Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Legal Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Department

Legal | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Index to periodical articles related to law (1958 – Winter 2000)
MSU Meyer Ref KF8 .I53x

Index to legal periodicals
MSU Meyer Ref K9 .N32

Index to legal periodicals and books
MSU Meyer Ref K9 .N32


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Legal as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse

Legal | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

George Washington Law Review

Harvard Civil Rights – Civil Liberties Law Review

Harvard International Law Journal

Journal of the Missouri Bar

Law and Policy in International Business

Midwest Law Review

Missouri Law Review

Oklahoma Law Review

Rutgers Computer and Technology Law Journal

Saint Louis University Law Journal

School Law Reporter

Trial

University of Chicago Law Review

University of Kansas Law Review

Vanderbilt Law Review

Villanova Sports & Entertainment Law Journal

Virginia Law Review

Yale Law Journal

Legal | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Bartee, Alice Fleetwood. Privacy rights : cases lost and causes won before the Supreme Court. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2006.
MSU Meyer General KF4749 .B337 2006

Colker, Ruth. The disability pendulum : the first decade of the Americans with Disabilities Act. New York : New York University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General KF480 .C648 2007

Eisgruber, Christopher L. Religious freedom and the constitution. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General KF4783 .E355 2007

Guantanamo Bay and the judicial-moral treatment of the other / edited by Clark Butler. West Lafayette, Ind. : Purdue University Press : Published in cooperation with the Institute for Human Rights, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6432 .G825 2007

Klosek, Jacqueline. The war on privacy. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General K3263 .K56 2007

Law and the sacred / edited by Austin Sarat, Lawrence Douglas, and Martha Merrill Umphrey. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General K3280 .L395 2007

Maltz, Earl M. Dred Scott and the politics of slavery. Lawrence, Kansas : University Press of Kansas, c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF4545.S5 M35 2007

Mezey, Susan Gluck. Queers in court : gay rights law and public policy. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF4754.5.Z9 M49 2007

Nemacheck, Christine L. Strategic selection : presidential nomination of Supreme Court Justices from Herbert Hoover through George W. Bush. Charlottesville : University of Virginia Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General KF8742 .N46 2007

Ross, William G. The chief justiceship of Charles Evans Hughes, 1930-1941. Columbia : University of South Carolina Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF8745.H8 R67 2007

Saito, Natsu Taylor. From Chinese exclusion to Guantánamo Bay : plenary power and the prerogative state. Boulder, Colo. : University Press of Colorado, c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF5060 .S25 2007

Weber, Mark C. Disability harassment. New York : New York University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF480 .W43 2007

Legal | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Ready Reference Books
Black's law dictionary 8th edi.
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF 156.B53 2004

Bluebook: a uniform system of citation 17th edition
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF245.B58

Dictionary of legal abbreviations used in American law books
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF246.B46 1985

Find public records fast: the complete state, county & courthouse locator
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF8700.A19 F56 2000

Guidelines for educational use of copyrighted materials: designed for educators and librarians in the higher education setting
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF3020.G85 1997

How to prepare a legal citation
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF245.M34 1986

Official guide to ABA-approved law schools
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF273.A87

Official LSAT
MSU Meyer Ref Desk KF285.Z9 O34 2001

Legal Reference Books in the Library Collection
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias – General Law

Black’s law dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref KF156 .B53 1999

Bouvier’s law dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref KF156 .B6x 1934

Dictionary of English law (1959)
MSU Meyer Ref KD

Dictionary of law
MSU Meyer Ref KD313 .C87 1998

Dictionary of modern legal usage
MSU Meyer Ref KF156 .G367 1995

Dictionary of selected legal terms
MSU Meyer Ref KF156 .J39 1996

Encyclopedia of law and economics vol. 1-5 (The history and methodology of law and economics, civil law and economics, the regulations of contracts, the economics of public and tax law and the economics of crime and litigation)
MSU Meyer Ref K487 .E3 E53 2000

Guide to American law: everyone’s legal encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref KF156 .G77

Judicial dictionary of words and phrases
MSU Meyer Ref KD1x .S7 1953

New Palgrave dictionary of economics and the law
MSU Meyer Ref K487 .E3 N48x

West’s encyclopedia of American law
MSU Meyer Ref KF 154 .W47 2004

Media law dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref KF2750.A68 M87

Nonprofit law dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref KF1388 .A68 H66 1994

General Reference and Indexes
Age discrimination
MSU Meyer Ref KF390. A4 E34

Current law index
MSU Meyer Ref K33 .C87

Index to legal periodicals and books
MSU Meyer Ref K9 .N32

Law library reference shelf: annotated subject guide
MSU Meyer Ref KF1 .M33 1996

Martindale-Hubbell bar register of preeminent lawyers
(see LexisNexis)

Master research guide; a desk book correlating all the law title, and the subjects therein, of the major law digests, encyclopedias and like publications, together with other pertinent information, presented in a single alphabetical series (1951)
MSU Meyer Ref KF8 .B4x

Oxford companion to law
MSU Meyer Ref K48 .W34

Watergate investigation index
MSU Meyer Ref KF26.5 .P7 1973 Suppl. 3

Criminal Law - Justice
Criminal law digest Vol. 1- 2
MSU Meyer Ref KF9210.3.C75 1978

Criminal law digest
MSU Meyer RefKF9214.C75 1983

Cruel and unusual punishment: rights and liberties under the law
MSU Meyer Ref KF9227.C2 M42 2003

Eyewitness testimony: strategies and tactics
MSU Meyer Ref KF 9672.E94 1984

Prentice Hall’s dictionary of American criminal justice, criminology, and criminal law
MSU Meyer Ref KF9223.A68 F35 2005

Right to the assistance of counsel: a reference guide to the United States Constitution
MSU Meyer Ref KF 9646.T66 2002

Scientific evidence in criminal cases
MSU Meyer Ref KF9674.M6 1986

Search and seizure: a treatise on the Fourth Amendment Vol.1-4
MSU Meyer Ref KF9630.L26 1987

Sexuality and the law: an encyclopedia of major legal cases
MSU Meyer Ref KF 9325.A7 L46 1993

Tree of liberty: a documentary sourcebook of rebellion and political crime in America
MSU Meyer Ref KF9390.A7 T74 1986

Indians of North America – Legal status, laws and cases
ABC-CLIO companion to the Native American rights movement
MSU Meyer Ref KF8203.36.G76 1996

Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights
MSU Meyer Ref KF8210.C5 E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition
MSU Meyer Ref KF8294.E53 1998

International Law
Crimes of war: what the public should know
MSU Meyer Ref K5301 .C75 1999

Glossary of NAFTA terms
MSU Meyer Ref KDZ944 .A55 F68 1994

Rights of women: a guide to the important United Nations treaties for women’s human rights
MSU Meyer Ref K644 .R54 1998

Labor & Employment Law
CCH NLRB decisions (1966-1986)
MSU Meyer Ref KF3362.A261 U58

Deskbook encyclopedia of employment law (current year)
MSU Meyer Ref KF3314.D47

Fair employment practices cumulative digest and index and table of cases (1983-1998)
MSU Meyer Ref KF3464.A5142

Labor cases Vol. 52-103
MSU Meyer Ref KF3310.A2 L3

Missouri Law
Digest of the decisions of the Supreme Court of the State of Missouri
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7845.1.B3x 1821-59

Cumulative supplement to the revised statutes of the State of Missouri, 1994 Vol. 1-4 1999
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7830 1994 .A2 Suppl

Laws of Missouri (session laws)(1838-43, 1847-2004)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7825

Methods of practice 1953-2001
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7880.M5

Missouri cases reported in South western reporter 2d
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7847.M5x Vol.1-998

Missouri court rules Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8329.A192 2007

Missouri decisions reported in the Southwestern reporter Vol.1-300
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7847.M49x

Missouri digest; covering cases from state and federal courts Vol.1-32
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7847.1.A3x

Missouri employment discrimination
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8131.M573x 2000

Missouri limited liability company forms and practice manual
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8007.5 .A65 S34
(also Computer disk X473 in Media Collection)

Missouri school law
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8195.A3 M57 2003

Missouri tax reporter Vol.1-2
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8270.A65 M52x

Missouri tax reporter: transfer binder, new matters (1953-1995)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8270.A65 M57x

Missouri worker’s compensation law Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8142.M62

Reports of cases argued and determined in the Supreme Court of the state of Missouri (vol.1 [1821]-vol.196 [1906] and index)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7845.A2x

Revised statutes of the state of Missouri Vol. 1-20
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7830.A2x

Shepard’s Missouri citations Vol.1-2, Suppl.
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7859.S5 1963

Shepard’s Missouri citations: cases Vol.1-3
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7859.S5 1987

Shepard’s Missouri citations: cases (pt.1-pt.3)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7859.S5 1994

Shepard’s Missouri citations: statutes (current through June 2005)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7859.S52 1994

Vernon’s annotated Missouri statutes Vol. 1-42A, 2005 General Index, Vol.1-2)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7830.A413

Vernon’s Missouri session laws (2002-03)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7825.A2

Vernon’s annotated Missouri rules: Supreme Court rules [1 – 102] (vol.1-3)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM8358.A39 M5x

West's Missouri cases reported in South western reporter 3d Vol.1-62
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7847.M5x

West’s Missouri law finder (2005)
MSU Meyer Ref KFM7861.M58

Tax Law
Internal revenue acts (1966 – 2004)
MSU Meyer Ref KF68 .W41x

Internal revenue code: complete text with index (1989 – 2005)
MSU Meyer Ref KF68 .W4x 1971

Shepard’s/McGraw-Hill tax dictionary for business
MSU Meyer Ref KF6287.M56x 1994

Tax court reporter (1965-2000)
MSU Meyer Ref KF6280.C65 1965

United States code annotated: Tax Reform Act of 1986
MSU Meyer Ref KF6289.U54x 1986

U. S. tax cases (1934/35-2001a)
MSU Meyer Ref KF6280.A2 C63

West’s federal tax research
MSU Meyer Ref KF241.T38 W47 2000

United States Constitution
Constitution of the United States: background, analysis, and bibliography
MSU Meyer Ref KF4541.A2 C66 2003

Constitutional rights source book
MSU Meyer Ref KF4550.Z9 R463 1999

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution Vol.1-6
MSU Meyer Ref KF4548.E53 2000

Encyclopedia of constitutional amendments, proposed amendments, and amending issues, 1789-1995
MSU Meyer Ref KF4557.V555 1996

Supreme Court review (1960-2003)
MSU Meyer Ref KF4546.S9

United States Constitutional Law – Supreme Court Decisions
Constitutional law dictionary Vol.1-2 & vol.1 of supplements 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref KF4548.5 .C47 1985

Landmark briefs and arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States: constitutional law
MSU Meyer Ref KF101.9 .A3x L3

Landmark briefs and arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States: constitutional law. Opinions volume
MSU Meyer Ref KF101.9 .A3x L32

Landmark supreme court cases: a reference guide
MSU Meyer Ref KF4549.L455x 1999

Mass media and the Constitution: an encyclopedia of Supreme Court decisions
MSU Meyer Ref KF2750.A7 H58 1989

Oxford guide to the United States supreme court decisions
MSU Meyer Ref KF4548.O97 1999

Shepard’s federal citations
MSU Meyer Ref KF105.2 .S42

Shepard’s federal statute citations
MSU Meyer Ref KF78 .S56

Supreme court of the United States, 1789–1980: an index to opinions arranged by justice
MSU Meyer Ref KF101.6 .B57 1983

United States supreme court decisions, an index to excerpts, reprints, and discussions
MSU Meyer Ref KF101.6 G83 1983

United States supreme court decisions, 1778-1996: an index to excerpts, reprints, and discussions, 1980-1995
MSU Meyer Ref KF101.6 G83 2001

United States Supreme Court - Encyclopedias, biography, judges, law and politics
Biographical encyclopedia of the supreme court : the lives and legal philosophies of the justices
MSU Meyer Ref KF8744 .B56 2006

Encyclopedia of the U. S. supreme court Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref KF8742.A35 E53 2001

Oxford companion to the supreme court of the United States
MSU Meyer Ref KF8742.A35 O93 1992

Reference guide to the United States supreme court
MSU Meyer Ref KF8742.R45 1986

Supreme court A to Z
MSU Meyer Ref KF8742.A35 S8 1993

Supreme court compendium: data, decisions and developments
MSU Meyer Ref KF8742.S86 1994

Supreme court Justices: illustrated biographies, 1789-1995
MSU Meyer Ref KF8744.S86 1995

Legal Research
American jurisprudence; a modern comprehensive text statement of American law, State and
Federal
, 2nd edition
MSU Meyer Ref KF154.A42x

Chambers USA : America's leading lawyers for business
MSU Meyer Ref KF190 .C43 2004-2005

Effective legal research: a practical manual of law books and their use
MSU Meyer Ref KF240 .P7

Fundamentals of legal research
MSU Meyer Ref KF240 .J32 1998

How to use Shepard’s citations: a presentation of the scope and functions
MSU Meyer Ref KF245 .H69 1984

Legal research in a nutshell
MSU Meyer Ref KF240 .C54 2000

National survey of state laws (4th ed. 2003)
MSU Meyer Ref KF386 .N38

Paralegal’s desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref KF320.L4 A33 1993

West’s analysis of American law (2005)
MSU Meyer Ref KF240 .W454

Legal | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


ABA Network
http://www.abanet.org
This is the Web site of the American Bar Association and aside from membership and other functional resources, also serves as a central resource on the law for both lawyers and consumers.

Legal Services of Missouri
http://www.lsmo.org/Home/PublicWeb
This site provides information on the programs in Missouri which provide legal help to low income persons. The content is intended for potential clients, social service providers and other legal service providers.

Missouri Association of Trial Lawyers
http://www.matanet.org/mo/
This searchable site provides current news and legislative information on current issues in civil case law.

Missouri Bar Association
http://www.mobar.org/
The home page for the Missouri Bar Association features sections not only for lawyers, but also for teachers and the general public.
Springfield City Attorney (http://www.ci.springfield.mo.us/egov/attorney/staff.html) This site provides basic information about the department and its personnel, staff and functions. The drop-down menu content includes city ordinances and codes, election information and upcoming board agendas.

Legal | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Helpful Legal Research Sites and Directories
FindLaw
http://www.findlaw.com
FindLaw is a reputable and reliable legal portal providing access to a vast array of legal information, including channels for professionals, students, businesses and the public. Case law, legal codes, articles and guides are part of the core content, as well as a full-text, searchable database of all law reviews and journals on the Internet, which is updated frequently. Sections include legal news, legal forms, continuing legal education, organizations, law firms, law schools, judicial opinions and case law, and legal consultants. FindLaw remains one of the premier legal aggregators on the Web.

Jurist
http://www.jurist.law.pitt.edu
Jurist is sponsored by the University of Pittsburgh School of Law featuring topical opinion pieces and providing a forum for expert analysis of legal opinion through, for example, the Law Blogs by law professors, law school librarians, practicing attorneys, and students. Jurist is an excellent resource for secondary source material.

Law Library Resource Xchange
http://www.llrx.com
LLRX is an innovative Webzine where legal professionals go to keep up on new trends and key developments reported in its feature articles and regular columns on legal research, technology and management. Contributors include law librarians, attorneys and legal technology consultants. Free and updated monthly.

Lectric Law Library
http://www.lectlaw.com/rotu/htm
The ‘Lectric Law Library is one of the more, if not the most, enjoyable legal reference sites on the Web, described as “maybe the first real virtual law library” on the Internet. This page is the central hub where researchers will find links to extensive legal outlines, guides, articles, directories, special features and other “attractions.” The content of this site defies brief and simple descriptions—it must be experienced to be fully appreciated. Don’t let the wisecracks fool you; this site is a gold mine of legal resources.

LegalEthics.com
http://www.legalethics.com
This simple site provides resources and information to help legal professionals understand the ethical issues surrounding the Internet by tracking state and local ethics rulings relating to the network technology and resources. The most current cases and decisions appear on the start-up page. Two query boxes for searching by category and topic provide research access to this very basic but user friendly and topical site.

Legal Information Institute
http://www.law.cornell.edu
This site is used by many other Internet legal information sites, such as Law Guru and Jurist, and is one of the most valuable sites for rich legal content. Well organized and user friendly, LII offers access to current and historic court opinions via pull-down menus, key word searching for U. S. Court of Appeals decisions, and links to the University Law Review Project. The U.S. Code and CFR are part of the core content of the site.

Oyez
http://www.oyez.org/oyez/frontpage
This site focuses solely on significant case opinions in various areas, searchable from a pull-down list of categories and sub-categories. You can search by title, citation, subjects or date. Oyez continues to provide an excellent multimedia U.S. Supreme Court database, as well a database of Supreme Court opinions and abstracts; for full-text Supreme Court opinions, Oyez links to FindLaw.

Legal Blogs or “Blawgs” Blawg
http://blawg.org/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=421
“blawg” is a searchable directory of legal news and resource blogs to which the user may subscribe, or simply access online via the links and read at the blogger’s site. This site also features information and guidance to reading, creating and evaluating blogs through a categorized FAQ section. This source is updated regularly and is an excellent resource for weblogs related to law and legal information.

Virtual Chase
http://www.virtualchase.com/topics/rss_law.shtml
This location on the Virtual Chase is an extensive resource for locating RSS feeds for topics related to law and government. Features access to news aggregators, search tools and XML-based feed directories, allowing the user to select the best way to obtain the most timely legal news and opinion that fulfills their needs and interests.

Government Information
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/govdocs.shtml
This is the government information database link on the Meyer Library home page, and is an excellent portal to a vast array of state, federal and international web sites and databases, which include: Missouri Revised Statutes, Code of State Regulations, FirstGov, and Statistical Abstracts of the United States. The United Nations link features access to Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs), International Agencies, and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) web sites and databases.

compiled by Kimberley Balcos and Willa Garrett | Meyer Library
MSU Libraries | Missouri State University | Updated: August 2007