Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Religious Studies Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Religious Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier While not solely focused on Religious Studies, Academic Search Premier does cover many journals in this field.
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Arts and Humanities Search (AHSearch) (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Indexes selected articles from social science and science journals; indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more.

ATLA Religion (Religion Index)
The ATLA Religion Database is a major research tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, indexing and abstracting over 1,500 sources annually. The more than 1,300,000 records in ATLA Religion Database include citations to journal articles, essays from multi-author works, and book reviews. ATLA's indexing of multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings, is unique among religion databases. ATLA Religion, published by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), is the online version of the publisher's three print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Coverage is from 1949 to the present.

Dissertations Abstracts Online (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk) Provides abstracts for U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses, with coverage from 1861-present.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
The landmark Encyclopaedia Judaica, lauded as the standard work on Judaism since first appearing in the early 1970s, has been extensively revised and expanded for this long-awaited new edition. Included are more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists, with more than 2,600 brand-new entries, many focusing on gender issues and New World geographic areas of the United States, Canada and Latin America. Even more clarity and substance is incorporated through the updating of some 11,000 entries across all topics. Quick references are also facilitated through place-name lists, a chronology, a Hasidism chart, lists of newspapers and periodicals. More than 600 maps, charts, tables, photographs, illustrations and other visuals concisely illustrate key textual elements, and among other features making this scholarly work accessible, are entry-specific bibliographies to help guide further research.

Encyclopedia of Religion
The Encyclopedia of Religion's second edition (2005) updates most of the original 2,750 entries from the 1987 edition and includes around 600 entirely new articles. "Preserving the best of the first edition's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century" (publisher). Note that searching may be done via the book index, table of contents, quick keyword, or advanced searching (keyword, title, full text, author, etc.).

International Medieval Bibliography (1 user at a time only)
International Medieval Bibliography contains some 300,000 citation records, deriving from articles published in periodicals and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. All subjects are related to the Middle Ages, defined as the period from 400-1500 AD., and cover the geographical areas of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Each record contains searchable bibliographical and classification fields relating to the content of the publication itself: general subject, geographical area, chronological range, as well as detailed indexing concerning places, persons, texts, manuscripts and specific subjects treated in the article.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

Social Work Abstracts
A starting point for literature searches in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage dating back to 1966 for over 450 U.S. and international social work and human services journals. Coverage also includes books and dissertations in social work and related disciplines. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database contains more than 58,000 citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, mental health, civil and legal rights, and substance abuse.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Arts & humanities citation index 1981- 1997a
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .A63 

Catholic periodical and literature index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .C32

Elenchus of biblica
MSU Meyer Ref BS410 .E43x

Humanities index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .H85

Index Islamicus, 1906-1955 : a catalogue of articles on Islamic subjects in periodicals and other collective publications
MSU Meyer Ref D199.3 .Z1 U54 1972

Index of articles on Jewish studies (Reshimat ma'amarim be-mada'e ha-yahadut).
MSU Meyer Ref BM561.Z1 J62 (Now freely available online as RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies at http://jnul.huji.ac.il/rambi/ )

International index : a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .R49

MLA international bibliography of books and articles on the modern languages and literatures
MSU Meyer Ref Z7006 .M64

New testament abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref BS410 .N35

Old testament abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref BS410 .O42

Religion index one. periodicals
MSU Meyer Ref BL1.Z1 R34x

Religion index two : multi-author works
MSU Meyer Ref BL1.Z1 R35x

Religious and theological abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref BR1 .R286

Science of religion
MSU Meyer Ref BL1 .S3

Social sciences & humanities index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .R49


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Religious Studies as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Religious Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Journal of Theology & Philosophy

Bible Review

Biblical Archaeology Review

Christian Century

Christianity Today

Humanist

Interpretation (A journal of Bible and theology)

Journal of Biblical literature

Journal of Church and State

Journal of Ecumenical Studies

Journal of Religion

Journal of the American Academy of Religion

Muslim World

Religious Education

Zygon

Religious Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

American Catholics today : new realities of their faith and their church / edited by William V. D'Antonio ... [et al.]. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BX1390 .A46 2007

Baker, William J. (William Joseph). Playing with God : religion and modern sport. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General GV706.42 .B35 2007

Blackwell companion to the study of religion / edited by Robert A. Segal. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2006.
MSU Meyer General BL48 .B53 2006

Confronting the new conservatism : the rise of the right in America / edited by Michael J. Thompson. New York : New York University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JC573.2.U6 C653 2007

Connelly, Joan Breton. Portrait of a priestess : women and ritual in ancient Greece. Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BL795.W65 C66 2007

Erlikh, Hagai. Saudi Arabia and Ethiopia : Islam, Christianity, and politics entwined. Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BL65.P7 E75 2007

Flesher, Paul Virgil McCracken. Film & religion : an introduction. Nashville, TN : Abingdon Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1995.5 .F54 2007

Foley, Michael W. Religion and the new immigrants : how faith communities form our newest citizens. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BV639.I4 F65 2007

Green, John Clifford. The faith factor : how religion influences American elections. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BL2525 .G74 2007

Hitchens, Christopher. God is not great : how religion poisons everything. New York : Twelve, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BL2775.3 .H58 2007

Regnerus, Mark. Forbidden fruit : sex & religion in the lives of American teenagers. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BL625.47 .R43 2007

Religious interests in community conflict : beyond the culture wars / edited by Paul A. Djupe and Laura R. Olson. Waco, Tex. : Baylor University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HN39.U6 R45 2007

Sheldrake, Philip. A brief history of spirituality. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General BV4501.3 .S532 2007

Shires, Preston. Hippies of the religious right. Waco, Tex. : Baylor University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BR517 .S39 2007

Stenger, Victor J. God : the failed hypothesis : how science shows that God does not exist. Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BL240.3 .S738 2007

Stern, Gary. Can God intervene? : how religion explains natural disasters. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BL65.N33 S74 2007

Sutton, Matthew Avery. Aimee Semple McPherson and the resurrection of Christian America. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BX7990.I68 M325 2007

Teaching Islam : textbooks and religion in the Middle East / edited by Eleanor Abdella Doumato and Gregory Starrett. Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BP43.I48 T43 2007

Ward, Keith. Is religion dangerous? Grand Rapids, Mich. : William B. Eerdmans Pub. Co., 2007.
MSU Meyer General BL51 .W21 2007

Young, Davis A. John Calvin and the natural world. Lanham, MD : University Press of America, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BX9418 .Y68 2007

Religious Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Biography
Butler's lives of the saints
MSU Meyer Ref BX4655.3 .B88 2003

Complete gods and goddesses of ancient Egypt
MSU Meyer Ref BL2450.G6 W56 2003

Dictionary of American religious biography
MSU Meyer Ref BL72 .B68

Papacy : an encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref BX955.3 .D5313 2002

Dictionaries
Anchor bible dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref BS440 .A54 1992

Dictionary of atheism, skepticism & humanism
MSU Meyer Ref BL2705 .C66 2006

Oxford companion to the bible
MSU Electronic Resource BS440 .M434 1993 MSU Only Available Electronically

Oxford dictionary of the jewish religion
MSU Meyer Ref BM50 .O94 1997

Oxford dictionary of world religions
MSU Meyer Ref BL31 .O84 1997

Encyclopedias
Antisemitism : a historical encyclopedia of prejudice and persecution
MSU Meyer Ref DS146.E8 A58 2005 Vol. 1-2

Archaeological encyclopedia of the holy land
MSU Meyer Ref DS111.A2A73 2001

Crimes of perception : an encyclopedia of heresies and heretics
MSU Meyer Ref BT1315.2 .G46 1995

Encyclopaedia judaica Online http://purl.missouristate.edu/library/databases/ENCYCJUDAICA
MSU Meyer Ref DS102.8 .E496 2007

Encyclopedia of African American religions
MSU Meyer Ref BR563.N4 E53 1993

Encyclopedia of buddhism
MSU Meyer Ref BQ128 .E62 2004

Encyclopedia of christianity
MSU Meyer Ref BR95 .E47 2005

Encyclopedia of ethics
MSU Meyer Ref BJ63.E45 2001

Encyclopedia of hinduism
MSU Meyer Ref BL1105 .J56 2007

Encyclopedia of islam and the muslim world
MSU Meyer Ref BP40 .E525 2004

Encyclopedia of Native American religions
MSU Meyer Ref E98.R3 H73 2000

Encyclopedia of religion, 2nd Edition Vol. 1-15 Online http://purl.missouristate.edu/library/databases/ENCYREL
MSU Meyer Ref BL31 .E46 2005

Encyclopedia of religion and nature Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref BL31 .E465 2005 

Encyclopedia of religion and war
MSU Meyer Ref BL80.3 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of the enlightenment
MSU Meyer Ref B 802 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref BL458 .E52 2006

New catholic encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref BX841 .N44 2003

New encyclopedia of islam
MSU Meyer Ref BP40.G42 2001

New encyclopedia of southern culture Vol. 1-4 & Vol. 6
MSU Meyer Ref F209 .N47 2006

New encyclopedia of the occult
MSU Meyer Ref BF1407 .G74 2003

World christian encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref BR157 .W67 2001

Handbooks
Cults : a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref BL2525 .L486 2005

Handbook of denominations in the United States
MSU Meyer Ref BL2525 .M425 2005

Handbook of hindu mythology
MSU Meyer Ref BL1111.4 .W55 2003

Nelson's guide to denominations
MSU Meyer Ref BR510 .M45 2007

Yearbook of American and Canadian churches
MSU Meyer Ref BR513 .Y4

Religious Writings
The book of Mormon
MSU Meyer Ref BX8623 1920

Holy bible : (Authorized or King James version)
MSU Meyer Ref BS185 1957 .C52

Torah
MSU Meyer Ref BS 1223 1967

Atlases, Commentaries, & Concordances:
Concordance of the Qur’an
MSU Meyer Ref BP133 .K37 1983

Interpreter's bible
MSU Meyer Ref BS491 .I65

NIV exhaustive concordance
MSU Meyer Ref BS425 .G62 1990

Religious Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Chaplains as liaisons with religious leaders [electronic resource] : lessons from Iraq and Afghanistan / George Adams. Washington, DC : U.S. Institute of Peace, 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS67563

Examination of a fundamental human right : the 2006 International Religious Freedom Report : hearing before the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, December 21, 2006. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2007.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS79883

H.R. 1445, the Workplace Religious Freedom Act of 2005 : hearing before the Subcommittee on Employer-Employee Relations of the Committee on Education and the Workforce, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, November 10, 2005. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS73667

Islamist extremism in Europe : hearing before the Subcommittee on European Affairs of the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, April 5, 2006. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2007.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS80886; http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS80887

Religious contributions to peacemaking [electronic resource] : when religion brings peace, not war / edited by David R. Smock. Washington, DC : U.S. Institute of Peace, 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS67565

Report on enforcement of laws protecting religious freedom : fiscal years 2001-2006. Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Justice, Civil Rights Division, [2007]
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS79534

U.S. counterterrorism strategy update : hearing before the Subcommittee on International Terrorism and Nonproliferation of the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, October 27, 2005. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS66679

United States Department of State: International Religious Freedom
http://www.state.gov/g/drl/irf/

Religious Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Academy of Religion
http://www.aarweb.org/

Association for the Sociology of Religion
http://www.sociologyofreligion.com/

International Association for History of Religions
http://www.iahr.dk/

Preservation Catalog
http://www.atla.com/preservation/preservation_catalog.html

Religious Research Association
http://rra.hartsem.edu/abouttheRRA.htm

Society for the Scientific Study of Religion
http://www.sssrweb.org/

Religious Studies: Societies, Centers & Associations listing from Academic Info Net
http://www.academicinfo.net/Religionsoc.html

Religious Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

ABZU A Guide to information related to the study of the Ancient Near East on the web
http://www.etana.org/abzu/

Adherents.com
http://www.adherents.com/

Best Information on the Net: Religion
http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Majors/Religion/relindex.htm

Jewish Encyclopedia (originally published between 1901-1906 and now in the public domain)
http://jewishencyclopedia.com/

Missouri State University Department of Religious Studies
http://www.missouristate.edu/relst/

Religion Gateway from Academic Info
http://www.academicinfo.net/religindex.html

Virtual Religion Index
http://religion.rutgers.edu/vri/

Yahoo! Directory: Religion and Spirituality
http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/

compiled by Charlotte Dugan | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July 2007