Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Management Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Management | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
CCH Research Network for Health and Human Resources
This is Commerce Clearing House's full-text search service containing federal and state laws and regulations, case law, forms, manuals, and news reports arranged in seven topical libraries of information: Human Resources Management; Payroll; Pension/Benefits; Employment Law; Safety, OSHA & Worker's Compensation; Health Law; Food and Drug. Coverage is current and updates vary according to the publication.

CCH Tax Research Network
Included in this online tax research service from Commerce Clearing House are Federal, State, and Financial & Estate files. The Federal service includes the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, Federal Estate/Gift Tax Reporter, Federal Excise Tax Reporter, current Internal Revenue Code, cases and rulings, as well as other IRS publications. The State file contains all State Tax Reporters as well as State Tax Laws. Coverage is current and updates vary according to the publication.

Standard and Poors NetAdvantage
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is the premier reference tool for company financial and business industry information. Provides detailed business information and corporation records on over 12,000 publicly held U.S. and international corporations. Includes individual company stock reports, bond guides, dividend records, earnings guides, mutual fund reports, and S&P's Industry Surveys reports. NetAdvantage also contains a directory of corporation contact information, including directors and executives, and also includes a security dealers directory. NetAdvantage is a powerful research tool giving access to the core Standard & Poor's reference publications in one single interface.

STAT-USA (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov/), a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government such as United States economic indicators and statistical releases on U.S. economy; the National Trade Data Bank; foreign investment and marketing research reports and sources & economic reports on countries and regions of the world. Focused data on the United States domestic economy is provided in the State of the Nation portion of STAT-USA, while the Globus & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) section provides international trade and foreign country market information. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library in GLOBUS/NTDB is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Human resources abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref HD4801.Z1 H86

Personnel management abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref HF 5549 .P452


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Management as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Management | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Academy of Management Journal

Academy of Management Review

Administrative Science Quarterly

Business and Society Review

California Management Review

Management Science

Negotiation Journal

Public Personnel Management

Management | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Bowie, Norman E. Management ethics. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
MSU Meyer General HF5387 .B684 2005

Bromiley, Philip. The behavioral foundations of strategic management. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD30.28 .B765 2005

Collins, Sandra Dean. Managing conflict and workplace relationships. Mason, Ohio : Thomson South-Western, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD42 .C63 2005

Doing business in 2005 : removing obstacles to growth. Washington, D.C. : World Bank, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD3611 .D58 2005

Ethical challenges to business as usual / edited by Shari Collins-Chobanian. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HF5387 .E774 2005

Financial management : principles and applications / edited by Arthur J. Keown ... [et al.]. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2005.
MSU Shannon General HG4026 .B318 2005

Glaser, John. Leading through collaboration : guiding groups to productive solutions. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD30.29 .G58 2005

Haughton, Laurence. It's not what you say-- it's what you do : how following through at every level can make or break your company.
New York : Doubleday/Currency, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD31 .H659 2005

Hilb, Martin. New corporate governance : successful board management tools. Berlin ; New York : Springer-Verlag, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD2741 .H538 2005

Lancaster, Geoffrey. Research methods in management : a concise introduction to research in management and business.
Oxford : Elsevier/Butterworth Heinemann, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HD30.4 .L35 2005

Light, Paul Charles. The four pillars of high performance : how robust organizations achieve extraordinary results. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HD58.8 .L54 2005

Operations, strategy, and technology : pursuing the competitive edge / Robert Hayes ... [et al.]. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD30.28 .O64 2005

Rayport, Jeffrey F. Best face forward : why companies must improve their service interfaces with customers. Boston, Mass. : Harvard Business School Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HF5415.5 .R393 2005

Storey, John. Managers of innovation : insights into making innovation happen. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD45 .S845 2005

Management | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of organizational behavior
MSU Meyer Ref HD58.7 .B57 1995

Business statistics of the United States
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Ref HC101 .A131222  2004

Chambers global, the world’s leading lawyers
MSU Meyer Ref K 68 .C5 2004-2005

Dictionary of international business
MSU Meyer Ref HD62.4 .S54x 1998

Dun& Bradstreet’s guide to doing business around the world
MSU Meyer Ref HF1416.M78 2001

Encyclopedia of management 4th ed
MSU Meyer Ref HD30.15.E49 2000

Harvard business school guide to careers in management consulting / Harvard business school; in association with the Harvard business school management consulting club
MSU Meyer Ref HD 69 .C6 M357

North American industry classification system
MSU Meyer Ref HF 1042 .N67 2002

Organization charts
MSU Meyer Ref HD38 .O738

Management | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


FirstGov
http://www.firstgov.gov/

Management | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Academy of Management
http://www.aom.pace.edu/

Institute of Management Consultants
http://www.imcusa.org/

Society of Human Resource Managers
http://www.shrm.org/

Strategic Management Society
http://www.smsweb.org/

Management | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

HR Magazine
http://www.shrm.org/hrmagazine/

Inc. Magazine Online
http://www.inc.com/home/

Industry Week
http://www.industryweek.com/

Institute of Management and Administration (IOMA) Business Pages
http://www.ioma.com/

Profit Patterns
http://www.profitpatterns.com/

Selected internet resources: Accounting, business & financial
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/business.shtml

Missouri State University Department of Management
http://www.mgt.missouristate.edu/

compiled by Crystal Gale | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: December 2005