Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

International Relations Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

International Relations | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles

America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century. America History and Life covers United States and Canadian historical research, while Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world excluding the U.S. and Canada.

Daily Life Online (5 user limit)
Daily Life Online's suite of social history products (over 430 titles) is comprised of four separate modules: Daily Life through History, Daily Life Premium, World Folklore and Folklife, and Daily Life America. Combined, these four databases provide a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students. All aspects of daily life are covered: religion, domestic issues, economy, government, recreation, food, clothing, travel, music and dance, tales, myths, urban legends, and other subject areas. Daily Life through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary source documents. Covering all time periods and aspects of world history, this database contains 44 volumes from the Daily Life through History series, as well as six volumes from the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life. Daily Life Premium contains an additional 131 titles, including 41 volumes from the Culture and Customs series, as well as over 45 country history monographs, along with other series on food culture and teen life. World Folklore and Folklife contains over 90 monographs, from general overviews of folklife and folklore to specific folktales. Organized by subject and region/country, World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region or country. Finally, Daily Life America, comprised of 125 monographs, highlights such topics as crime, food, music, and other social and cultural aspects of life in America.

eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database for disciplines with an interest in cultural diversity. eHRAF contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. Cultures included are mostly immigrant groups, Native North Americans, and other ethnic groups from around the world. The Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cross-cultural anthropology. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences. The mission of HRAF is to encourage and facilitate worldwide comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. Founded in 1949 at Yale University, HRAF is a financially autonomous research agency of Yale.

Military & Government Collection
This is EBSCOHOST’s full-text database containing current news pertaining to all branches of the military and non-military areas, including areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy, international affairs and much more. The database covers a collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies providing cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. The Military & Government Collection database includes coverage from 1975 to the present.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

UN Treaty Collection (Available only in Meyer Library)
A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. Accessible only from library workstations in the Meyer Library. The UN Treaty Collection includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. The collection currently contains over 50,000 treaties and a similar number of related subsequent actions which have been published in hard copy in over 2,100 volumes. The treaty reference information made available for the UNTS at this site corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered up to April 1998. The complete text of treaties corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered approximately up to August 2001. Currently, the database is being expanded at the rate of over 100 new volumes per year.

UNBISnet
UNBISnet is a catalogue of UN publications and documentation indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjold Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjold Library. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 to the present; however, indexing for resolutions of the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, Security Council and Trusteeship Council are included back to 1945. Also covered are: the voting records for all resolutions which were adopted - either without a vote or by roll-call or recorded vote - by the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-); and citations to speeches made in the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-), the Security Council beginning with its 38th year (1983-), the Economic and Social Council beginning in 1983 and the Trusteeship Council beginning with its 15th special session (1982).

World News Connection (1 user limit. If prompted for login, try again later)
World News Connection (WNC) is an online foreign news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Most of the articles included in WNC are in full-text format, and coverage ranges from 1996 to present. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, this information is available within 24-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. The material in WNC is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum between 1975 and 2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO from 1984 to 2000. As of August 2005 approximately 1,510 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States. Furthermore, the references cited in the bibliography of the source article have been included for citations to core journals in political science, added to the database since 2001, and for all journals added since 2004. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Major areas of coverage include: comparative politics, developing nations, disarmament, economic policy, electoral systems, environmental policy, government/political systems, history and theory of political science, international relations/trade, labor relations, military policy, methodology and research technology, political behavior, political economy, political psychology, politics and law, politics and communication, politics and religion, politics and society, public administration, security and defense, and welfare systems.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
CQ Researcher
Published by Congressional Quarterly, CQ Researcher provides analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. With online coverage from 1991 to present, it features lengthy (15-20 page) reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports.

Facts.com
"World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940." It also includes World News Digest of current (including Today's News) and historic events (1940 to present), a searchable "What Happened on That Day" feature from 1940 to present, obituaries (1980 to present), maps, photos, historic documents, country profiles, biographies, heads of state, and more.

STAT-USA (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov/), a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government such as United States economic indicators and statistical releases on U.S. economy; the National Trade Data Bank; foreign investment and marketing research reports and sources & economic reports on countries and regions of the world. Focused data on the United States domestic economy is provided in the State of the Nation portion of STAT-USA, while the Globus & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) section provides international trade and foreign country market information. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library in GLOBUS/NTDB is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

CSA political science & government
MSU Meyer Ref JA71.Z1 A21
Published by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, CSA Political Science & Government is a guide to current journal literature in the fields of political science, government affairs, and the related disciplines of law, sociology, and economics. Published five times per year with an annual index, it contains citations to articles published in the international academic literature. A subject index, author index, and source index provide access to the citations along with a table of contents classification scheme covering history & theory, professional issues of the academic discipline, methodology & research technology, international relations, political systems, politics, political behavior, political economy, politics and the law, public policy & administration, and the relation of politics to psychology, society, and religion. Previously titled ABC pol sci: advance bibliography of contents, political science & government, 1969 – 2000.

Current law index
MSU Meyer Ref K33 .C87
A comprehensive index to over 800 law journals from the
U.S., Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. Sources covered include academic reviews, bar association journals, specialty journals, and select journals treating allied disciplines such as criminology and accounting.

International African bibliography
MSU Meyer Ref DT3. Z1 I68

International political science abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref JA36.I5
Published by the International Political Science Association in co-operation with the International Committee for Social Sciences Documentation, this index covers articles published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world. The most significant and core academic political science journals worldwide are covered.

PAIS international in print (title varies)
MSU Meyer Ref JX71.Z1 P83x
Covering global public policy and social issues. Citations and abstracts to periodical articles, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Strong emphasis on public affairs and planning and how geography can be effected. Annually it contains more than 450,000 references to journal articles, books, government documents, research reports, conference reports, grey literature, internet documents, etc. originally published in English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese. Materials cited by PAIS are of use to legislators, government officials, business and financial community, policy researchers and students researching public policy worldwide.

Social sciences citation index
MSU Meyer Ref Z 7161. S65


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying International Relations as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

International Relations | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Journal of International Law

Asian Affairs: an American Review

British Journal of Politics & International Relation

Comparative Political Studies

Conflict Management and Peace Science

Foreign Affairs

Foreign Policy

Global Governance: a Review of Multilateralism

International Affairs

International Security

International Studies Perspectives

International Studies Review

Iranian Studies

Journal of Contemporary China

Journal of Peace Research

Journal of International Affairs

World Politics

International Relations | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Preset Library of Congress Subject Searches for the MSU SWAN Library Catalog:
National Security | World Politics | Balance of Power | Diplomacy | Disarmament
Globalization | International Economic Relations | Nationalism | Security, International | War


International Relations new books

Beschloss, Michael R. Presidential courage : brave leaders and how they changed America, 1789-1989. New York : Simon & Schuster, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E176.1 .B47 2007

Brzezinski, Zbigniew. Second chance : three presidents and the crisis of American superpower. New York : Basic Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ1480 .B69 2007

Cardenas, Sonia. Conflict and compliance : state responses to international human rights pressure. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JC571 .C28 2007

Christol, Carl Quimby. International law and U.S. foreign policy. Lanham, Md. : University Press of America, c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF4581 .C45 2007

DeFronzo, James. Revolutions and revolutionary movements. Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM876 .D44 2007

Dosch, Jörn. The changing dynamics of Southeast Asian politics. Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DS525.8 .D67 2007

Fear of persecution: global human rights, international law, and human well-being / edited by James D. White and Anthony J. Marsella. Lanham, MD : Lexington Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV640 .F42 2007

Gill, Bates. Rising star : China's new security diplomacy. Washington, D.C. : Brookings Institution Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ1734 .G56 2007

Humanitarian diplomacy : practitioners and their craft / edited by Larry Minear and Hazel Smith.  Tokyo ; New York : United Nations University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV639 .H85 2007

Hunt, Michael H. The American ascendancy : how the United States gained and wielded global dominance. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E183.7 .H855 2007

Jackson, Donna R. Jimmy Carter and the Horn of Africa : Cold War policy in Ethiopia and Somalia. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2007.
MSU Meyer General E183.8.E8 J33 2007

Jackson, Robert H. Introduction to international relations : theories and approaches. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ1242 .J33 2007

Japan in international politics : the foreign policies of an adaptive state / edited by Thomas U. Berger, Mike M. Mochizuki, Jitsuo Tsuchiyama. Boulder : Lynne Rienner Publishers : Published in association with the Japan Forum on International Relations, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DS891.2 .J286 2007

Kenney, Michael. From Pablo to Osama: trafficking and terrorist networks, government bureaucracies, and competitive adaptation. University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6431 .K423 2007

Kirkpatrick, Jeane J. Making war to keep peace. New York : HC, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E745 .K57 2007

Litwak, Robert. Regime change: U.S. strategy through the prism of 9/11. Washington, D.C. : Woodrow Wilson Center Press ; Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ1480 .L58 2007

Mahoney, John. The challenge of human rights : origin, development, and significance. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General JC571 .M25 2007

McDougall, Derek. Asia Pacific in world politics. Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General Z1980 .M33 2007

Meisler, Stanley. Kofi Annan: a man of peace in a world of war. Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley & Sons, c2007.
MSU Meyer General D839.7.A56 M45 2007

Middle East and the United States : a historical and political reassessment
/ edited by David W. Lesch. Boulder, Colo. : Westview, c2007.
MSU Meyer General DS63.2.U5 M43 2007

Murphy, Cullen. Are we Rome?: the fall of an empire and the fate of America. Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., 2007.
MSU Meyer General E169.1 .M957 2007

Odgaard, Liselotte. The balance of power in Asia-Pacific security: US-China policies on regional order. London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ1313 .O34 2007

Oren, Michael B. Power, faith, and fantasy : America in the Middle East, 1776 to the present. New York : W.W.Norton & Co., c2007.
MSU Meyer General DS63.2.U5 O54 2007

Russian foreign policy in the twenty-first century and the shadow of the past / edited by Robert Legvold. New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General DK510.764 .R866 2007 

Scott, David. China stands up : the PRC and the international system. New York : Routledge, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DS777.8 .S3 2007

Secretary or general? : the UN Secretary-General in world politics / edited by Simon Chesterman. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ5008 .S43 2007

Taking sides. Clashing views on Latin American issues / selected, edited, and with introductions by Analisa DeGrave, Eva L. Santons-Phillips, and Jeff DeGrave. Dubuque, IA : McGraw Hill Contemporary Learning Series, c2007.
MSU Meyer General F1415 .T35 2007

Terrorism financing and state responses : a comparative perspective / edited by Jeanne K. Giraldo and Harold A. Trinkunas.  Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6431 .T4654 2007

Tyner, James A. America's strategy in Southeast Asia : from the Cold War to the Terror War. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield, c2007.
MSU Meyer General DS526.7 .T79 2007

Understanding contemporary Africa / edited by April A. Gordon and Donald L. Gordon. Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DT30.5 .U536 2007

Understanding contemporary Asia Pacific / edited by Katherine P. Kaup. Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

United Nations and changing world politics / edited by Thomas G. Weiss ... [et al.]. Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ4984.5 .W45 2007

United Nations interventionism, 1991-2004 / edited by Mats Berdal and Spyros Economides. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General JZ6374 .U553 2007


Library of Congress Classification for History of Countries Outside the Americas . The following letter combinations are subject class areas defined by the Library of Congress call number system. You can use the alphabetical areas to browse our book stacks for materials on the associated subject.

DA Great Britain
DAW Central Europe
DB Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia
DC France
DD Germany
DE The Mediterranean Region
DF Greece
DG Italy
DH Belgium, Luxemburg
DJ Netherlands (Holland)
DK Russia and former Soviet Republics
DL Northern Europe, Scandinavia
DP Spain, Portugal
DQ Switzerland
DR Balkan Peninsula
DS Asia
DT Africa
DU Oceania, Australia, New Zealand

International Relations | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Annual register of world events : a review of the year
MSU Meyer Ref D2 .A7

Antisemitism : a historical encyclopedia of prejudice and persecution
MSU Meyer Ref DS146.E8 A58 2005

Chronological history of U.S. foreign relations Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref E183.7 .B745 2003

CultureGrams Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref Desk GT150 .C863
Brief country by country reports, or “snapshots”, giving Background Information on the land and climates; information on the People such as language, religion, personal appearance and dress; a nation’s Customs such as their greetings and gestures; Lifestyle issues such as family structure, dating and marriage, diet, recreation, holidays; and brief notes on the Society such as government, education, and general health care system.

Demographic yearbook. Annuaire demographique
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Ref UN

Diplomat’s dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref JX1625 .F74 1997

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref E 183.7 .E52 2002

Encyclopedia of arms control and disarmament
MSU Meyer Ref JX1974 .E57 1993

Encyclopedia of bioterrorism defense
MSU Meyer Ref HV6433.3 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of cold war politics
MSU Meyer Ref E840 .T57 2000

Encyclopedia of democracy Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref JC423 .E53 1995

Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity
MSU Meyer Ref HV6322.7 .E532 2005

Encyclopedia of human rights issues since 1945
MSU Meyer Ref JC571 .L2747 1999

Encyclopedia of international peacekeeping operations
MSU Meyer Ref JZ6374 .R36 1999

Encyclopedia of terrorism (Sage Publications)
MSU Meyer Ref HV6431 .K883 2003

Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa
MSU Meyer Ref DS43 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of U.S. foreign relations Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref E183.7 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of women and world religion
MSU Meyer Ref  BL458 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of world cultures Vol. 1-10
MSU Meyer Ref GN307 .E53 1991

Encyclopedia of world terrorism Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HV6431 .E53 2003

Europa world year book Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref Desk JN1 .E85
Since 1960 the authoritative reference work, providing a wealth of detailed information on the political, economic and commercial institutions of the world. Volume I contains a comprehensive listing of more than 1600 international organizations and entries for
Afghanistan to Jordan ; Volume II covers Kazakhstan to Zimbabwe .

Extremist groups: information for students Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HN90.R3 .E975 2006

Historic documents
MSU Meyer Ref E839.5 .H57 1972-date
A collection of primary sources relating to major political world events that chronicle the year. The twenty-ninth volume in the set, it presents more than eighty documents covering presidential speeches, international agreements, government reports, scientific findings, and cultural statements issued by leading world figures.

Historical dictionary of United States-China relations
MSU Meyer Ref E183.8.C5 S883 2006

History of world trade since 1450
MSU Meyer Ref HF1379 .H574 2006

International year book and statesmen's who's who
MSU Meyer Ref Desk JA51 .I57
Directory and handbook guide to international and national organizations, countries of the world, and over 7,000 biographies of leading personalities in public global life.

Major peace treaties of modern history, 1648-2000 Vol. 1-6
MSU Meyer Ref JX121 .I8

Monthly bulletin of statistics
MSU Meyer Gov Docs UN ST/ESA/STAT/SER.Q/

Oxford companion to American military history
MSU Meyer Ref E181 .O94 1999

Penguin dictionary of international relations
MSU Meyer Ref JZ1161 .E94 1998

Political handbook of the world
MSU Meyer Ref Desk JF37 .P6
Essential political information about every country in the world. Heads of state and government, cabinet members, leaders and political parties, mass media structures, and composition and activities of major intergovernmental organizations.

Routledge international encyclopedia of women: global women's issues and knowledge Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115 .R69 2000

Statesman's year-book: the politics, cultures and economies of the world
MSU Meyer Ref Desk JA51 .S7

Statistical yearbook
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Ref UN ST/ESA/STAT/SER.S/24

Terrorism: essential primary sources
MSU Meyer Ref HV6431 .T465 2006

Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations Vol. 1-6
MSU Meyer Ref G63 .W67 2001 10th Edition

International Relations | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Central Intelligence Agency
http://www.cia.gov

Country Studies/Area Handbooks from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, Sponsored by U.S. Dept of Army
http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html

Defense Intelligence Agency
http://www.dia.mil/

Defense Security Cooperation Agency
http://www.dsca.osd.mil/

Inter-American Foundation
http://www.iaf.gov

Missile Defense Agency
http://www.mda.mil/mdalink/html/mdalink.html

National Security Council
http://www.whitehouse.gov/nsc/ | Brief History: http://www.whitehouse.gov/nsc/history.html

Office of National Drug Control Policy
http://www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov/index.html

Office of the United States Trade Representative
http://www.ustr.gov/

Peace Corps
http://www.peacecorps.gov

United States Agency for International Development
http://www.usaid.gov/

United States Department of Defense
http://www.defenselink.mil/

United States Department of State
http://www.state.gov/

United States Trade and Development Agency
http://www.tda.gov


All roads lead to Baghdad: Army Special Operations Forces in Iraq / edited by Charles H. Briscoe ... [et al.]. Fort Bragg, N.C. : USASOC History Office : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [2006?]
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US D 101.2:B 14

Examination of a fundamental human right : the 2006 International Religious Freedom Report : hearing before the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, December 21, 2006. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2007.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.IN 8/16:EX 1 Freely available online.

Future of the World Trade Organization: hearing before the Subcommittee on Trade of the Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, May 17, 2005. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.W 36:109-33 Freely available online.

Great debates at the United Nations: an encyclopedia of fifty key issues 1945-2000.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Ref UN KZ4968 .G67 2001

Iran's political/ nuclear ambitions and U.S. policy options : hearings before the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, May 17 and 18, 2006. Freely available online.

Middle East peace process and U.S. strategic priorities post-disengagement: hearing before the Subcommittee on the Middle East and Central Asia of the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, September 21, 2005. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.IN 8/16:P 31/23 Freely available online.

Saudi Arabia : friend of foe in the war on terror? : hearing before the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, November 8, 2005. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2007.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.J 89/2:S.HRG.109-836 Freely available online.

United Nations peacekeeping reform : hearing before the Subcommittee on International Operations and Terrorism of the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, July 27, 2005.
Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.F 76/2:S.HRG.109-322 Freely available online.

International Relations | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Amnesty International
http://www.amnesty.org/

APEC: Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
http://www.apecsec.org.sg/

Center for Defense Information
http://www.cdi.org/

Chatham House - The Royal Institute of International Affairs
http://www.chathamhouse.org.uk/

Human Rights Watch
http://www.hrw.org/

IMF: International Monetary Fund
http://www.imf.org/

International Studies Association
http://www.isanet.org/

North Atlantic Treaty Organization
http://www.nato.int/

OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development
http://www.oecd.org/

OPEC: Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries
http://www.opec.org/

Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org

Pan American Health Organization
http://www.paho.org

United Nations
http://www.un.org/

World Association of International Studies
http://cgi.stanford.edu/group/wais/cgi-bin/index.php

World Trade Organization
http://www.wto.org/

International Relations | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Almanac of Policy Issues
http://www.policyalmanac.org/

Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS)
http://www.csis.org/

CIA The World Factbook
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html

Columbia
International Affairs Online
http://www.ciaonet.org/

Electronic Information System for International Law
http://www.eisil.org/index.php?sid=242892285&t=index

Foreign Government Resources on the Web
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreign.html

International Governmental Organizations
http://www.library.northwestern.edu/govinfo/resource/internat/igo.html

International Relations links from Yahoo
http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Political_Science/International_Relations/

Strategic Intelligence Links from Loyola University
http://www.loyola.edu/dept/politics/intel.html

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
http://www.etown.edu/vl/

compiled by Douglas Stehle and updated by Andrea Miller | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007