Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Physical Therapy Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Alt HealthWatch
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers researchers an immediate resource of full text articles from more than 180 international and often peer reviewed journals, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis offers full text from medical news and professional magazine sources. From the LexisNexis homepage, click Power Search tab and pulldown Select Sources menu to "Healthcare News" or "All Full-Text Medical Journals".
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

MEDLINE
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".

SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus, provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Indexed are articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals and magazines, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, video and audio tapes, and book reviews. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, including bibliographic coverage for over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Encyclopedia of Disability
The online version of the Encyclopedia of Disability embraces five volumes that improve the reader's understanding and appreciation of the world of disability: Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a Reader's Guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability. This encyclopedia includes contributions from more than 500 scholars who have written over 1,000 entries in an effort to bring students and researchers closer to the experience of disability.

Encyclopedia of Gerontology
This online version of the revised, two-volume Encyclopedia of Gerontology (2007 ed.) provides a reference source for identifying major areas of investigation and knowledge on the biology, psychology and sociology of aging, in addition to covering how aging is depicted in the humanities. The articles touch upon the many and varied aspects of research in gerontology, from the genetics and biology of aging, to issues of daily life: the workplace, family life, retirement, health care, social security and pensions. Each of the 180 articles provides depth and breadth of coverage, including theory and summaries of empirical findings. Articles also contain a definition paragraph, describing the subject at hand, a glossary of unfamiliar terms, and a bibliography of suggested readings. Search terms can be truncated (psych* for psychology or psychological).

Oxford Reference Online From the Oxford Reference homepage, see the Medicine link under Subject Reference.
Oxford Reference Online contains over 1.3 million entries, including definitions, facts, figures, people, places, sayings, and dates from over 170 of Oxford University Press's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. These are all combined in this online service to create one integrated and searchable e-reference book collection. Subjects covered include art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, biological sciences, classics, computing, earth and environmental sciences, economics and business, English dictionaries and thesauri, English language reference, food and drink, history, law, literature, medicine, military history, mythology and folklore, names and places, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social sciences, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science. A complete list of subjects and books covered by Oxford Reference Online is available.

STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library
STAT!Ref is an easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals. It is a collection of clinically-oriented health sciences ready reference e-books. The collection provides convenient access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions. The titles can be browsed, searched individually, or multiple titles can be searched at the same time.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Physical Therapy as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Journal of Hand Therapy

JOSPT: Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy

Journal of Physical Therapy Education

Pediatric Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy Reviews

Physiotherapy

Physiotherapy Canada

Physiotherapy Research International

Physiotherapy Theory and Practice

PT: Magazine of Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Cardiovascular/pulmonary essentials : applying the preferred physical therapist practice patterns / edited by Marilyn Moffat and Donna Frownfelter. Thorofare, NJ : SLACK Inc., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC702 .C39 2007

Geriatric rehabilitation manual / edited by Tim Kauffman, John O. Barr and Michael Moran. Edinburgh ; New York : Churchill Livingstone, 2007.
MSU Meyer General RC953.8.P58 G48 2007

Goodman, Catherine Cavallaro. Differential diagnosis for physical therapists : screening for referral. St. Louis, Mo. : Saunders/Elsevier, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RM701 .G658 2007

Neurological rehabilitation / edited by Darcy A. Umphred ; with section editors, Gordon U. Burton, Rolando T. Lazaro and Margaret L. Roller. St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby Elsevier, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC350.E85 N48 2007

Nicholson, Sheila K. The physical therapist's business practice and legal guide. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2008.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Physical rehabilitation / edited by Susan B. O'Sullivan and Thomas J. Schmitz. Philadelphia : F.A. Davis, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RM700 .O88 2007

Prevention practice : a physical therapist's guide to health, fitness, and wellness / edited by Catherine Rush Thompson. Thorofare, NJ : SLACK, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RM700 .P82 2007

Rehabilitation for the postsurgical orthopedic patient / edited by Lisa Maxey and Jim Magnusson. St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby Elsevier, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RD736.P47 R44 2007b

Sports injuries : examination, imaging, and management / Stephen Eustace ... [et al.] ; with contributions from Nicholas Eustace ... [et al.]. Edinburgh ; New York : Churchill Livingstone/Elsevier, 2007.
MSU Meyer General RD97 .S685 2007

Wound care : a collaborative practice manual / edited by Carrie Sussman and Barbara M. Bates-Jensen. Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer Health / Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RD93 .W682 2007

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Alternative health & medicine encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref  R733.M38 1998

Disability express : travel and disability resource library
MSU Meyer Ref HV1568.6 .D57 2000

Encyclopedia & dictionary of medicine, nursing, and allied health
MSU Meyer Ref R121 .M65 2005

Encyclopedia of arthritis
MSU Meyer Ref RC933 .S766 2004

Encyclopedia of health care management
MSU Meyer Ref RA971 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of sports medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC1206 .O355 2005

Encyclopedia of the muscle and skeletal systems and disorders
MSU Meyer Ref RC925.5 .S29 2005

Gale encyclopedia of medicine
MSU Meyer Ref  RC41.G35 1999

Gray's anatomy : the anatomical basis of clinical practice
MSU Meyer Ref QM23.2 .G73 2005

Griffith’s 5 minute clinical consult
MSU Meyer Ref RC55.A12 2000

Mosby's manual of diagnostic and laboratory tests
MSU Meyer Ref RB38.2 .P34 2006

Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC1206.O94 1994

Professional guide to signs and symptoms
MSU Meyer Ref RC69 .P77 2007

Stedman’s abbrev.: abbreviations, acronyms & symbols
MSU Meyer Ref R123.S69 1999

Stedman's medical dictionary for the health professions and nursing
MSU Meyer Ref R121 .S8 2005

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html (Also available in LexisNexis Congressional)

United States Department of Health & Human Services
http://www.dhhs.gov/

Related Branches of HHS from FirstGov
http://www.firstgov.gov/Agencies/Federal/Executive/HHS.shtml

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (formerly Health Care Financing Administration)
http://cms.hhs.gov/

National Institutes of Health
http://www.nih.gov

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Academy of Physical Therapy
http://www.aaptnet.org

American Medical Association
http://www.ama-assn.org

American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
http://www.sportsmed.org

American Physical Therapy Association
http://www.apta.org

American Sports Medicine Institute
http://www.asmi.org/

International Society of Biomechanics
http://www.isbweb.org

Missouri Physical Therapy Association
http://www.mopt.org

National Rehabilitation Association
http://www.nationalrehab.org

North American Institute of Orthopaedic Manual Therapy
http://www.naiomt.com

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Andrews University PT Sites of Interest
http://www.andrews.edu/PHTH/ptlinks.php

John Fraser’s Physical Therapy Page
http://www.geocities.com/johnjfraser

Medical Encyclopedia
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html

On-Line Medical Dictionary
http://cancerweb.ncl.ac.uk/omd/

Physical Therapy Professional Corner
http://physicaltherapy.about.com/od/professionalcorner/

Physical Therapy -TWS
http://automailer.com/tws

Missouri State University Department of Physical Therapy
http://www.missouristate.edu/PhysicalTherapy/index.htm

Yoursurgery.com
http://www.yoursurgery.com

Physical Therapy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Audiovisuals Available at Meyer Library
The links will take you to into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and location in the library.

Florence Kendall’s muscle testing video library, programs 1-5
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassettes N7312, N7313, N7314, N7315, N7316

Joint mobilization [electronic resource] : techniques for managing restricted range of motion
MSU Meyer Media Coll Computer disc R492

Manual techniques and progressive therapeutic exercise training: cervicothoracic-scapulohumeral regions
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N7422

Moshe Feldenkrais: working with the elderly
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassettes N7457-1, N7457-2

Muscle energy techniques for muscle dysfunction
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N7412

Neurodynamic techniques : a definitive guide from the Noigroup team
MSU Meyer Media Coll Audiovisual L979

Orthopaedic manual physical therapy management of the cervical-thoracic spine & ribcage
MSU Meyer Media Coll Computer disc R473

Orthopaedic medicine and manual therapy series, 1-6:
The Knee; The Shoulder; The Hip; The Wrist and Hand; The Ankle and Foot; The Elbow
MSU Meyer Media Coll Audiovisuals L842-L847

Top to toe
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N7982

compiled by Betty Evans | Meyer Library
MSU Libraries | Missouri State University | Updated: December 2007