Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Social Work Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Social Work | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature). Covers the Allied Health field of social service in health care.
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

LexisNexis Academic. Use the "Legal Research" Academic Search Form area to access legal news, scholarly law review articles, federal and state cases, federal and state codes, and federal regulations such as the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations.
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

Social Work Abstracts
A starting point for literature searches in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage dating back to 1966 for over 450 U.S. and international social work and human services journals. Coverage also includes books and dissertations in social work and related disciplines. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database contains more than 58,000 citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, mental health, civil and legal rights, and substance abuse.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
LexisNexis Congressional
(NOTE: As of June 30, 2008, this index will no longer be available. Please go to THOMAS in the database listings or at http://www.thomas.gov/). Lexis-Nexis Congressional contains indexing, with some full text, for congressional materials from 1789 to present, specifically committee hearings and prints, as well as serial set reports and document. Other full-text materials include bills (1989-present), public laws (1988-present), Congressional Record (1985-present), and the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations (1981-present). Congressional actions, including bill tracking (1989-present), floor votes (1988-present), and legislative histories (1969-present) are also included. The database also contains political news from the past 20 years, as well as current hot topics in the political arena.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

International index: a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .R49

Social sciences citation index
MSU Meyer Ref  Z7161 .S65

Social sciences index
MSU Meyer Ref  AI3 .S62


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Social Work as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Social Work | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Administration in Social Work

American Journal of Family Therapy

American Journal of Psychotherapy

Child and Adolescent Social Work Journal

Clinical Social Work Journal

International Social Work

Journal of Community Practice

Journal of Family Psychotherapy

Journal of Ethnic and Cultural Diversity in Social Work

Journal of Marital and Family Therapy

Journal of Poverty

Journal of Social Service Research

Journal of Social Work Education

Social Development Issues

Social Work In Health Care

Social Work Research

Substance Abuse

Social Work | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Fontes, Lisa Aronson. Child abuse and culture : working with diverse families. New York : Guilford Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HV6626.5 .F66 2005

Lundy, Colleen. Social work and social justice : a structural approach to practice. Peterborough, Ont.; Orchard Park, N.Y. : Broadview Press, c2004.
MSU Meyer General HV40 .L94 2004

Making and breaking children's lives / edited by Craig Newnes and Nick Radcliffe. Ross-on-Wye : PCCS Books, 2005.
MSU Meyer General RJ506.H9 M35 2005

Mittelstadt, Jennifer. From welfare to workfare : the unintended consequences of liberal reform, 1945-1965. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HV699 .M565 2005

Nadasen, Premilla. Welfare warriors : the welfare rights movement in the United States. New York : Routledge, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HV97.N34 N33 2005

Payne, Malcolm. Modern social work theory. Chicago, Ill. : Lyceum Books, Inc., c2005.
MSU Meyer General HV40 .P38 2005

Scannapieco, Maria. Understanding child maltreatment : an ecological and developmental perspective. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HV6626.5 .S33 2005

Sinclair, Ian. Foster placements : why they succeed and why they fail. London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HV887.G7 S56 2005

Social work diagnosis in contemporary practice / edited by Francis J. Turner. New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HV40 .S6178 2005

Social work in context : a reader / edited by Kalyani K. Mehta & Ann Wee. London ; New York : Marshall Cavendish Academic, 2004.
MSU Meyer General HV400.67 .S62 2004

Thoburn, June. Child welfare services for minority ethnic families : the research reviewed. London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HV751.A6 T45 2005

Wise, Judith Bula. Empowerment practice with families in distress. New York : Columbia University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HV697 .W57 2005

Social Work | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Addictions : a comprehensive guidebook
MSU Meyer Ref RC564 .M327 1999

Author's guide to social work journals
MSU Meyer Ref HV85 .A93 1997

Baker encyclopedia of psychology & counseling
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .B25 1999

Blackwell companion to social theory
MSU Meyer Ref H61 .B4773 2000

Blackwell encyclopaedia of social work
MSU Meyer Ref HV12 .B53 2000

Child development: a practitioner's guide
MSU Meyer Ref HV713 .D395 1999

Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref HQ767.84 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of community : from the village to the virtual world
MSU Meyer Ref HM756 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref HV5804 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of family life Vol. 1-5
MSU Meyer Ref HQ534 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of homelessness Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HV4493 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of juvenile justice
MSU Meyer Ref HV 9104.E58 2003

Encyclopedia of marriage and the family Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ9 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of mental health
MSU Meyer Ref RC437 .K34 2001

Encyclopedia of parenting theory and research
MSU Meyer Ref HQ755.8 .E523 1999

Encyclopedia of psychology Vol. 1-8
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .E52 2000

Encyclopedia of social work. National Association of Social Workers. Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref HV35 .S6

Encyclopedia of sociology. 2nd Edition
MSU Meyer Ref HM425 .E5 2000. 5 Volumes

Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001

Family law. West Group, 2000
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7880 .M5 Vol.21-21A

Family's guide to the individualized family service plan
MSU Meyer Ref HV888.5 .C75 1995

Handbook of adolescent psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF724 .H33 2004

Handbook of family measurement techniques
MSU Meyer Ref HQ728.H2672001

International encyclopedia of marriage and family
MSU Meyer Ref HQ9 .E52 2003

Macmillan encyclopedia of death and dying
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1073 .M33 2003

Measures for clinical practice
MSU Meyer Ref BF176.C66 2000

Social science encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref H41 .S63 1996

Social work almanac
MSU Meyer Ref HV90 .G53 1995

Social work dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref HV12 .B37 2003

Social Work | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


{GovDocs}

Social Work | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Association of State Social Work Boards
http://www.aswb.org/

Clinical Social Work Federation
http://www.cswf.org/

Coalition for Marriage, Family and Couples Education
http://www.smartmarriages.com/

Council on Social Work Education
http://www.cswe.org/

National Association of Social Workers
http://www.naswdc.org/

National Network for Family Resiliency
http://www.nnfr.org/

Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care
http://www.sswlhc.org/

Social Work | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

George Warren Brown School of Social Work List of Social Work Topics
http://gwbweb.wustl.edu/websites.html

Missouri Committee for Social Workers
http://pr.mo.gov/socialworkers.asp

Missouri State University School of Social Work
http://www.missouristate.edu/swk/index.html

Social Work Access Network
http://www.sc.edu/swan/

Social Work History
http://www.boisestate.edu/socwork/dhuff/XX.htm

compiled by Crystal Gale | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: December 2005