| Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries |
| Reference & Government Information Department |
Mass Media
& Journalism Pathfinder
Library
research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information
Department
| Mass Media & Journalism | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Find Articles and Basic
Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.
To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access
Online Indexes to Articles
ComAbstracts
ComAbstracts, an online publication of Communication Institute for Online Scholarship, contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. No other electronic resources on the World Wide Web provide more comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's scholarship. ComAbstracts has provided continuous service since 1986.Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 300 journals. In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.LexisNexis Academic Sources - Topics - Select Media & Publishing
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.NewsBank
NewsBank is a full-text database of news articles about regional and state events and issues from two Missouri newspapers: the Kansas City Star from 1991 to present, and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1988 to present.Springfield Newspaper Index
Springfield Newspaper Index is part of the Springfield-Greene County Public Library's Ozark News and Historical Index, which indexes Springfield newspapers (1867-2002) and provides selected topical indexing to regional periodicals primarily from the 1970s to 1990s.World News Connection (1 user limit. If prompted for login, try again later)
World News Connection (WNC) is an online foreign news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Most of the articles included in WNC are in full-text format, and coverage ranges from 1996 to present. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, this information is available within 24-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. The material in WNC is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency.
Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
LexisNexis Congressional
(NOTE: As of June 30, 2008, this index will no longer be available. Please go to THOMAS in the database listings or at http://www.thomas.gov/). Lexis-Nexis Congressional contains indexing, with some full text, for congressional materials from 1789 to present, specifically committee hearings and prints, as well as serial set reports and document. Other full-text materials include bills (1989-present), public laws (1988-present), Congressional Record (1985-present), and the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations (1981-present). Congressional actions, including bill tracking (1989-present), floor votes (1988-present), and legislative histories (1969-present) are also included. The database also contains political news from the past 20 years, as well as current hot topics in the political arena.
Journalists Online Toolkit from MSU Libraries, Reference Databases:
CQ Researcher
Published by Congressional Quarterly, CQ Researcher provides analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. With online coverage from 1991 to present, it features lengthy (15-20 page) reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports.Facts.com
"World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940." It also includes World News Digest of current (including Today's News) and historic events (1940 to present), a searchable "What Happened on That Day" feature from 1940 to present, obituaries (1980 to present), maps, photos, historic documents, country profiles, biographies, heads of state, and more.JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.STAT-USA (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov/), a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government such as United States economic indicators and statistical releases on U.S. economy; the National Trade Data Bank; foreign investment and marketing research reports and sources & economic reports on countries and regions of the world. Focused data on the United States domestic economy is provided in the State of the Nation portion of STAT-USA, while the Globus & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) section provides international trade and foreign country market information. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library in GLOBUS/NTDB is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade.USA.gov
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.
General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Mass Media & Journalism as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse
| Mass Media & Journalism | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Selected Journals in
the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet
which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic,
print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online,
or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This
is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University
Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular
title, then use TDNet
as your starting point.
Critical Studies in Media Communication
European Journal of Communication
Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly
| Mass Media & Journalism | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Recent Books in the
Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State
Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The
citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to
arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number
to browse the shelf for similar materials.
Barlow,
Aaron. The rise
of the blogosphere. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PN478.4.O62
B37 2007
The
big chill : investigative reporting in the current media environment / edited
by Marilyn Greenwald and Joseph Bernt. Ames : Iowa State University Press, 2000.
MSU Meyer General PN4888.I56 B49 2000
Censoring culture
: contemporary threats to free expression / edited
by Robert Atkins and Svetlana Mintcheva. New York : New Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General NX180.F74
C46 2006
Downing,
John. Representing
race : racisms, ethnicities and media. London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE,
2005.
MSU Meyer General P94.5.M55
D69 2005
Jenkins,
Henry. Convergence
culture : where old and new media collide. New York : New York University
Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General P94.65.U6
J46 2006
Mindich, David T. Z. Tuned
out : why Americans under 40 don't follow the news. Mindich New York : Oxford
University Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General PN4731 .M49 2005
The new media
book / edited by Dan Harries. London : BFI Pub., 2002.
MSU Meyer General P90 .N49 2002
Quoting God
: how media shape ideas about religion and culture / edited
by Claire Hoertz Badaracco. Waco, Tex. : Baylor University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General BV652.95
.Q86 2005
Ritchie,
Donald A. Reporting
from Washington : the history of the Washington press corps. Oxford ; New
York : Oxford University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General PN4888.O25
R58 2005
Sloan, Bill. I
watched a wild hog eat my baby!" : a colorful history of tabloids and their
cultural impact. Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 2001.
MSU Meyer General PN4888.T3 S57 2001
Smith, Paula J. The
internet's impact on journalism. c2005.
MSU Meyer General LB1900 .S7h 2005 .S657
Women and the
media : diverse perspectives / edited by Theresa Carilli,
Jane Campbell. Lanham, Md. : University Press of America, c2005.
MSU Meyer General P94.5.W65
W65 2005
Zielinski,
Siegfried. Deep
time of the media : toward an archaeology of hearing and seeing by technical
means. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General P91
.Z53813 2006
| Mass Media & Journalism | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reference Books at
Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries
catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call
number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials
are non-circulating items.
Associated Press stylebook
and libel manual : including guidelines on photo captions,
filing the wire, proofreaders' marks, copyright
MSU Meyer Ref PN4783 .A83 1996
Concise encyclopedia
of ethics in politics and the media
MSU Meyer Ref PN4756 .C66x 2001
Gale directory of publications
and broadcast media
MSU Meyer Ref PN4867.Z1 A97
Graduate programs in journalism and mass communications
MSU Meyer Ref Desk P91.5.U5
S86 1996
History of the mass
media in the United States : an encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref P92.U5 H55 1998
New York times manual of style and usage
MSU Meyer Ref PN4783 .S57 1999
Political market place, USA
MSU Meyer Ref JK271
.K87 1999
Style manual for communication studies
MSU Meyer Ref Desk P96.A68
S89 2003
Webster's New World dictionary of media and communications
MSU Meyer Ref P87.5
.W45 1996
| Mass Media & Journalism | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Government Sources
& Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in
the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.
DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international
government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri
State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm
USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov
GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.
Federal Communications Commission
http://www.fcc.gov
Main areas of FCC regulation:
| Mass Media & Journalism | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.
General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/
American Communication Association
http://www.americancomm.org/
Association for Educators in Journalism and
Mass Communications
http://www.aejmc.org/
Center for Environmental Journalism Home Page
http://www.Colorado.EDU/journalism/cej/
International Federation of Journalists
http://www.ifj.org/
National Association of Black Journalists
http://www.nabj.org/
National Press Club, Washington D.C
http://npc.press.org/
National Press Photographers Association (NPPA)
http://www.nppa.org/
Society for News Design
http://www.snd.org/
Society of Professional Journalists: The Electronic
Journalist
http://www.spj.org/
| Mass Media & Journalism | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information
on the Internet.
Alternative, Liberal and Underground News Sources
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/altnews.shtml
http://www.cjr.org/
see especially who owns what, a listing
of ownership of media conglomerates
Conservative News Sources
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/connews.shtml
FactCheck.Org, Annenberg Political Fact Check
http://www.factcheck.org
Gender, Race and Ethnicity in Media resources
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/GenderMedia/
Newseum
http://www.newseum.org/
NewsLink
http://newslink.org/
Print Ads, 1911-1955
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/
Print Ads, 1940 - present
http://www.adflip.com
Project for Excellence in Journalism
http://journalism.org/
MSUU Department of Media, Journalism and Film
http://mjf.missouristate.edu/
MSU Libraries Selected Internet Resources sites:
News & Current Events:http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/news.shtml
Newspapers: http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/newspapers.shtml
Television Commercials
http://www.adcritic.com
compiled by Mike
Wendt and updated by Tammy Stewart | Meyer
Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July
2007