| Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries |
| Reference & Government Information Department |
Medicine &
Health Pathfinder
Library
research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information
Department
| Medicine & Health | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Find Articles and Basic
Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.
To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access
Online Indexes to Articles
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.Alt-HealthWatch
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers researchers an immediate resource of full text articles from more than 180 international and often peer reviewed journals, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database provides searchable full text for nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals. This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Topics include medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. This database also contains Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.LexisNexis
LexisNexis is a leader in providing full-text coverage of news, legal, business, biographical, medical and government information. It is the host platform providing seamless connections to LexisNexis Academic and LexisNexis Congressional. For more information on these specific LexisNexis databases, see their individual title listings.MEDLINE (6 user limit)
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".SPORTDiscus (8 user limit)
SPORTDiscus, provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Indexed are articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals and magazines, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, video and audio tapes, and book reviews. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, including bibliographic coverage for over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books
STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library (2 user limit)
STAT!Ref is an easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals. It is a collection of clinically-oriented health sciences ready reference e-books. The collection provides convenient access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions. The titles can be browsed, searched individually, or multiple titles can be searched at the same time.
General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Medicine & Health as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse
| Medicine & Health | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Selected Journals in
the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet
which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic,
print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online,
or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This
is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University
Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular
title, then use TDNet
as your starting point.
American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
American Journal of Health Promotion
British
Medical Bulletin
Bulletin
of the World Health Organization
International Journal of Food Sciences and Nutrition
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
New England Journal of Medicine
Research in Nursing and Health
Strength and Conditioning Journal
| Medicine & Health | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Recent Books in the
Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State
Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The
citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to
arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number
to browse the shelf for similar materials.
Athletic training
and sports medicine / edited by Chad Starkey and Glen Johnson. American
Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers,
c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .A84 2006
Baer, Hans A. Toward
an integrative medicine : merging alternative therapies with biomedicine.
Walnut Creek, CA : AltaMira Press, c2004.
MSU Meyer General R733 .B225 2004
Carr,
Timothy P. Discovering
nutrition. Malden, MA : Blackwell, 2003.
MSU Meyer General QP141
.C28 2003
Eiseman,
Elisa. The challenges
of creating a global health resource tracking system. Santa Monica, CA :
RAND Corp., 2005.
MSU Meyer General RA441
.E375 2005
Engel,
Jonathan. Poor
people's medicine : Medicaid and American charity care since 1965. Durham
: Duke University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General RA412.4
.E54 2006
Fundamentals
of nursing : caring and clinical judgement / edited by Helen Harkreader,
Mary Ann Hogan, and Marshelle Thobaben. St. Louis, Mo. ; [Edinburgh] : Saunders
Elsevier, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RT86.7 .F86 2007
Hackley,
Barbara. Primary
care of women : a guide for midwives and women's health providers. Sudbury,
Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RG950
.H33 2007
Handbook of gerontology
: evidence-based approaches to theory, practice, and policy / edited by James
A. Blackburn and Catherine N. Dulmus. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC952.55
.H395 2007
Harms,
Louise. Understanding
human development : a multidimensional approach. South Melbourne, Victoria
; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General BF713
.H37 2005
Lefkowitz,
Bonnie. Community
health centers : a movement and the people who made it happen. New Brunswick,
N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RA445
.L38 2007
Optimizing bone
mass and strength : the role of physical activity and nutrition during growth /
edtied by Robin M. Daly and Moira A. Petit. Basel ; New York : Karger, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QP88.2
.O68 2007
Phibbs,
Brendan. The human
heart : a basic guide to heart disease. Philadelphia : Lippincott Williams & Wilkins,
c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC681
.P529 2007
Public health
response to biological and chemical weapons : WHO guidance. Geneva : World
Health Organization, 2004.
MSU Meyer General RA647 .P835 2004
Purtilo,
Ruth B. Ethical
dimensions in the health professions. Philadelphia, Pa. : Elsevier Saunders,
c2005.
MSU Meyer General R724
.P82 2005
Thomas,
Richard K. Health
communication. New York, NY, USA : Springer, c2006.
MSU Meyer General R118
.T477 2006
| Medicine & Health | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reference Books at
Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries
catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call
number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials
are non-circulating items.
ACSM's health/fitness
facility standards and guidelines
MSU Meyer Ref GV429 .A45 1997
American medical
association family medical guide
MSU Meyer Ref RC81 .A543 2004
American nursing
: a biographical dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref RT34 .A44 1988
Cecil textbook of medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC46
.C423 2004
Childhood
disorders diagnostic desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref RJ50.C483 2003
Davis's
comprehensive handbook of laboratory and diagnostic tests : with nursing
implications
MSU Meyer Ref RB38.2.S36 2003
Encyclopedia & dictionary
of medicine, nursing, and allied health
MSU Meyer Ref R121
.M65 2005
Encyclopedia
of addictive drugs
MSU Meyer Ref RM316.M555 2002
Encyclopedia
of alzheimer's disease : with directories of research, treatment, and care
facilities
MSU Meyer Ref RC523.M665 2003
Encyclopedia
of asthma and respiratory disorders
MSU Meyer Ref RC732 .N37 2003
Encyclopedia
of folk medicine : old world and new world traditions
MSU Meyer Ref R733 .H376 2004
Encyclopedia
of public health
MSU Meyer Ref RA423.E53 2002
Encyclopedia
of sports medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC1206
.O355 2005
Encyclopedia of the brain and brain disorders
MSU Meyer Ref QP376. T87 2002
Gale encyclopedia
of mental disorders
MSU Meyer Ref RC437.G35 2003
Guide to understanding
dietary supplements
MSU Meyer Ref RM 258.5.T35 2003
Handbook
of medicinal herbs
MSU Meyer Ref QK99.A1 D83 2002
Health nutrient bible:
the complete encyclopedia of food as medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RA784 .S648 1995
Internal medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC46 .I475 1998
Macmillan encyclopedia
of death and dying
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1073 .M33 2003
Mosby's handbook
of herbs & natural supplements
MSU Meyer Ref RM666.H33
S575 2004
New Harvard
guide to women's health
MSU Meyer Ref RA778.C2164 2004
Nurse practitioner's
clinical companion
MSU Meyer Ref RC76 .N875x 2000
Nursing nonprescription
drug handbook
MSU Meyer Ref RM671.A1 N87 2001
NutriBase nutrition facts desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref TX551
.N75 2001
Occupational
health and safety : terms, definitions, and abbreviations
MSU Meyer Ref RC963.A3
C66 1999
Physician assistant
: guide to clinical practice
MSU Meyer Ref R697.P45 P48 1999
Principles of
ambulatory medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC46 .P894 1999
Quantities, symbols,
units, and abbreviations in the life sciences : a guide for authors and editors
MSU Meyer Ref QH304.5 .Q36 1999
Springer index
of viruses
MSU Meyer Ref QR360 .S674 2002
Stedman's concise
medical dictionary for the health professions : illustrated
MSU Meyer Ref R121 .S8 1997
Textbook of primary
care medicine
MSU Meyer Ref R129 .T49 2001
| Medicine & Health | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Government Sources
& Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in
the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.
DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international
government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri
State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm
USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov
GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.
FDA Consumer
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US HE 20.4010:
Health, United States
MSU Meyer Ref Desk HE
20.7042/6: Connect to http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2649
ORI introduction
to the responsible conduct of research
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US HE 20.2:C 75/2004
| Medicine & Health | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.
General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/
http://www.allhealth.org
http://www.aaem.org
http://www.aapa.org
American Association for World Health (AAWH)
http://www.thebody.com/aawh/aawhpage.html
American Medical Association
http://www.ama-assn.org/
American Society for Nutrition (ASN)
http://www.nutrition.org/about.html
Consumer and Patient Health Information Section
(CAPHIS) of the Medical Library Association
http://caphis.mlanet.org/consumer/
National Health Federation (NHF)
http://www.thenhf.com
| Medicine & Health | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information
on the Internet.
Deparment of Health and Human Services
http://www.hhs.gov/
Healthgate
http://www.healthgate.com
Medical Encyclopedia
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html
MedlinePlus
http://medlineplus.gov/
Merck Manuals
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html
MSU College of Health and Human Services
http://www.missouristate.edu/chhs/
On-Line Medical Dictionary
http://cancerweb.ncl.ac.uk/omd/
PubMed
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?db=PubMed
Yoursurgery.com
http://www.yoursurgery.com
compiled by Mike
Wendt and updated by Tammy Stewart | Meyer
Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August
2007