Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Psychology Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Psychology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier While not solely focused on Psychology, Academic Search Premier does cover many journals in this field.
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Dissertations Abstracts Online (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Academic topics found in dissertations. Sources include U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses. Number of records: 2,000,000+. Dates covered: 1861 to present. Abstracts since 1980. Thesis abstracts since 1988.

Gender Studies Database
The Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. GSD covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.

MEDLINE
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".

Social Work Abstracts
A starting point for literature searches in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage dating back to 1966 for over 450 U.S. and international social work and human services journals. Coverage also includes books and dissertations in social work and related disciplines. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database contains more than 58,000 citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, mental health, civil and legal rights, and substance abuse.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, containing over 1,800 entries/3.5 million words, is an essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in the broad field of sociology. It provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. This resource contains materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge, including introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe. While focused broadly in sociology, this encyclopedia touches on a wide range of disciplines such as criminology, ethnography, gender studies, gerontology, psychology, and social work.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
The online version of this five-volume subject encyclopedia features over 1000 entries that focus on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. The contributions are authored by 300 internationally renowned experts, professors, and scholars from some of the most distinguished universities, institutes and museums in the world. Special attention is given to: hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.

Encyclopedia of Gerontology
This online version of the revised, two-volume Encyclopedia of Gerontology (2007 ed.) provides a reference source for identifying major areas of investigation and knowledge on the biology, psychology and sociology of aging, in addition to covering how aging is depicted in the humanities. The articles touch upon the many and varied aspects of research in gerontology, from the genetics and biology of aging, to issues of daily life: the workplace, family life, retirement, health care, social security and pensions. Each of the 180 articles provides depth and breadth of coverage, including theory and summaries of empirical findings. Articles also contain a definition paragraph, describing the subject at hand, a glossary of unfamiliar terms, and a bibliography of suggested readings. Search terms can be truncated (psych* for psychology or psychological).

STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library
STAT!Ref is an easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals. It is a collection of clinically-oriented health sciences ready reference e-books. The collection provides convenient access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions. The titles can be browsed, searched individually, or multiple titles can be searched at the same time.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Social sciences citation index
MSU Meyer Ref Z7161 .S65

Social sciences index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .S62


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Psychology as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Psychology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Journal of Psychology

British Journal of Social Psychology

Cognitive Science

Culture & Psychology

Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology

Journal of Abnormal Psychology

Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes

Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied

Journal of Experimental Psychology: General

Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance

Journal of Experimental Psychology. Learning, memory, and Cognition

Journal of Social and Personal Relationships

Psychological Science in the Public Interest

Psychology of Men & Masculinity

Social Psychology

Psychology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Aldwin, Carolyn M. Stress, coping, and development : an integrative perspective. New York : Guilford Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BF575.S75 A42 2007

Altruism and health : perspectives from empirical research / edited by Stephen G. Post.  Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BF637.H4 A48 2007

Benjafield, John G. Cognition. Don Mills, Ont. : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BF311 .B446 2007

Cognitive schemas and core beliefs in psychological problems : a scientist-practitioner guide / edited by Lawrence P. Riso ... [et al.]. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC489.C63 C645 2007

Combat stress injury : theory, research, and management / edited by Charles R. Figley and William P. Nash ; foreword by Jonathan Shay. New York : Routledge, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC550 .C66 2007

Cooper, John O. Applied behavior analysis. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Merrill-Prentice Hall, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BF199 .C65 2007

Cox, Richard H. Sport psychology : concepts and applications. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV706.4 .C69 2007

Critical thinking in psychology / edited by Robert J. Sternberg, Henry J. Roediger III, and Diane F. Halpern. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BF441 .C755 2007

DiFonzo, Nicholas. Rumor psychology : social and organizational approaches. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM1241 .D54 2007

Dutton, Donald G. The psychology of genocide, massacres, and extreme violence : why "normal" people come to commit atrocities. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Security International, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM1116 .D88 2007

Eggen, Paul D. Educational psychology : windows on classrooms. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Merrill/Prentice Hall, c2007.
MSU Meyer General LB1051 .E463 2007

Emotion and psychopathology : bridging affective and clinical science / edited by Jonathan Rottenberg and Sheri L. Johnson. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC455.4.E46 E38 2007

Encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology / edited by Steven G. Rogelberg. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HF5548.8 .E498 2007

Expert psychological testimony for the courts / edited by Mark Costanzo, Daniel Krauss, and Kathy Pezdek. Mahwah, NJ : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007.
MSU Meyer General KF8922 .E97 2006

Explorations in criminal psychopathology : clinical syndromes with forensic implications / edited by Louis B. Schlesinger. Springfield, Ill. : Charles C. Thomas, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6080 .E885 2007

Goodwin, C. James. Research in psychology : methods and design. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, Inc., c2008.
MSU Meyer General BF76.5 .G64 2008

Gray, Susan W. Psychopathology : a competency-based assessment model for social workers.  Australia ; United States : Thomson/Brooks/Cole, c2008.
MSU Meyer General   RC480.5 .G678 2008

Handbook of gerontology : evidence-based approaches to theory, practice, and policy / edited by James A. Blackburn, Catherine N. Dulmus.
MSU Meyer General RC952.55 .H395 2007

Handbook of sport psychology. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GV706.4 .H37 2007

Hinshaw, Stephen P. The mark of shame : stigma of mental illness and an agenda for change. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General RC455.2.P83 H56 2007

Howes, Mary B. Human memory : structures and images. Thousand Oaks : SAGE Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BF371 .H74 2007

Implicit measures of attitudes / edited by Bernd Wittenbrink and Norbert Schwarz. New York : Guilford Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM1181 .I46 2007

Kenrick, Douglas T. Social psychology : goals in interaction.  Boston : Pearson, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM1033 .K46 2007 

Kimmel, Allan J. Ethical issues in behavioral research : basic and applied perspectives.  Oxford, UK ; Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General BF76.4 .K55 2007  1405134380

Lantz, James E.  Short-term existential intervention in clinical practice.  Chicago, Ill. : Lyceum Books, c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General. 

Martin, Rod A. The psychology of humor : an integrative approach. Burlington, MA : Elsevier Academic Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BF575.L3 M37 2007

Nelson, Katherine. Young minds in social worlds : experience, meaning, and memory. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BF721 .N42 2007

Pope, Kenneth S. Ethics in psychotherapy and counseling : a practical guide. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BF636.67 .P67 2007

Psychological & social impact of illness and disability / edited by Arthur E. Dell Orto and Paul W. Power.  New York : Springer Pub. Co., c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV1553 .P75 2007

Psychological treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder : fundamentals and beyond / edited by Martin M. Antony, Christine Purdon, and Laura Summerfeldt. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC533 .P78 2007

Psychology of academic cheating / edited by Eric M. Anderman and Tamera B. Murdock. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General LB3609 .P79 2007

Psychology of terrorism / edited by Bruce Bongar ... [et al.]. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General RC569.5.T47 P83 2007

Rosenthal, Robert. Essentials of behavioral research: methods and data analysis. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2008.
MSU Meyer General BF76.5 .R629 2008

Social neuroscience: integrating biological and psychological explanations of social behavior / edited by Eddie Harmon-Jones, Piotr Winkielman. New York : Guilford Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QP360 .S594 2007

Social psychology: handbook of basic principles / edited by Arie W. Kruglanski and Tory E. Higgins. New York : Guilford Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM1033 .S637 2007

Wiener, Craig.  Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder as a learned behavioral pattern : a return to psychology.   Lanham, MD : University Press of America, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Psychology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Addiction counselor's desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref RC564 .C674 2005

APA dictionary of psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .A65 2007

Baker encyclopedia of psychology & counseling
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .B25 1999

Blackwell dictionary of cognitive psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF311 .B535 1990

Concise rules of APA style
MSU Meyer Ref Desk BF76.7 .C66 2005

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-IV-TR
MSU Electronic Resource RC455.2.C4 D76 2000
MSU only Available electronically

Dictionary of psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .C72 1999

Encyclopedia of applied psychology Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref BF636 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of behavior modification and cognitive behavior therapy Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref RC489.B4 E485 2005

Encyclopedia of education and human development Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref LB15 .E473 2005

Encyclopedia of mental health
MSU Meyer Ref RC437.K34 2001

Encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis
MSU Meyer Ref RC437 .E49 1996 

Encyclopedia of psychology Vol. 1-8
MSU Meyer Ref BF31 .E52 2000

Encyclopedia of psychotherapy Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref 475.7 .E55 2002

Handbook of adolescent psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF724 .H33 2004

Handbook of psychology Vol. 1-12
MSU Meyer Ref BF121 .H1955 2003

International dictionary of psychoanalysis = Dictionnaire international de la psychanalyse Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref RC501.4 .D4313 2005

Measures for clinical practice Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref BF176.C66 2000

Mental health disorders sourcebook: basic consumer health information about mental and emotional health and mental illness, including facts about depression, bipolar disorder, and other mood disorders
MSU Meyer Ref RC454.4 .M458 2005

Psychologists' desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref RC467.2 .P78 1998

Psychology : a guide to reference and information sources
MSU Meyer Ref BF121.Z1 B39 1993

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association
MSU Meyer Ref Desk BF76.7 .P83 2001

Psychology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Domestic violence by police officers: a compilation of papers submitted to the Domestic Violence by Police Officers Conference at the FBI Academy, Quantico, VA
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US J 1.14/2:V 81/2

Federal Bureau of Investigation FBI
http://www.fbi.gov/

Federal Bureau of Prisons
http://www.bop.gov/

National Institute of Mental Health
http://www.nimh.nih.gov/

OVC handbook for coping after terrorism: a guide to healing and recovery
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US J 34.8:C 79

Related branches of (HHS) from USA.gov
http://www.usa.gov/Agencies/Federal/Executive/HHS.shtml

United States Department of Health & Human Services
http://www.dhhs.gov/

Psychology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Psychological Association
http://www.apa.org/

American Psychological Society
http://www.psychologicalscience.org/

Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies
http://www.aabt.org/

Experimental Psychology Society
http://www.eps.ac.uk/

Society for Consumer Psychology
http://fisher.osu.edu/marketing/scp/

Society for Industrial & Organizational Psychology
http://www.siop.org/

Society for Personality and Social Psychology
http://www.spsp.org/

Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues
http://www.spssi.org/

Psychology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

APA Style Resources
http://www.psywww.com/resource/apacrib.htm

Classics in the History of Psychology
http://psychclassics.yorku.ca/

Current Research in Social Psychology E-journal
http://www.uiowa.edu/~grpproc/crisp/crisp.html

Electronic Journals and Periodicals
http://psych.hanover.edu/Krantz/journal.html

Encyclopedia of Psychology
http://www.psychology.org/

Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html

Missouri State University Department of Psychology
http://psychology.missouristate.edu/

Missouri State University Psychology Club
http://studentorganizations.missouristate.edu/psychclub_psichi/

PsycPort
http://www.psycport.com/
APA’s tracker for psychology-related news. Updated daily.

PsychWeb
http://www.psywww.com/
Regularly updated list of psychology web resources for students.

Scholarly Psychology Resources on the Web
http://www.psywww.com/resource/bytopic.htm

compiled by Douglas Stehle and updated by Andrea Miller | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007