Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Mathematics Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Mathematics | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

MathSciNet
MathSciNet, an online publication of the American Mathematical Society, is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet offers free access to Featured Reviews, those reviews that are considered particularly important in the areas they cover. Approximately 1800 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part and are listed in the Abbreviations of Names of Serials.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Mathematics as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Mathematics | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Journal of Mathematics

Annals of Mathematics

Annals of the Institute of Statistical Mathematics 

Communications in Algebra

Journal of Functional Analysis

Journal of Number Theory

Journal of the American Mathematical Society

Mathematics Magazine

Mathematics Teacher

Pacific Journal of Mathematics

Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society

Quarterly Journal of Mathematics

Quarterly of Applied Mathematics

Mathematics | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Allsopp, David, Ph. D. Teaching mathematics meaningfully : solutions for reaching struggling learners. Baltimore, Md. : Paul H. Brookes Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General QA13 .A44 2007

Bewersdorff, Jörg. Galois theory for beginners : a historical perspective. Providence, R.I. : American Mathematical Society, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QA214 .B49 2006

Bix, Robert. Conics and cubics : a concrete introduction to algebraic curves. New York : Springer, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QA567 .B59 2006

Burnley, Beverly. Hands-on computer activities for teaching math : grades 3-8. San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, c2005.
MSU Meyer General QA135.6 .B7684 2005

Burton, David M. Elementary number theory. Boston : McGraw-Hill Higher Education, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QA241 .B83 2007

English language learners in the mathematics classroom / edited by Debra Coggins ... [et al.] ; foreword by Miriam Leiva. Thousand Oaks, CA : Corwin Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QA13 .E48 2007

Hahn, Brian D. Essential MATLAB for engineers and scientists. Oxford ; Burlington, MA : Butterworth-Heinemann, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QA297 .H24 2007

Harkleroad, Leon. The math behind the music. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General QA19.M87 H37 2006

Kaplan, Robert. Out of the labyrinth : setting mathematics free. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QA13 .K37 2007

Knapp, Anthony W. Basic algebra. Basel ; Boston : Birkhäuser, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QA154.2 .K55 2006

Literacy strategies for improving mathematics instruction / edited Joan M. Kenney ... [et al.]. Alexandria, Va. : Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, c2005.
MSU Meyer General QA11.2 .L58 2005

Mashaal, Maurice. Bourbaki : a secret society of mathematics. Providence, RI : American Mathematical Society, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QA29.B692 M3713 2006

O'Donnell, John. Discrete mathematics using a computer. London : Springer, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QA76.95 .H35 2006

Shasha, Dennis Elliott. Puzzles for programmers and pros. Indianapolis, IN : Wiley Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General QA95 .S4699 2007

Teaching mathematics to middle school students with learning difficulties / edited by Marjorie Montague and Asha K. Jitendra. New York : Guilford Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QA135.6 .T428 2006

Mathematics | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics
MSU Meyer Ref QA5 .W45 2003

Dictionary of weights, measures, and units
MSU Electronic Resource QC82 .D53 2004
MSU Only Available Electronically

Handbook of typography for the mathematical sciences
MSU Meyer Ref Z253.4.T47 K65 2001

Math
MSU Meyer Ref Desk QA43 .M2982 2004

Mathematica book
MSU Meyer Ref QA76.95 .W65 1999

Mathematics: from the birth of numbers
MSU Meyer Ref QA36 .G86 1997

Notable mathematicians
MSU Meyer Ref QA28.N66 1998

Real-life math Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref QA5 .R36 2006

Mathematics | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Helping your child learn mathematics [electronic resource] : with activities for children in preschool through grade 5.
Freely available online.

U.S Dept of Education
http://www.ed.gov/index.jsp

Nation’s Report Card: Mathematics
http://nces.ed.gov/nationsreportcard/mathematics/

Mathematics | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Mathematical Society (AMS)
http://www.ams.org

Association for Women in Mathematics
http://www.awm-math.org/

Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators
http://www.amte.net/index.shtml

Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
http://www.maa.org

National Center for Improving Student Learning and Achievement in Mathematics and Science (NCISLA)
http://www.wcer.wisc.edu/ncisla/

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
http://www.nctm.org/

School Science and Mathematics Association (SSMA)
http://www.ssma.org/

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
http://www.siam.org

Mathematics | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Catalog of Mathematics Resources on the WWW and the Internet
http://mthwww.uwc.edu/wwwmahes/files/math01.htm

Gateway to Educational Materials - Mathematics
http://www.thegateway.org/browse/makesearch?past=subject|http://purl.oclc.org/gem/instance/subject/GEM-S/mathematics|||mathematics|*

Frank Potter's Science Gems – Mathematics
http://www.sciencegems.com/math.html

Missouri State University Department of Mathematics
http://math.missouristate.edu/

compiled by Douglas Stehle and updated by Byron Stewart | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007