Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Finance & General Business Subject Guide
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Finance | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.

EconLit
EconLit is the American Economic Association's electronic database providing references to economic research literature. EconLit is the online version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. Examples of publications indexed in EconLit include: Accounting Review, Advances in Macroeconomics, African Finance Journal, American Economist, British Journal of Industrial Relations, Business Economics, Canadian Journal of Development Studies, Harvard Business Review, Journal of Applied Business Research, Marketing Science, Policy, Small Business Economics, Technology Analysis and Strategic Management, etc. EconLit records include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers.

Emerald eJournal Collection
This e-journal package provides full-text access to 144 journals from Emerald Publishing, with indexing and citation access for yet another 33 titles. Full-text access varies with some journals beginning in 1994 while other titles are in full text only for the past four years. Generally, indexing and citation coverage goes back ten years unless the journal began more recently. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science. Emerald provides a search interface to look for articles by keyword or author. Users can also browse the entire Emerald collection of journals title by title, selecting exact volume and issue and then browse tables of contents.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating back to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
CCH Research Network for Health and Human Resources
This is Commerce Clearing House's full-text search service containing federal and state laws and regulations, case law, forms, manuals, and news reports arranged in seven topical libraries of information: Human Resources Management; Payroll; Pension/Benefits; Employment Law; Safety, OSHA & Worker's Compensation; Health Law; Food and Drug. Coverage is current and updates vary according to the publication.

Standard and Poors NetAdvantage
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is the premier reference tool for company financial and business industry information. Provides detailed business information and corporation records on over 12,000 publicly held U.S. and international corporations. Includes individual company stock reports, bond guides, dividend records, earnings guides, mutual fund reports, and S&P's Industry Surveys reports. NetAdvantage also contains a directory of corporation contact information, including directors and executives, and also includes a security dealers directory. NetAdvantage is a powerful research tool giving access to the core Standard & Poor's reference publications in one single interface.

STAT-USA (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov/), a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government such as United States economic indicators and statistical releases on U.S. economy; the National Trade Data Bank; foreign investment and marketing research reports and sources & economic reports on countries and regions of the world. Focused data on the United States domestic economy is provided in the State of the Nation portion of STAT-USA, while the Globus & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) section provides international trade and foreign country market information. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library in GLOBUS/NTDB is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Business education index
MSU Meyer Ref HF1101.Z1 B88

Business periodicals index
MSU Meyer Ref Z7164.C81 B983

Journal of economic literature
MSU Meyer Ref HB1.J6
The Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) began publication in 1969 under the auspices of the American Economic Association with quarterly issues appearing in March, June, September, and December. JEL contains survey and review articles, book reviews, an annotated bibliography of newly published books, and a list of current dissertations in North American universities.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Finance as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Finance | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

ABA Banking Journal

Business Credit

Financial Executive

Financial Management

Forbes

Fortune

High Tech Banking Strategies

Investor’s Business Daily

Journal of Business Finance and Accounting

Journal of Economics and Finance

Journal of Finance

Journal of Financial Research

Journal of Investing

Journal of Portfolio Management

Money

Finance | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Brown, Constance M. Illustrated guide to technical analysis signals and phrases : a visual dictionary of the most useful charts in technical analysis. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HG4529 .B763 2005

Ferri, Richard A. All about asset allocation : the easy way to get started. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2006.
MSU Meyer General HG4529.5 .F474 2006

Hedge fund investment management / edited by Izzy Nelken. Amsterdam ; Boston ; London : Elsevier/Butterworth-Heinemann, 2006.
MSU Meyer General HG4530 .H3878 2006

Hull, John. Fundamentals of futures and options markets. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HG6024.A3 H84 2005

Koop, Gary. Analysis of financial data. Chichester ; Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons Inc., c2006.
MSU Meyer General HG106 .K67 2006

McDonald, Malcolm. Marketing due diligence : reconnecting strategy to share price. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Butterworth-Heinemann, 2006.
MSU Meyer General HG4028.V3 M375 2006

Mun, Johnathan. Real options analysis : tools and techniques for valuing strategic investments and decisions. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2006.
MSU Meyer General HG6042 .M86 2006

Public financial management / edited by Howard A. Frank. Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General HJ141 .P84 2006

Thomsett, Michael C. Stock profits : getting to the core--new fundamentals for a new age. Upper Saddle River, NJ : FT/Prentice Hall, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HG4529 .T494 2005

Wang, XiaoHu. Financial management in the public sector : tools, applications, and cases. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2006.
MSU Meyer General HJ141 .W36 2006

Finance | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios
MSU Meyer Ref Desk HF5681.R25 T68 

Business statistics of the United States
MSU Meyer Ref Desk HC101 .A131222

Dictionary of financial abbreviations
MSU Meyer Ref HG151.3 .P38 2003

Dictionary of Finance and Banking
http://purl.missouristate.edu/library/e-books/0198607490

Dictionary of financial terms
MSU Meyer Ref HG 151 .M66 2007

Dictionary of investment terms
MSU Meyer Ref HG4513 .M37 2006

Dictionary of Human Resource Management
http://purl.missouristate.edu/library/e-books/0198296193

Dun & Bradstreet's guide to doing business around the world
MSU Meyer Ref HF1416 .M78 2001

Financial lexicon : a compendium of financial definitions, acronyms, and colloquialisms
1 copy ordered for MSU Meyer Ref on 05-18-2006

Handbook of financial analysis, forecasting, and modeling
MSU Meyer Ref HG 4011 .S46 2001

Handbook of International Financial Terms
http://purl.missouristate.edu/library/e-books/0198294816

RMA annual statement studies
MSU Meyer Ref Desk HF5681.B2 R58

Shorter Encyclopedia of Real Estate Terms
MSU Meyer Ref HD1365 .A233 2004

Value line investment survey
MSU Meyer Reserve, Circulation Desk HG 4501 .V26

World economy: historical statistics
MSU Meyer Ref HF1359 .M333 2003

Finance | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Economic Indicators
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/indicators/browse.html

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
http://www.FDIC.gov/bank/index.html

Federal Reserve System
http://www.federalreserve.gov/

Federal Reserve Board "Beige Book"
http://www.federalreserve.gov/fomc/beigebook/2006/

FirstGov
http://www.firstgov.gov

STAT-USA
http://www.stat-usa.gov/
STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the US Department of Commerce, is the site for the US business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government. Includes State of the Nation which provides current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data of the United States, and GLOBUS & NTDB covering current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and the US Dept of Commerce’s trade library the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/

International Data Base (demographic and socioeconomic data for 227countries)
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/

Foreign Trade Statistics
http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www/

United States Department of Commerce
http://www.commerce.gov

Finance | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Finance Association
http://www.afajof.org/

American Real Estate Society
http://aresnet.org/

Association for Financial Professionals
http://www.afponline.org

Community Financial Services Association
http://www.cfsa.net

Financial Executives International
http://www.fei.org

Financial Management Association International
http://fma.org/

Financial Manager Society
http://www.fmsinc.org

Financial Markets Association
http://www.securagroup.com

Financial Planning Association
http://www.fpanet.org

Midwest Finance Association
http://midwestfinance.org/

Finance | All Subject Guides (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

American Institute for Economic Research: AIER Cost-of-Living Calculator
http://www.aier.org/colcalc.html

Careers in Finance
http://www.careers-in-finance.com

CNN Money
http://money.cnn.com

Finance Mag
http://www.financemag.com

Financial Terminology Database
http://tradition.axone.ch/

FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
http://fraser.stlouisfed.org/

Kompass International Directories (search for companies and trade names)
http://www.kompass.com/

Missouri State University Department Finance and General Business
http://www.missouristate.edu/fgb/

NASDAQ
http://www.nasdaq.com/

New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)
http://www.nyse.com/

OFFSTATS/Official Statistics on the Web
http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subjects/stats/offstats/

OSU Virtual Finance Library
http://fisher.osu.edu/fin/overview.htm

Portals to the World
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
http://www.thomasnet.com/

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics On-line
http://www.unctad.org/Templates/Page.asp?intItemID=1890&lang=1

Web Resources for International Economics and Business
http://grove.ship.edu/econ/index.html

World Bank
http://worldbank.org/

WTO International Trade Statistics
http://www.wto.org/english/res_e/statis_e/statis_e.htm

Yahoo! Finance
http://finance.yahoo.com

Zycon
http://www.zycon.com/

compiled by Betty Evans | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: February 2007