| Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries |
| Reference & Government Information Department |
Physics &
Astronomy Pathfinder
Library
research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information
Department
| Physics & Astronomy | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Find Articles and Basic
Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.
To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access
Online Indexes to Articles
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.Analytical WebBase
This online version of Analytical Abstracts is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. It provides indexing and abstracting (with some full-text linking) to around 100 international journals from 1980 to date, updated weekly with around 300 new records to provide comprehensive coverage of new analytical techniques and applications from across the published literature. Key areas of analytical science covered include: Chromatography, electrophoresis, spectrometry and radiochemical methods; inorganic, organic and organometallic analysis, including applied and industrial products; clinical and biochemical analysis, including proteomics and genomics; pharmaceutical analysis, including drugs in biological fluids; and, environmental, agricultural and food analysis.Energy Citations Database (ECD)
Includes bibliographic records of report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents in disciplines of interest to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science and more.GeoRef (Bibliography and Index of Geology)
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Subjects covered include, but are not limited to, crystallography, hydrogeology, economic geology, hydrology, environmental geology, marine geology, engineering geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, oceanography, geophysics, and paleontology. Coverage is from 1785 to present for North America, and 1933 to present for international.IHS Specs & Standards
The IHS Specs & Standards service provides immediate access to more than one million technical standards, codes, specifications, government/military standards and specifications, and related documents. IHS offers documents from more than 370 technical societies around the world such as ANSI, ASME, ASTM, BOCA, IEEE, ISO, SAE, etc. The service also references over 350,000 active and historical military/government specification documents, including Military Specs and Standards, Federal Specs and Standards, Performance and Detail Specs, Commercial Item Descriptions, Qualified Product Lists, Military Handbooks, MS Drawings and many other related document types. MSU patrons can search the index, identify documents needed, and then come to the Meyer Library Reference desk for assistance with checking on the full-text availability of the standard and downloading it. Only MSU patrons (current students, staff, and faculty) may access and download full-text copies of the standards with the assistance of a librarian at the Meyer Library Reference desk.Information Bridge
Provides an open source to full-text and bibliographic records (1948- present) of the Department of Energy's (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, and more. Consists of full-text documents produced and made available by the Department of Energy National Laboratories and grantees from 1995 forward. Journal Sources.Ingenta
A database for the search and delivery of articles in all fields, including agriculture. Free access for searching. Article delivery is fee-based. http://www.ingenta.com/ScienceDirect eJournal Collection While not solely focused on Physics and Astronomy, ScienceDirect does cover many journals in this field.
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".Scitation
Scitation is a database/platform for researching physics as well as chemistry, materials science, and engineering. It contains the SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) which includes citations and abstracts to articles from 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and its member societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling over 1.5 million article citations. Scitation allows you to search for articles only in SPIN, or only in Scitation, or in both. MSU students, faculty, and staff have full text access to the AIP material to which we subscribe.SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) contains citations and abstracts to articles from 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and its member societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling over 1.5 million article citations. While its focus is on physics and related disciplines, the database contains significant amounts of literature in chemistry, materials science, and engineering. SPIN is hosted on a platform called Scitation, which allows you to search for articles only in SPIN, or only in Scitation, or in both. MSU students, faculty, and staff have full text access to the AIP material to which we subscribe.
Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.Physics abstracts 1972-2003
MSU Meyer Ref QC1 .P46Current papers in physics 1971-2001
MSU Meyer Ref QC5.5 .C87xAstronomy and astrophysics abstracts 1969-2001
MSU Meyer Ref QB1.Z1 A88Science citation index 1981-2003
MSU Meyer Ref Z7401 .S365
General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Physics & Astronomy as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse
| Physics & Astronomy | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Selected Journals in
the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet
which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic,
print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online,
or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This
is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University
Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular
title, then use TDNet
as your starting point.
European Journal of Physics : a Journal of the European Physical Society
Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and General
Journal of Physics B: Atomic and Molecular Physics
Journal of Physics. Condensed Matter
Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics
Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics
Mercury / Astronomical Society of the Pacific
Physical Review. C, Nuclear Physics
Physical Review. D, Particles and Fields
| Physics & Astronomy | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Recent Books in the
Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State
Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The
citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to
arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number
to browse the shelf for similar materials.
Eales, Stephen. Origins:
how the planets, stars, galaxies, and the universe began. London: Springer, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QB981 .E135
Evans, James and Alan Thorndike, eds. Quantum
mechanics at the crossroads: new perspectives from history, philosophy and
physics. Berlin: Springer, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QC174.12
.Q346 2007
Forget,
François. Planet
Mars : story of another world. New York ; London : Springer, 2007.
1 copy ordered for MSU Meyer General on 05-31-2007.
Gainer, Michael Kizinski. Real
astronomy with small telescopes: step-by-step activities for discovery. London: Springer, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QB64 .G35 2007
Gardner, Martin. The
colossal book of short puzzles and problems: combinatorics, probability,
algebra, geometry, topology, chess, logic, cryptarithms, wordplay, physics
and other topics of recreational mathematics. New York: Norton, c2006.
MSU Meyer General Q164 .G248 2006
Gindikin, Simon G. Tales
of mathematicians and physicists. New York: Springer,
c2007.
MSU Meyer General QA28 .G5613
Grimvall, Göran. Brainteaser
physics: challenging physics puzzlers. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University
Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QC75 .G75
Isaacson, Walter. Einstein:
his life and universe. New York: Simon & Schuster,
c2007.
MSU Meyer General QC16.E5 I76
Levin, F. S. Calibrating
the cosmos: how cosmology explains our big bang universe.
New York: Springer, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QB982 .L48 2007
Newton, Roger G. From
clockwork to crapshoot: a history of physics. Cambridge,
Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QC7 .N398 2007
Patterson, James D. Solid-state
physics: introduction to the theory. Berlin:
Springer, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QC176 .P28 2007
Polkinghorne, John C. Quantum
physics and theology: an unexpected kinship.
New Haven: Yale University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BL265.P4
P58 2007
Poole, Charles P. The
physics handbook: fundamentals and key equations. Weinheim:
Wiley-VCH, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QC61 .P65
Robinson, Keith. Spectroscopy:
the key to the stars, reading the lines in stellar spectra. London: Springer, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QB871
.R63 2007
Semiconducting
polymers: chemistry, physics and engineering. Weinheim: Wiley-VCH,
c2007.
MSU Meyer General QD382.S4 S47 2007 v.1 & 2
Steinicke, Wolfgang. Galaxies
and how to observe them. London: Springer, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QB857 .S74 2007
Tipler, Frank J. The
physics of Christianity. New York: Doubleday, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BL265.P4 T57
Wheeler, J. Craig. Cosmic
catastrophes: exploding stars, black holes, and mapping the universe. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QB843 .S95 W48 2007
Zombeck, Martin V. Handbook
of space astronomy and astrophysics. Cambridge
; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QB136 .Z65
| Physics & Astronomy | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reference Books at
Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries
catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call
number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials
are non-circulating items.
Aldrich library of FT-IR
spectra
MSU Meyer Ref QD96 .I5 P66
American
men and women of science. The physical and biological sciences
MSU Meyer Ref Q141 .A472x
Building blocks
of matter : a supplement to the Macmillan encyclopedia of physics
MSU Meyer Ref QC793.2 .B85 2003
Cambridge dictionary
of scientists
MSU Meyer Ref Q141 .C128 2002
Cambridge encyclopedia
of the sun
MSU Meyer Ref QB521 .L24 2001
Chronological encyclopedia
of discoveries in space
MSU Meyer Ref QB500.262 .Z56 2000
CRC handbook of chemistry
and physics
MSU Meyer Ref QD65 .H3 LATEST
ED. IN REF.;NEXT ED. ONLY IN GENERAL COLLECTION.
Dictionary of pure
and applied physics
MSU Meyer Ref QC5 .D485 2001
Dictionary of scientific
biography
MSU Meyer Ref Q141 .D5
Dictionary of weights, measures, and units (MSU
Only Available Electronically)
MSU Electronic Resource QC82
.F428 2002
Encyclopedia of astronomy
and astrophysics
MSU Meyer Ref QB14 .E534 2001
Encyclopedia
of physics
MSU Meyer Ref QC5 .R596 2004
Encyclopedia of the
atomic age
MSU Meyer Ref QC773 .E49 2001
Encyclopedia of the
solar system
MSU Meyer Ref QB501 .E53 1999
Facts
on file dictionary of astronomy
MSU Meyer Ref QB14 .F3 1994
Facts on file physics
handbook
MSU Meyer Ref QC61 .F33 2000
Guide to information
sources in the physical sciences
MSU Meyer Ref QC5.35.Z1 S74 2000
History of astronomy:
an encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref QB15 .H624 1997
Macmillan
encyclopedia of physics Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref QC5 .M15 1996
Moons of the solar
system: an illustrated encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref QB401 .S74 1991
Nobel scientists
: a biographical encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref Q141 .K78 2002
Norton's star atlas
and reference handbook (epoch 2000.0)
MSU Meyer Ref QB64 .R43 2004
Notable mathematicians
MSU Meyer Ref QA28.N66 1998
Observer's sky
atlas : with 50 star charts covering the entire sky
MSU Meyer Ref QB65 .K3713 1999
SkyAtlas 2000.0: twenty-six
star charts, covering both hemispheres, and seven detailed charts of selected
regions
MSU Meyer Maps QB65 .T54 1998
| Physics & Astronomy | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Government Sources
& Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in
the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.
DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international
government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri
State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm
USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov
GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.
Department of Energy (DOE)
http://www.energy.gov/
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) http://www.osti.gov/
Science and Technology http://www.science.gov/
NASA (National Aeronautics & Space Administration)
http://www.nasa.gov/
http://www.usgs.gov/
Active galaxies educational unit : an educator's guide with activities
in science and mathematics / National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US NAS
1.18:G 13/2 Freely
available online.
Air almanac
MSU Meyer Gov Docs D 213.7:
Astronomical almanac
for the year ...
MSU Meyer Gov Docs D 213.8:
Charles "Pete" Conrad
Astronomy Awards Act : report (to accompany H.R. 1023) (including cost estimate
of the Congressional Budget Office).
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y
1.1/8:109-37 Freely available
online.
Constellation X-Ray Observatory : unlocking the mysteries of black
holes, dark matter, dark energy, and life cycles of matter in the universe.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US NAS
1.83:2004-4-629-GSFC Freely
available online.
Hubble Space Telescope : servicing mission 3B : media reference guide
MSU Meyer Gov Docs NAS 1.18:HU 86
Mission
to the solar system : exploration and discovery
MSU Meyer Gov Docs NAS 1.12/7:97-12 | Also
Online
Nautical almanac for the
year ...
MSU Meyer Gov Docs D 213.11:
Roadmap: fundamental
physics in space
MSU Meyer Gov Docs NAS 1.12/7:400-808
Sun-Earth Connection
: report to the Associate Administrator, Office of Space Science
MSU Meyer Gov Docs NAS 1.2:SU 7/9
A 21st century frontier of discover [electronic resource] : the physics
of the universe : a strategic plan for federal research at the intersection
of physics and astronomy : a report of the Interagency Working Group on the
Physics of the Universe.
Freely available online.
| Physics & Astronomy | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.
General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/
American Association of Physics Teachers
http://www.aapt.org/
American Astronomical Society
http://www.aas.org/
American Institute of Physics
http://www.aip.org/
American Meteor Society
http://www.amsmeteors.org/
http://www.iop.org/
National Science Foundation, Math, Physical
Sciences
http://www.nsf.gov/home/mps/
SEDS (Students for the Exploration and Development
of Space)
http://www.seds.org/
| Physics & Astronomy | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information
on the Internet.
Astronomical Applications Data Service Web
Page
http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/
Complete Planet: The Deep Web Directory--Astronomy
section
Complete Planet is a deep web directory or a comprehensive listing of dynamic
searchable databases on the Internet. These dynamic databases cannot be crawled
or indexed by standard web search engines so their information is "deep"
and hidden.
http://www.completeplanet.com/
(select Science>then select Astronomy)
Complete Planet: The Deep Web Directory--Physics
section
Complete Planet is a deep web directory or a comprehensive listing of dynamic
searchable databases on the Internet. These dynamic databases cannot be crawled
or indexed by standard web search engines so their information is "deep"
and hidden.
http://www.completeplanet.com
(select Science>then select Physics)
Digital Librarian – Astronomy and Aerospace
http://www.digital-librarian.com/astronomy.html
Google/Science/Astronomy - http://directory.google.com/Top/Science/Astronomy/
Google/Science/Physics - http://directory.google.com/Top/Science/Physics/
NASA Websites
Astronauts - http://www.hq.nasa.gov/office/pao/History/nauts.html
Jet Propulsion Laboratory - http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/index.html
Welcome to the Planets - http://pds.jpl.nasa.gov/planets/welcome.htm
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
(NOAA)
http://www.sec.noaa.gov/
National Science Foundation
Division of Astronomical Sciences - http://www.nsf.gov/mps/divisions/ast/start.htm;
Division of Physics - http://www.nsf.gov/mps/divisions/phy/start.htm
http://physics.missouristate.edu/
USGS (U.S. Geological Survey)
Astrogeology Research Program - http://astrogeology.usgs.gov/SolarSystem/
Gazetteer of Planetary Nomenclature - http://planetarynames.wr.usgs.gov/
Views of the Solar System
http://www.solarviews.com/eng/homepage.htm
Yahoo/Science/Astronomy
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Astronomy/
Yahoo/Science/Physics
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Physics/
compiled by Charlotte
Dugan | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August
2006