Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Political Science Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Political Science | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
America: History and Life 
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

World News Connection (1 user at a time only. If prompted for login, try again later)
World News Connection (WNC) is an online foreign news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Most of the articles included in WNC are in full-text format, and coverage ranges from 1996 to present. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, this information is available within 24-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. The material in WNC is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum between 1975 and 2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO from 1984 to 2000. As of August 2005 approximately 1,510 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States. Furthermore, the references cited in the bibliography of the source article have been included for citations to core journals in political science, added to the database since 2001, and for all journals added since 2004. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Major areas of coverage include: comparative politics, developing nations, disarmament, economic policy, electoral systems, environmental policy, government/political systems, history and theory of political science, international relations/trade, labor relations, military policy, methodology and research technology, political behavior, political economy, political psychology, politics and law, politics and communication, politics and religion, politics and society, public administration, security and defense, and welfare systems.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
CQ Researcher (controversial issues) 
Published by Congressional Quarterly, CQ Researcher provides analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. With online coverage from 1991 to present, it features lengthy (15-20 page) reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports.

LexisNexis Congressional
(NOTE: As of June 30, 2008, this index will no longer be available. Please go to THOMAS in the database listings or at http://www.thomas.gov/). Lexis-Nexis Congressional contains indexing, with some full text, for congressional materials from 1789 to present, specifically committee hearings and prints, as well as serial set reports and document. Other full-text materials include bills (1989-present), public laws (1988-present), Congressional Record (1985-present), and the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations (1981-present). Congressional actions, including bill tracking (1989-present), floor votes (1988-present), and legislative histories (1969-present) are also included. The database also contains political news from the past 20 years, as well as current hot topics in the political arena.

UNBISnet
UNBISnet is a catalogue of UN publications and documentation indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjold Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjold Library. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 to the present; however, indexing for resolutions of the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, Security Council and Trusteeship Council are included back to 1945. Also covered are: the voting records for all resolutions which were adopted - either without a vote or by roll-call or recorded vote - by the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-); and citations to speeches made in the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-), the Security Council beginning with its 38th year (1983-), the Economic and Social Council beginning in 1983 and the Trusteeship Council beginning with its 15th special session (1982).


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

CSA political science & government
MSU Meyer Ref JA71 .Z1 A214

International political science abstracts 
MSU Meyer Ref JA36 .I5

PAIS international in print 
MSU Meyer Ref JX71 .Z1 P83x


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Political Science as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Political Science | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Journal of Political Science

American Political Science Review

American Review of Public Administration

British Journal of Political Science

Comparative Political Studies

European Journal of Political Research

Foreign Policy

History of Political Thought

Journal of Political Economy

Journal of Political Science

Journal of Politics

Political Quarterly

Political Science Quarterly

Public Administration Review

Russian Politics and Law

World Politics

Political Science | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

African American perspectives on political science / edited by Wilbur C. Rich ; with a foreword by Charles V. Hamilton. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General JA76 .A355 2007

Allawi, Ali A. The occupation of Iraq : winning the war, losing the peace. New Haven [Conn.] ; London : Yale University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General DS79.76 .A393 2007

Burleigh, Michael. Sacred causes : the clash of religion and politics, from the Great War to the War on Terror. New York : HarperCollins, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BL695 .B87 2007

NATO : status, relations, and decision-making / edtied by M.I. Clausson. New York : Novinka Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General UA646.3 .N2225 2007

Paxton, Pamela Marie. Women, politics, and power : a global perspective. Los Angeles : Pine Forge Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1236 .P39 2007

Pledging allegiance : the politics of patriotism in America's schools / edited by Joel Westheimer; foreword by Howard Zinn. New York : Teachers College Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General LC1091 .P513 2007

Prunier, Gérard. Darfur : the ambiguous genocide. Ithaca, NY : Cornell University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DT159.6.D27 P78 2007

Ringen, Stein. What democracy is for : on freedom and moral government. Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JC423 .R516 2007

Secretary or general? : the UN Secretary-General in world politics / edited by Simon Chesterman. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ5008 .S43 2007

Political Science | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Almanac of women and minorities in American politics 2002
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1236.5.U6 M3779 2001

Assassinations and executions : an encyclopedia of political violence, 1900 through 2000
MSU Meyer Ref HV6278 .L45 2002

Blackwell dictionary of political science: a user’s guide to its terms
MSU Meyer Ref JA61 .B43 1999

Blackwell encyclopaedia of political thought
MSU Meyer Ref JA61 .B57 1987

Chronological history of U.S. foreign relations
MSU Meyer Ref E183.7.B745 2003 3 Volumes

Civil liberties in America
MSU Meyer Ref KF4749.W35 2004

CQ almanac plus
MSU Meyer Ref JK1 .C66

Cruel and unusual punishment
MSU Meyer Ref KF9227.C2 M42 2003

Elections A to Z
MSU Meyer Ref JK1976 .M57 2003

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy
MSU Meyer Ref E 183.7 .E52 2002

Encyclopedia of American political history
MSU Meyer Ref E183 .E5

Encyclopedia of modern American extremists and extremist groups
MSU Meyer Ref HN90.R3A75 2002

Encyclopedia of terrorism
MSU Meyer Ref HV 6431 .K883 2003

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution Vol. 1-6
MSU Meyer Ref KF 4548.E53 2000

Handbook of the international political science association
MSU Ref Meyer JA27 .I58 2000

Home rule in America : a fifty-state handbook
MSU Meyer Ref KF5305.Z95 K73 2001

International year book and statesmen’s who’s who
MSU Meyer Ref JA51 .I57

Major peace treaties of modern history
MSU Meyer Ref KZ184.2 .I8 2002

Official guide to ABA-approved law schools
MSU Meyer Ref KF273.A87 2005

Political babble: the 1,000 dumbest things ever said by politicians
MSU Meyer Ref PN6231 .P6 O55 1992

Political corruption in America : an encyclopedia of scandals, power, and greed
MSU Meyer Ref JK2249 .G767 2003

Political handbook of the world
MSU Meyer Ref JF37 .P6

Political market place, USA
MSU Meyer Ref JK271 .K87 1999

Spies: a narrative encyclopedia of dirty deeds and double dealing from biblical times to today
MSU Meyer Ref JF1525 .I6 N36 1997

Statesman’s year-book
MSU Meyer Ref JA51 .S7

United States gubernatorial elections, 1776-1860 : the official results by state and county
MSU Meyer Ref JK2447.D83 2003

Voter registration
MSU Meyer Ref JK2160 .V684 2002

Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations
MSU Meyer Ref G63 .W67 2001       

World encyclopedia of political systems and parties
MSU Meyer Ref JF2011 .W67 1999

Political Science | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


U.S. Congress

FBI : Federal Bureau of Investigation
http://www.fbi.gov/

FirstGov. The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
http://www.firstgov.gov/

GPO Access
http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/whatis.html

Thomas Legislative Information
http://thomas.loc.gov | About/What Is? Thomas

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov

American FactFinder (from the Census Bureau) A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
http://factfinder.census.gov/

United Nations
http://www.un.org/

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/

White House
http://www.whitehouse.gov/

Political Science | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Political Science Association
http://www.apsanet.org

Midwest Political Science Association
http://www.indiana.edu/~mpsa/index.html

National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration
http://naspaa.org/

Political Science | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Electronic Information System for International Law
http://www.eisil.org/index.php?sid242892285@t=index

FactCheck.Org, Annenberg Political Fact Check
http://www.factcheck.org

FindLaw
http://www.findlaw.com

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/

Oyez: United State Supreme Court Multimedia
http://www.oyez.org/oyez/frontpage
About OYEZ.

Missouri State University Department of Political Science
http://www.missouristate.edu/polsci/

compiled by Mike Wendt and updated by Willa Garrettt | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007