Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Gender Studies Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

Gender Studies Database
The Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. GSD covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts provides coverage of the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database contains annotated references to journal articles and other publications on world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. The database contains over half a million citation entries from more than 1,700 periodicals dating from 1954 to the present. In addition, Historical Abstracts includes citations to historical books in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. In 2006, Historical Abstracts began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The MLA Bibliography includes coverage from 1926 to the present.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
American National Biography (5 user limit)
The American National Biography (ANB) contains over 18,300 signed biographies of deceased persons "whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history." You may search by name, gender, occupation, birth or death date, or full text (words and phrases). New biographies and revisions are added three times per year, including articles on recently deceased notables. Over 2,500 illustrations are included in ANB, and each entry has a descriptive bibliography. ANB Online also includes over 900 articles from the Oxford Companion to United States History, which provide historical and social context to the biographies. Researchers can search across broad research topics, including American literature, the Civil War, the Civil Rights movement, Women's history, Native American heritage, and Hispanic American heritage.

Oxford African American Studies Center (5 user limit)
The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) is a comprehensive collection of over 7,500 articles on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias, as well as content from 18 additional sources from Oxford University Press, AASC contains over 5,000 biographies and 3,000 articles on a variety of subjects. This database also includes around 100 primary source documents, 1,000 images, and over 200 charts, tables, maps, etc. Oxford plans to update AASC three or four times a year.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Gender Studies as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Affilia

Feminist Collections

Feminist Studies

Gender & History

Gender & Society: Official Publication of Sociologists for Women in Society

Hypatia

Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion

Journal of Mens Studies

Journal of Women & Aging

Journal of Women’s History

Ms.

NWSA Journal: a Publication of the National Women’s Studies Association

Psychology of Women Quarterly

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society

Women & Criminal Justice

Women & Health

Women and Music

Women & Performance

Women & Therapy

Women in Sport and Physical Activity Journal

Women’s Studies in Communication

Women’s Studies International Forum

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Baumgardner, Jennifer. Look both ways : bisexual politics. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ74 .B38 2007

DeLaat, Jacqueline. Gender in the workplace : a case study approach. Thousand Oaks : SAGE Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD6060.5.U5 D45 2007

Gender identity, equity, and violence : multidisciplinary perspectives through service learning / edited by Geraldine B. Stahly ; foreword by Robert A. Corrigan. Sterling, Va. : Stylus Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1155 .G44 2007

Gender orders unbound : globalisation, restructuring and reciprocity / edited by Ilse Lenz, Charlotte Ullrich, and Barbara Fersch. Opladen, Germany ; Farmington Hills, MI : Barbara Budrich, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1075 .G46455 2007

Gendering the state in the age of globalization : women's movements and state feminism in postindustrial democracies / edited by Melissa Haussman and Birgit Sauer. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1236 .G4628 2007

Handbook of feminist research : theory and praxis / edited by Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1180 .H35 2007

Hesse-Biber, Sharlene Nagy. Feminist research practice : a primer. Thousand Oaks : SAGE Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1180 .H47 2007

Jayasena, Nalin. Contested masculinities : crises in colonial male identity from Joseph Conrad to Satyajit Ray. New York : Routledge, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PR468.M38 J39 2007

Paxton, Pamela Marie. Women, politics, and power : a global perspective. Los Angeles : Pine Forge Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1236 .P39 2007

Seely, Megan. Fight like a girl : how to be a fearless feminist. New York : New York University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ1236 .S37 2007

Worlds of gender : the archaeology of women's lives around the globe / edited by Sarah Milledge Nelson. Lanham : AltaMira Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GN799.W66 W67 2007

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

A to Z of American women writers
MSU Meyer Ref PS147.K67 2000

Biographical dictionary of women in science : pioneering lives from ancient times to the mid-20th century Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref Q141.B5285 2000

Century of women: the most influential events in twentieth-century women’s history
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1410.F44 1999

Continuum complete international encyclopedia of sexuality
MSU Meyer Ref HQ21 .I68 2004

Encyclopedia of feminist literature

MSU Meyer Ref PN471 .S58 2006

Encyclopedia of feminist theories
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1190 .E63 2000

Encyclopedia of sex and gender : men and women in the world's cultures
MSU Meyer Ref HQ16 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of women and gender: sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001

Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref BL458 .E52 2006

Encyclopedia of women and world religion
MSU Meyer Ref BL458.E53 1999

Encyclopedia of women's health issues
MSU Meyer Ref RA778 .G39 2002

Feminist periodicals : a current listing of contents
MSU Meyer Ref HQ 1101 .F46x

From suffrage to the Senate : an encyclopedia of American women in politics Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1236.5.U6 S32 1999

Gay & lesbian atlas
MSU Meyer Ref HQ76.3.U5 G355 2004

Guide to twentieth-century women novelists
MSU Meyer Ref PR888.W6 W44 1997

Hate crimes : a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref HV6773.52 .A47 2005

Historical dictionary of the lesbian liberation movement: still the rage
MSU Meyer Ref HQ76.5 .M94 2003

Historical dictionary of women’s education in the United States
MSU Meyer Ref LC1752.H57 1998

History of women in the United States: state-by-state reference Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1410 .H58 2004

International encyclopedia of women's suffrage
MSU Meyer Ref JF851 .H28 2000

New books on women and feminism
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1101 .N48x

Notable women in American history : a guide to recommended biographies and autobiographies
MSU Meyer Ref CT3260.Z1 A27 1999

Palgrave Macmillan dictionary of women's biography
MSU Meyer Ref CT3202 .P26 2005

Rights of women : a guide to the important United Nations treaties for women’s rights
MSU Meyer Ref K644.R54 1998

Routledge critical dictionary of feminism and postfeminism
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115 .R68 2000

Routledge international encyclopedia of women: global women’s issues and knowledge Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115.R69 2000

Sexuality and the law : an encyclopedia of major legal cases
MSU Meyer Ref KF9325.A7 L46 1993

Women’s chronology : a year-by-year record from prehistory to the present
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1122.T73 1994

Women's issues
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1115 .W6425 1997

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Fed Stats
http://www.fedstats.gov (go to Topic Links - A-Z - Women)

United Nations’ Women Watch
http://www.un.org/womenwatch

United States Department of Labor. Women’s Bureau
http://www.dol.gov/wb

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Men's Studies Association
http://www.mensstudies.org/

Center for American Women and Politics
http://www.cawp.rutgers.edu

Global List of Women’s Organisations
http://www.distel.ca/womlist/womlist.html

National Center for Transgender Equality
http://www.nctequality.org

National Organization for Women (NOW)
http://www.now.org

National Women’s Studies Association
http://www.nwsa.org

Society for the Psychological Study of Men and Masculinity
http://www.apa.org/about/division/div51.html

Wellesley Centers for Women
http://www.wcwonline.org

Women's Sports Foundation
http://www.womenssportsfoundation.org

Women’s Studies Section/Association of College & Research Libraries
http://libr.org/wss/

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies
http://web.gc.cuny.edu/Clags/

Feminist.com
http://www.feminist.com

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
http://thetaskforce.org/

National Women’s History Project
http://www.nwhp.org

Women’s Studies/Women’s Issues Resource Sites (Joan Korenman, UMBC)
http://userpages.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/links.html

WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Websites (Women’s Studies Section of ACRL)
http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html

Gender Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Audiovisuals Available at Meyer Library
The links will take you to into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and location in the library.

Changing culture : the men’s movement
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N8264

Give the ballot to the mothers : songs of the suffragists
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N5794

Need to know [videorecording] / with Susan Sarandon ; directed by Tom Puchniak ; documentary script by Rina Fraticelli and Tom Puchniak ; narration written by Tom Puchniak
MSU Meyer Media Coll DVD216

Playing unfair : the media image of the female athlete
MSU Meyer Media Coll DVD 85

Sexual stereotypes in the media
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N8515

Speeches of famous women : from Suffragette to Senator
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N5285

Step by step : building a feminist movement
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N7684

Women as citizens : vital voices through the century
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N7514

Women making history in Missouri : preparing for the 21st century
MSU Meyer Media Coll Videocassette N5530

compiled by Betty Evans | Meyer Library
MSU Libraries | Missouri State University | Updated: November 2007