Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Recreation and Leisure Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Department

Recreation & Leisure | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.

ECO
The OCLC Electronic Collections Online (ECO) database is a collection of scholarly journals, with over 5,400 sources. It includes bibliographic information for all journals, and lets you view abstracts and full-text articles from journals to which Missouri State subscribes. ECO is multi-disciplinary in its subject areas, and coverage extends from 1995 to present.

Education Full Text
Education Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage of articles from over 350 journals ranges as far back as 1996. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Subject areas indexed include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education. The paper version of this index covers the field back to 1929, much further than any of the current on-line educational indexes.

ERIC
ERIC is the research database and information system for the field of education. It is produced by the Educational Resources Information Center. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the National Library of Education (NLE). The database contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC Documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database provides searchable full text for nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals. This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Topics include medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. This database also contains Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. Over 400 trade publications, magazines and academic journals are indexed, and there is full text coverage for more than 250 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

MasterFILE Premier
"Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags."

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus, provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Indexed are articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals and magazines, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, video and audio tapes, and book reviews. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, including bibliographic coverage for over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Recreation and Leisure as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse

Recreation & Leisure | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Backpacker

Bicycling

Canoe & Kayak

Handball

International Journal of the History of Sport

JOPERD

Journal of Leisure Research

Journal of Sport History

Leisure Management

Leisure Opportunities

Leisure Sciences

Research Quarterly for Exercise & Sport

Runners World

Ski

Sport History Review

Swimming World and Junior Swimmer

Track & Field News

Visions in Leisure and Business

Recreation & Leisure | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Baker, William J. Playing with God : religion and modern sport. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General GV706.42 .B35 2007

Block, Martin E. A teacher's guide to including students with disabilities in general physical education. Baltimore : Paul H. Brookes Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV445 .B56 2007

Bridging school & home through family nights : ready-to-use plans for grades K-8 / edtied by Diane W. Kyle ... [et al.]. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer Curric General LB1048.5 .B75 2006

Brock, Barbara J. Living outside the box : tv-free families share their secrets. Spokane, Wash. : Eastern Washington University Press, c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Coaching basketball technical and tactical skills / edited by American Sport Education Program with Kathy McGee. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV885.3 .C594 2007 

Coaching youth baseball / edited by American Sport Education Program.Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV880.4 .R66 2007

Coaching youth basketball / edited by American Sport Education Program. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV885.3 .C63 2007

Conservative management of sports injuries / edited by Thomas E. Hyde, Marianne S. Gengenbach. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2007.
1 copy ordered for MSU Meyer General on 06-27-2007.

Contemporary sport management / edited by Janet B. Parks, Jerome Quarterman, Lucie Thibault. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV713 .C66 2007

Cox, Richard H. Sport psychology : concepts and applications. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV706.4 .C69 2007

Cox, Ronald W. Free agency and competitive balance in baseball. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Company, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GV880 .C69 2006

Crowther, Nigel B. Sport in ancient times. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
MSU Meyer General GV571 .C76 2007

Ethics in sport / edited by William J. Morgan. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV706.3 .E86 2007

Fronske, Hilda Ann. Teaching cues for sport skills for secondary school students. San Francisco : Pearson Benjamin Cummings, c2008.
MSU Meyer General GV361 .F66 2008

Handbook of sport psychology. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV706.4 .H37 2007 

Jensen, Clayne R. Outdoor recreation in America. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GV191.4 .J46 2006

Krotee, March L. Management of physical education and sport. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV343.5 .B787 2007

Law for recreation and sport managers / edited by Doyice J. Cotten, John T. Wolohan. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF3989 .S64 2007

Lipin, Lawrence M. Workers and the wild : conservation, consumerism, and labor in Oregon, 1910-30. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD8079.O7 L56 2007

Make the day matter! : promoting typical lifestyles for adults with significant disabilities / edited by Pamela M. Walker and Patricia Rogan with invited contributors. Baltimore : Paul H. Brookes Pub. Co., c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Managing sports organizations : responsibility for performance / edited by Dan Covell ... [et al.]. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Butterworth-Heinemann, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV713 .M363 2007

McNamee, M. J. Research ethics in exercise, health and sport sciences. London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
MSU Meyer General GV341 .M436 2007

Miller, Richard Kendall. The 2007 leisure market research handbook. Loganville, GA : Richard K. Miller & Associates, 2007.
MSU Meyer General GV174 .M55 2007

Moss, Mark Howard. Shopping as an entertainment experience. Lanham, MD : Lexington Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HF5461 .M67 2007

Mullin, Bernard James. Sport marketing. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV716 .M85 2007

National identity and global sports events : culture, politics, and spectacle in the Olympics and the football World Cup / edited by Alan Tomlinson and Christopher Young. Albany : State University of New York Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GV706.34 .N38 2006

Nickson, Dennis. Human resource management for the hospitality and tourism industries. Oxford ; Burlington, MA : Butterworth-Heinemann, c2007.
MSU Meyer General TX911.3.P4 N53 2007

Nicholson, Matthew. Sport and the media : managing the nexus. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV742 .N54 2007

Ninemeier, Jack D. Discovering hospitality and tourism : the world's greatest industry. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2008.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Occupational therapy for physical dysfunction / edited by Mary Vining Radomski, Catherine A. Trombly Latham. Philadelphia : Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2008.
MSU Meyer General RM735 .O33 2008

Officiating volleyball / developed by the American Sport Education Program. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV1015.5.O44 O44 2007

Oxford handbook of sport and exercise medicine / edited by Domhnall MacAuley. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .O944 2007

Public lands : use and misuse / William E. Neeley, editor. New York : Nova Science Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD221 .P83 2007

Sagert, Kelly Boyer. The 1970s . Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E169.Z8 S24 2007

Slack, Trevor. Understanding sport organizations : the application of organization theory. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GV713 .S576 2006

Smith, Thomas Ruys. River of dreams : imagining the Mississippi before Mark Twain. Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Travel and tourism : an industry primer / edited by Paul S. Biederman ... [et al.]. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, 2008.
MSU Meyer General G155.A1 T6556 2008

Recreation & Leisure | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

ACSM's health/fitness facility standards and guidelines / American College of Sports Medicine
MSU Meyer Ref GV 429 .A45 1997

Americans with disabilities act resource guide for park, recreation, and leisure service agencies
MSU Meyer Ref GV 183.5 .A44x 1992

Baseball: an encyclopedia of popular culture
MSU Meyer Ref GV867.64.R52 2000

Dictionary of concepts in recreation and leisure studies
MSU Meyer Ref GV 11 .S57 1990

Dictionary of toys and games in American popular culture
MSU Meyer Ref NK9509.65.U6 A95 2004

Disability express: travel and disability resource directory
MSU Meyer Ref HV 1568.6 .D57x 1997

Encyclopedia of disability and rehabilitation
MSU Meyer Ref HV 1568 .E53 1995

Encyclopedia of North American sports history
MSU Meyer Ref GV567.H518 2002

Inclusion: including people with disabilities in parks and recreation opportunities
MSU Meyer Ref GV183.5 .A53 2003

Information sources in sport and leisure
MSU Meyer Ref GV 704.Z1 S48 1992

Internship bible
MSU Meyer Ref LC1072.I58 I46 2004

Legal liability and risk management for public and private entities: sport and physical education, leisure services, recreation and parks, camping and adventure activities
MSU Meyer Ref KF 1290.S66 V36 1990

Notable sports figures
MSU Meyer Ref GV697.A1 N68 2004

Older Americans almanac: a reference work on seniors in the United States
MSU Meyer Ref HQ 1064.U6 O416 1994

Parks directory of the United States : a guide to 3,700 national and state parks, recreation areas, historic sites, battlefields, monuments, forests, preserves, memorials, seashores, and other designated recreation areas in the United States administered by national and state park agencies
MSU Meyer Ref E 160 .S65 1992

Rating guide to life in America's fifty states
MSU Meyer Ref HN 60 .T49 1994

Recreation and entertainment industries: an information sourcebook
MSU Meyer Ref GV 183.3 .U6 Z53 1990

Sports and games of medieval cultures
MSU Meyer Ref GV 1200. W55 2002

Sports and games of the ancients
MSU Meyer Ref GV 17. C73 2002

Sports rules book
MSU Meyer Ref GV731.H85 2004

Sports rules encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref GV 731 .S75 1990

Statistical handbook on adolescents in America
MSU Meyer Ref HQ 796 .S8237 1996

Study guide for the therapeutic recreation specialist certification examination
MSU Meyer Ref RM 736.7 .S88x 1997

Summer programs for kids & teenagers
MSU Meyer Ref Desk GV186 .S85 2007

Thesaurus of park, recreation & leisure service terms: a collection of ... terms for use in indexing and searching manual and automated information systems
MSU Meyer Ref GV 11 .T44x 1990

Recreation & Leisure | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Academy of Leisure Sciences
http://www.academyofleisuresciences.org/

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
http://www.aahperd.org

American Association for Leisure and Recreation
http://www.aahperd.org/aalr/template.cfm?template=main.html

American Camping Association
http://www.acacamps.org

American Park and Recreation Society
http://www.activeparks.org

American Recreation Coalition
http://www.funoutdoors.com

Camping Women
http://www.campingwomen.org

National Association of Recreation Resource Planners
http://www.narrp.org

National Parks and Conservation Association
http://www.eparks.org

Prairie Club
http://www.prairieclub.org/

Wilderness Inquiry
http://www.wildernessinquiry.org

Recreation & Leisure | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Fodor's
http://www.fodors.com/

Frommer's
http://www.frommers.com/

Information on recreational sites and activities on federal lands
http://www.recreation.gov/

Lonely Planet
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/

Missouri State University Department of Health, Education and Recreation
http://www.missouristate.edu/HPER/

Missouri State University Recreation and Leisure Studies Program
http://www.missouristate.edu/rls/

Resources of Scholarly Societies – Recreation and Leisure Studies
http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/recreation_soc.html

Rough Guides
http://www.roughguides.com/

Travel Health Online
https://www.tripprep.com/scripts/main/default.asp

compiled by Edward DeLong | Meyer Library
MSU Libraries | Missouri State University | Updated: July 2007