oxford Reference Online contains over 1.3 million entries, including definitions, facts, figures, people, places, sayings, and dates from over 185 of Oxford University Press's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. These are all combined in this online service to create one integrated and searchable e-reference book collection. Subjects covered include art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, biological sciences, classics, computing, earth and environmental sciences, economics and business, English dictionaries and thesauri, English language reference, food and drink, history, law, literature, medicine, military history, mythology and folklore, names and places, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social sciences, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science. A complete list of subjects and books covered by Oxford Reference Online is available.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Arts and humanities citation index
MSU Meyer Ref A 13 .A63

Education index
MSU Meyer Ref L 11.E39x

Guide to the performing arts 
MSU Music Ref ML 118.G8

Music in print. master composer index, 1995
MSU Music Ref ML113 .M8825 1995

Music index  
MSU Music Ref ML 118 .M84

Music psychology index 
MSU Music Ref ML 128.M77 M9


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Music as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Music | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Music

American Music Teacher

Beethoven Journal

College Music Symposium

Computer Music Journal

Early Music

Fontes Artis Musicae

Gramophone

Journal of Music Theory

Journal of Musicological Research

Journal of Singing

Missouri Journal of Research in Music Education

Opera Quarterly

Percussive Notes

Music | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Composing and arranging : standard 4 benchmarks / edited by Carroll Rinehart. Reston, Virgina : National Association for Music Education, 2002.
MSU Meyer Music General MT40 .C7 2002

Crowe, Barbara J. Music and soulmaking : toward a new theory of music therapy. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2004.
MSU Meyer Music General ML3920 .C898 2004

Davies, Peter J. The character of a genius : Beethoven in perspective. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
MSU Meyer Music General ML410.B4 D29 2002

Gordon, Stewart. Mastering the art of performance : a primer for musicians. New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer Music General ML457 .G66 2006

Haroutounian, Joanne. Kindling the spark : recognizing and developing musical talent. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.
MSU Meyer Music General ML3838 .H27 2002

Krasilovsky, M. William. This business of music : the definitive guide to the music industry. New York : Billboard Books, 2003.
MSU Meyer Music General ML3790 .S5 2003

Lewin, David. Studies in music with text. New York ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer Music General ML1400 .L48 2006

Macarthur, Sally. Feminist aesthetics in music. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
MSU Meyer Music General ML82 .M22 2002

MENC handbook of musical cognition and development / edited by Richard Colwell. New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer Music General MT1 .M98736 2006

Ord, Alan J. Songs for beginning bass voice : with annotated guide to works for beginning bass voice. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002.
MSU Meyer Music General ML132.S6 O74 2002

Spitzer, Michael. Metaphor and musical thought. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2004.
MSU Meyer Music General ML3845 .S684 2004

Worlds of music : an introduction to the music of the world's peoples / edited by Jeff Todd Titon. Belmont, Calif : Schirmer/Thomson Learning, c2002.
MSU Meyer Music General ML3545 .W67 2002

Music | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

American song lyricists, 1920-1960
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x vol.265

Arts in America : a bibliography
MSU Meyer Ref NX503.A1 Z5 1979

Chronology of Western classical music
MSU Music Ref ML161 .H227 2002

Encyclopedia of folk, country, & western music
MSU Meyer Ref ML102.F66 S7 1983

Encyclopaedia of the musical film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1995.9 .M86 G7

Grey House performing arts directory
MSU Meyer Ref PN1561 .G74 2005

Hip hoptionary : the dictionary of hip-hop terminology
MSU Music Ref ML3531 .W47 2002

International cyclopedia of music and musicians
MSU Music Ref ML100 .T47 1975

New Grove dictionary of American music
MSU Meyer Ref ML101.U6 N48 1986

New Grove dictionary of jazz
MSU Music Ref ML102.J3 N48 2002

Oxford companion to music
MSU Meyer Ref ML100 .S37 1970

Rolling stone index : twenty-five years of popular culture, 1967-1991
MSU Meyer Ref News Index ML3533.8 .R65x 1993

Vocal compositions in German organ tablatures, 1550-1650 : a catalogue and commentary
MSU Music Ref ML128.O6 J63 1989

Webster's new world dictionary of music
MSU Music Ref ML100 .S639 1998

Music | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov

Government Sources
http://www.copyright.gov/

In answer to your query : copyright registration of music
MSU Meyer Gov Docs LC 3.4/2:FL 105/999

Labels and lyrics : do parental advisory labels inform consumers and parents?
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Y 4.C 73/7:S.HRG.105-1060

Music on the internet
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Y 4.J 89/1:107/12

Music | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Composers Alliance
http://www.composers.com/

Bands of America
http://www.bands.org

International Federation for Choral Music
http://www.choralnet.org

National Association for Music Education
http://www.menc.org

National Association of Teachers of Singing
http://www.nats.org/

Society for Ethnomusicology
http://www.ethnomusicology.org/

Music | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Missouri State University Music Library Web Site

 

Archive of Dissertation Abstracts in Music
http://www.rhul.ac.uk/Music/golden-pages/Archive/Disserts/index.html

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online
http://www.music.indiana.edu/ddm/

Missouri State University Department of Music
http://www.missouristate.edu/music/

Scholarly Societies Project – Music
http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/music_soc.html

compiled by Tammy Stewart | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007