Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Sociology Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Sociology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Anthropological Index Online
The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology from academic institutions and publishers around the world. The online index includes all entries from the print index and is updated regularly. During 2000 and early 2001, a retrospective conversion was undertaken which added some 100,000 records going back to 1957. These were originally published in paper as volumes 1-22 of the Anthropological Index.

Emerald eJournal Collection
This e-journal package provides full-text access to 144 journals from Emerald Publishing, with indexing and citation access for yet another 33 titles. Full-text access varies with some journals beginning in 1994 while other titles are in full text only for the past four years. Generally, indexing and citation coverage goes back ten years unless the journal began more recently. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science. Emerald provides a search interface to look for articles by keyword or author. Users can also browse the entire Emerald collection of journals title by title, selecting exact volume and issue and then browse tables of contents.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".

Social Work Abstracts
A starting point for literature searches in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage dating back to 1977 for over 450 U.S. and international social work and human services journals. Coverage also includes books and dissertations in social work and related disciplines. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database contains more than 45,000 citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, mental health, civil and legal rights, and substance abuse.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Feminist periodicals
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1101 .F46x

Humanities index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .H85

Social sciences index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .S62


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Sociology as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Sociology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Anthropologist

American Journal of Sociology

American Sociological Review

British Journal of Sociology

Gender & Society: Official Publication of Sociologists for Women in Society

International Journal of Sociology

Journal of Social Issues

Journal of Social Psychology

Qualitative Sociology

Rural Sociology

Sociological Inquiry

Teaching Sociology

Theory and Society

Theory, Culture & Society

Sociology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Clinard, Marshall Barron. Sociology of deviant behavior. Belmont, CA : Thomson/Wadsworth, c2008.
MSU Meyer General HM811 .C58 2008

Contemporary sociological theory / edited by Craig Calhoun ... [et al.]. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM447 .C66 2007

Downes, David M. Understanding deviance : a guide to the sociology of crime and rule-breaking. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM811 .D68 2007

Invisible children in the society and its schools / edited by Sue Books. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV741 .I7 2007

Liebowitz, Jay. Social networking : the essence of innovation. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM786 .L54 2007

Parsons, Talcott. American society : a theory of the societal community. Boulder, CO : Paradigm Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HN57 .P356 2007

Phillips, Bernard S. The invisible crisis of contemporary society : reconstructing sociology's fundamental assumptions. Boulder : Paradigm Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HN29.5 .P47 2007

Public sociology : fifteen eminent sociologists debate politics and the profession in the twenty-first century / edited by Dan Clawson ... [et al.]. Berkeley : University of California Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM511 .P83 2007

Ritzer, George. Classical sociological theory. New York : McGraw-Hill Higher Education ; London : McGraw-Hill [distributor], 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM435 .R56 2007

Ritzer, George. Modern sociological theory. New York : McGraw-Hill ; London : McGraw-Hill [distributor], 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM435 .R57 2007

Sociology in America : a history / edited by Craig Calhoun. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM477.U6 S63 2007


Sociology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

About children
MSU Meyer Ref HQ792.U5 A515 2005

Blackwell companion to social theory
MSU Meyer Ref H61 .B4773 2000

Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology [electronic resource]
MSU Electronic Resource HM425 .B53 2007 MSU Only Available Electronically

Civil liberties in America : a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref 749 .W35 2004

Continuum complete international encyclopedia of sexuality
MSU Meyer Ref HQ21 .I68 2004

Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref HQ767.84 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref HV6322.7 .E532 2005

Encyclopedia of homelessness Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HV4493 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of murder and violent crime
MSU Meyer Ref HV6515 .E5323 2003

Encyclopedia of sociology
MSU Meyer Ref HM425 .E5 2000. 5 Volumes

Encyclopedia of urban cultures : cities and cultures around the world
MSU Meyer Ref HT108.5 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of women and gender: sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001

Gay and lesbian Americans and political participation : a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref HQ76.3.U5 S59 2002

Handbook of death & dying Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1073 .H36 2003

Hate crimes : a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref HV6773.52 .A47 2005

International bibliography of anthropology
MSU Meyer Ref GN301.Z1 I58x

International encyclopedia of marriage and family
MSU Meyer Ref HQ9 .E52 2003

Violence in America : an encyclopedia Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref HN90.V5 V5474 1999

Sociology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime - UN Links
http://www.unodc.org/unodc/unlinks.html

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/

Sociology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Sociological Association (ASA)
http://www.asanet.org

Association for Humanist Sociology (AHS)
http://www.altrue.net/site/humanist/

International Sociological Association (ISA)
http://www.isa-sociology.org/

Midwest Sociological Society (MSS)
http://themss.org/

Society for Applied Sociology (SAS)
http://www.appliedsoc.org

Sociology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Allyn and Bacon's Sociology Links
http://www.abacon.com/sociology/soclinks/index.html

SocioLog: Julian Dierkes' Comprehensive Guide to Sociology Online
http://www.sociolog.com/

SocioWeb
http://www.socioweb.com/

Missouri State University Sociology Program (Department of Sociology & Anthropology)
http://sociology.missouristate.edu/

Missouri State University Sociology Student Handbook
http://www.missouristate.edu/soc/new/handbook/HANDCON.html

Sociology Links from Missouri State University Sociology Dept
http://www.missouristate.edu/soc/new/sociology_links.htm

compiled by Betty Evans | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: October 2007