Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Physical Education Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Physical Education | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.

Education Full Text
Education Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage of articles from over 350 journals ranges as far back as 1996. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Subject areas indexed include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education. The paper version of this index covers the field back to 1929, much further than any of the current on-line educational indexes.

ERIC
ERIC is the research database and information system for the field of education. It is produced by the Educational Resources Information Center. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the National Library of Education (NLE). The database contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC Documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MasterFILE Premier
"Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags."

MELINE
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus, provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Indexed are articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals and magazines, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, video and audio tapes, and book reviews. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, including bibliographic coverage for over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Physical education index
MSU Meyer Ref GV201 .P534 2000


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Physical Education as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Physical Education | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly

Journal of Athletic Training

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance

Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research

Journal of Teaching in Physical Education

Physical Educator

Physical & Health Education Journal

Quest

Strength and Conditioning Journal

Teaching Elementary Physical Education : TEPE

Women in Sport & Physical Activity Journal

Physical Education | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

ACSM's health-related physical fitness assessment manual. / edited by Gregory B. Dwyer and Shala E. Davis. Philadelphia : Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV436 .A35 2005

Adapted physical education and sport / edited by Joseph P. Winnick. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV445 .A3 2005

Athletic training and sports medicine. / edited by Chad Starkey, Glen Johnson. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .A84 2006

Hillman, Susan Kay. Introduction to athletic training. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .H49 2005

Marcus, Bess. Motivating people to be physically active. Champaign, Ill. : Human Kinetics, c2003.
MSU Meyer General RM725 .M373 2003

Physical activity instruction of older adults / edited by C. Jessie Jones, Debra J. Rose. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV447 .P575 2005

Physical Best (Program). Physical Best activity guide : elementary level / National Association for Sport and Physical Education. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV365 .P5 2005

Physical Best (Program). Physical Best activity guide : middle and high school levels / National Association for Sport and Physical Education. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV365 .P49916 2005

Prentice, William E. Arnheim's principles of athletic training : a competency-based approach. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .A75 2006

Ray, Richard. Management strategies in athletic training. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .R38 2005

Rink, Judith. Teaching physical education for learning. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GV363 .R55 2006

Sandler, David. Sports power. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV711.5 .S26 2005

Stillwell, Jim L. The physical education curriculum. Long Grove, Ill. : Waveland Press, c2006.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Physical Education | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

ACSM's health/fitness facility standards and guidelines
MSU Meyer Ref  GV429 .A45 1997

Baseball: an encyclopedia of popular culture
MSU Meyer Ref GV867.64.R52 2000

Book of rules: a visual guide to the laws of every commonly played sport and game
MSU Meyer Ref  GV731 .B56 1998

Dictionary of the sport and exercise sciences
MSU Meyer Ref  GV558 .D53 1991

Encyclopedia of North American sports history
MSU Meyer Ref GV567.H518 2002

Encyclopedia of sports science
MSU Meyer Ref  GV558 .E53 1991

Encyclopedia of the modern olympic movement
MSU Meyer Ref GV721.5 .H546 2004

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century athletes
MSU Meyer Ref GV697.A1 M355 2001

Encyclopedia of women and sport in America
MSU Meyer Ref  GV709 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of world sport: from ancient times to the present
MSU Meyer Ref  GV567 .E56 1996

Notable sports figures
MSU Meyer Ref GV697.A1 N68 2004

Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC 1206 .O94 1994

Quick reference dictionary for athletic training
MSU Meyer Ref RC1206 .B475 2002

Sports and games of the ancients
MSU Meyer Ref GV 17.
C73 2002

Sports and games of medieval cultures
MSU Meyer Ref GV 1200.
W55 2002

Sports rules book
MSU Meyer Ref GV731.H85 2004

Physical Education | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Exercise: feeling fit for life
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US HE 20.3861:EX 3/2

Exercise: a guide from the National Institute on Aging: self-tests, benefits, nutrition
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US  HE 20.3858:EX 3

KidsWalk-to-School: a guide to promote walking to school
Link to web version  Adobe Acrobat Reader required to view full document
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US  HE 20.7608:P 94

Physical activity and health : a report of the surgeon general. [Atlanta, Ga.?] : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion : President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports ; Pittsburgh, PA : For sale by the Supt. of Docs.. 1996.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US HE 20.7602:P 56

President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports report: physical activity & sport in the lives of girls: physical & mental health dimensions from an interdisciplinary approach
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US  HE 20.102:SP 6/2

Physical Education | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


AAHPERD - American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
http://www.aahperd.org/

American Council on Exercise
http://www.acefitness.org/

American Psychological Association Sports & Exercise Psychology division
http://www.apa.org/divisions/div47/

Association for the Advancement of Applied Sport Psychology
http://www.aaasponline.org/index.php

Missouri Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance
http://hes.truman.edu/moahperd/

Missouri Athletic Trainers Association (MoATA)
http://www.moata.net/

National Association for Physical Education in Higher Education
http://www.napehe.org/

National Athletic Trainers’ Association
http://www.nata.org/

Physical Education | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Links to Clinical Sports Medicine sites
http://www.clinicalsportsmedicine.com/links.htm

PE Central
http://www.pecentral.org/

PE Links 4 U
http://www.pelinks4u.org/

PE4Life
http://www.pe4life.com/

Missouri State University Department of Health, Physical Education & Recreation
http://www.missouristate.edu/HPER/

Sports-media.org: Phys Ed Lesson Plans
http://www.sports-media.org/

Sports Medicine.com
http://www.sportsmedicine.com/

compiled by Mike Wendt and updated by Byron Stewart | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: January 2006