Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Philosophy Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Department

Philosophy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

ATLA Religion (Religion Index)
The ATLA Religion Database is a major research tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, indexing and abstracting over 1,500 sources annually. The more than 1,300,000 records in ATLA Religion Database include citations to journal articles, essays from multi-author works, and book reviews. ATLA's indexing of multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings, is unique among religion databases. ATLA Religion, published by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), is the online version of the publisher's three print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Coverage is from 1949 to the present.

Dissertations Abstracts Online (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Academic topics found in dissertations. Sources include U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses. Number of records: 2,000,000+. Dates covered: 1861 to present. Abstracts since 1980. Thesis abstracts since 1988.

International Medieval Bibliography (1 user limit)
International Medieval Bibliography contains some 300,000 citation records, deriving from articles published in periodicals and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. All subjects are related to the Middle Ages, defined as the period from 400-1500 AD., and cover the geographical areas of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Each record contains searchable bibliographical and classification fields relating to the content of the publication itself: general subject, geographical area, chronological range, as well as detailed indexing concerning places, persons, texts, manuscripts and specific subjects treated in the article.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Encyclopedia of Religion
The Encyclopedia of Religion's second edition (2005) updates most of the original 2,750 entries from the 1987 edition and includes around 600 entirely new articles. "Preserving the best of the first edition's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century" (publisher). Note that searching may be done via the book index, table of contents, quick keyword, or advanced searching (keyword, title, full text, author, etc.).


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Philosopher’s index
MSU Meyer Ref B1.A4 Z55x
Citations with abstracts to journals and books published in the U.S. and the Western World on philosophy and related subjects such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and philosophical anthropology. “Philosopher’s Index is a subject and author index with abstracts. Philosophy books and journals in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian are indexed, along with selected books and journals in other languages and related interdisciplinary publications. It is published quarterly  and cumulated yearly with a complete subject index to author entries with abstracts. In addition, citations to book reviews are also provided.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Philosophy as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse

Philosophy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Philosophical Quarterly

British Journal of Aesthetics

Continental Philosophy Review

Ethics

History of Philosophy Quarterly : HPQ

Inquiry: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Philosophy

International Philosophical Quarterly

Journal of Philosophy

Journal of the History of Ideas

Journal of the History of Philosophy

Kant Studien; Philosophische Zeitschrift

Mind

Pacific Philosophical Quarterly

Philosophical Forum

Philosophical Review

Philosophical Quarterly

Philosophy

Philosophy and Phenomenological Research

Philosophy East & West

Philosophy of Science

Review of Metaphysics

Philosophy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Adamson, Peter. Al-Kind¯i.  Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General B753.K54 A53 2007

Audi, Robert. Moral value and human diversity. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ37 .A93 2007

Birdwhistell, Joanne D. Mencius and masculinities : dynamics of power, morality, and maternal thinking. Albany : State University of New York Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General B128.M324 B57 2007

Cahn, Steven M. Puzzles & perplexities : collected essays. Lanham, MD : Lexington Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General B29 .C225 2007

Crary, Alice. Beyond moral judgment. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ1408.5 .C73 2007

Enns, Diane. Speaking of freedom : philosophy, politics, and the struggle for liberation. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General B824.4 .E56 2007

Gombay, André. Descartes. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General B1875 .G559 2007

Happiness : classic and contemporary readings in philosophy / edited by Steven M. Cahn and Christine Vitrano. New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
MSU Meyer General BJ1481 .H37 2008

Harman, Graham. Heidegger explained : from phenomenon to thing. Chicago : Open Court, c2007.
MSU Meyer General B3279.H49 H274 2007

Hibbs, Thomas S. Aquinas, ethics, and philosophy of religion : metaphysics and practice. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General B765.T54 H45 2007

Kekes, John. The roots of evil.  Ithaca, N.Y. : Cornell University Press ; Bristol : University Presses Marketing [distributor], 2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ1401 .K435 2007

Kraut, Richard. What is good and why : the ethics of well-being. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ1401 .K73 2007

Kupperman, Joel. Ethics and qualities of life. New York : Oxford University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ37 .K87 2007

MacIntyre, Alasdair C. After virtue : a study in moral theory. Notre Dame, Ind. : University of Notre Dame Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ1012 .M325 2007

Maddy, Penelope. Second philosophy : a naturalistic method. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Manoussakis, John Panteleimon. God after metaphysics : a theological aesthetic. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BT102 .M36 2007

Navia, Luis E. Socrates : a life examined. Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 2007.
MSU Meyer General B317 .N37 2007

Needleman, Jacob. Why can't we be good?. New York : Jeremy P. Tarcher/Penguin, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ1401 .N44 2007

Popp, Jerome A. Evolution's first philosopher : John Dewey and the continuity of nature. Albany : State University of New York Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General B945.D44 P67 2007

Rawls, John. Lectures on the history of political philosophy. Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General JA71 .R297 2007

Roberts, John Russell. A metaphysics for the mob : the philosophy of George Berkeley. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General B1349.M47 R87 2007

Sabuco, Miguel. New philosophy of human nature : neither known to nor attained by the great ancient philosophers, which will improve human life and health / translated and edited by Mary Ellen Waithe, Maria Colomer Vintró, and C. Angel Zorita. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General B785.S133 N8313 2007

Setiya, Kieran. Reasons without rationalism. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BJ1521 .S48 2007

Schopenhauer, Arthur. The world as will and presentation / translated by Richard E. Aquila ; in collaboration with David Carus.  New York : Pearson Longman, c2008.
MSU Meyer General B3138.E5 A65 2008

Thompson, Evan. Mind in life : biology, phenomenology, and the sciences of mind. Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General B808.9 .T45 2007

Traversing the imaginary : Richard Kearney and the postmodern challenge / edited by Peter Gratton and John Panteleimon Manoussakis ; foreword by Richard Kearney.  Evanston, Ill. : Northwestern University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General B945.K384 T73 2007


Library of Congress Subject Heading searches in the Missouri State University SWAN Library Catalog

Aesthetics
Ethics
History of Philosophy see Philosophy History
Logic
Metaphysics
Political Science Philosophy
Religion--Philsophy
Science Philosophy

Philosophy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

American philosophers, 1950-2000
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x vol. 279

American philosophers before 1950
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x vol.270

British philosophers, 1500-1799
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x vol. 252

British philosophers, 1800-2000
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x vol. 262

Cambridge dictionary of philosophy
MSU Meyer Ref B41 .C35 1999

Columbia history of western philosophy
MSU Meyer Ref B72 .C593 1999

Dictionary of atheism, skepticism & humanism
MSU Meyer Ref BL2705 .C66 2006

Dictionary of philosophy and religion : Eastern and Western thought
MSU Meyer Ref B41 .R43 1996

Encyclopedia of ethics 2nd Edition
MSU Meyer Ref BJ63 .E45 2001

Encyclopedia of philosophy Vol. 1-10
MSU Meyer Ref B51 .E53 2006

Encyclopedia of postmodernism
MSU Meyer Ref B831.2 .E63 2001

Encyclopedia of the enlightenment Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref B802 .E53 2003
See also Delon’s Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment MSU Meyer Ref D286 .D5413 2001 Vol. 1- 2 providing a broader historical and cultural coverage of the enlightenment as an European intellectual movement.

Masterpieces of world philosophy in summary form
MSU Meyer Ref B21 .M3 1961

Medieval philosophers
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x vol.115

Oxford companion to philosophy
MSU Meyer Ref B51 .O94 1995

Oxford companion to the mind
MSU Electronic Resource BF31 .O94 2005 MSU Only Available Electronically

Philosophy: a guide to the reference literature 2nd Edition
MSU Meyer Ref B72.Z1 B97 1997

Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy Vol. 1-10
MSU Meyer Ref B51 .R68 1998

Women philosophers : a bio-critical source book
MSU Meyer Ref B105.W6 K47 1989

Philosophy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Philosophical Association
http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/

American Society for Aesthetics
http://www.aesthetics-online.org/

Aristotelian Society
http://www.sas.ac.uk/aristotelian_society/index.html

Philosophy | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias:
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
http://www.philosophypages.com/dy/index.htm

Free On-Line Dictionary Of Philosophy - FOLDOP
http://www.swif.it/foldop/

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://www.utm.edu/research/iep/

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html

Web Directories, Portals, and Gateways:
American Philosophical Association’s Web Resources
http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/resources/

BUBL Link: Philosophy Links
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/p/philosophylinks.htm

EpistemeLinks.com
http://www.epistemelinks.com/

General Philosophy Resources
http://pegasus.cc.ucf.edu/~janzb/philosophy.htm

Internet Philosopher. “A free "teach yourself" tutorial on Internet information skills for philosophy.”
http://www.humbul.ac.uk/vts/philosophy/

Intute: Arts & Humanities-Philosophy
http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/philosophy/

Missouri State University Department of Philosophy
http://www.missouristate.edu/phi/

Philosophers’ Magazine on the Internet: TPM Online
http://www.philosophersnet.com/

Philosophical Gourmet Report (Rankings of Philosophy Programs)
http://www.philosophicalgourmet.com/

Philosophy Pages
http://www.philosophypages.com/index.htm

Philosophy Web Directories from Yahoo
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Philosophy/Web_Directories/

Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) – Philosophy
http://www.sosig.ac.uk/philosophy/

Yahoo Directory: Philosophy
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/philosophy/

compiled by Douglas Stehle and updated by Andrea Miller | Meyer Library
MSU Libraries | Missouri State University | Updated: August 2007