Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Geology Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Geology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.

Biological & Agricultural Index (BioAgIndex)
This database serves as an index to articles in leading U.S. and international publications in agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology. Specific topics include botany, cytology, fishery sciences, food science, genetics, horticulture, plant pathology, veterinary medicine, and zoology. It includes book reviews, biographical sketches, symposia and conference reports, and review articles. Produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, coverage is 1983 to present and includes over 1,100,000 records.

GEOBASE (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Coverage of over 1,060,000 records includes journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. Citations and abstracts to sources covering cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, environment, petrology, geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics, & volcanology.
Online Version of GEOBASE is available ONLY to current Missouri State University students and faculty at the Meyer Library Reference Desk with assistance from librarian.

GeoRef
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Subjects covered include, but are not limited to, crystallography, hydrogeology, economic geology, hydrology, environmental geology, marine geology, engineering geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, oceanography, geophysics, and paleontology. Coverage is from 1785 to present for North America, and 1933 to present for international.

Ingenta
A database for the search and delivery of articles in all fields, including chemistry. Free access for searching. Article delivery is fee-based. http://www.ingenta.com/.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".

SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) contains citations and abstracts to articles from 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and its member societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling over 1.5 million article citations. While its focus is on physics and related disciplines, the database contains significant amounts of literature in chemistry, materials science, and engineering. SPIN is hosted on a platform called Scitation, which allows you to search for articles only in SPIN, or only in Scitation, or in both. MSU students, faculty, and staff have full text access to the AIP material to which we subscribe.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Bibliography and index of geology 1969-2003
MSU Meyer Ref QE 1 .Z1 B53.
This is the original and proceeding print version of the online database GeoRef listed above. It is the foremost index to the scholarly and professional literature in the field of Geology.

Biological and agricultural index 1965-1998
MSU Meyer Ref S1.Z1 A46

Science citation index 1981-2003
MSU Meyer Ref Z7401 .S365


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Geology as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Geology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Mineralogist

Clay Minerals

Compass : Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon

Environmental Geology

Geology

Geophysical Research Letters

Geophysics

Journal of Geology

Journal of Geoscience Education

Journal of Glaciology

Journal of Metamorphic Geology

Journal of Petrology

Journal of Structural Geology

Palaeontology

Reviews of Geophysics

Rocks and Minerals

Seismological Research Letters

Tectonics

Geology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Earth and mind : how geologists think and learn about the earth / edited by Cathryn A. Manduca and David W. Mogk. Boulder, Colo. : Geological Society of America, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QE33 .E178 2006

Environmental sedimentology / edited by Chris Perry and Kevin Taylor. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General QE33 .E58 2007

Faure, Gunter. Introduction to planetary science : the geological perspective. Dordrecht ; London : Springer, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

The geology of Mars : evidence from Earth-based analogs / edited by M.G. Chapman. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QB641 .G435 2007

Gilligan, David. In the years of the mountains : exploring the world's high ranges in search of their culture, geology, and ecology.New York : Thunder's Mouth Press ; [Berkeley, Calif.] : Distributed by Publishers Group West, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GB501.2 .G55 2006

Goldberg, Paul. Practical and theoretical geoarchaeology. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Publishing, 2006.
MSU Meyer General CC77.5 .G65 2006

In situ-produced cosmogenic nuclides and quantification of geological processes / edited by Lionel L. Siame, Didier L. Bourlès, and Erik T. Brown. Boulder, Colo. : Geological Society of America, 2006.
MSU Meyer General QE501.4.N9 I5 2006

Processes on the early Earth / edited by Wolf Uwe Reimold and Roger L. Gibson. Boulder, Colo. : Geological Society of America, 2006.
MSU Meyer General QE653.3 .P76 2006

Rollinson, Hugh R. (Hugh Richard). Early Earth systems : a geochemical approach. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General QE500.5 .R65 2007

Rowland, Stephen Mark. Structural analysis and synthesis : a laboratory course in structural geology. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General QE501 .R73 2007

Veeken, Paul C. H. Seismic stratigraphy, basin analysis and reservoir characterisation. Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2007.
MSU Meyer General TN269.84 .V44 2007

Watzman, Haim. A crack in the earth : a journey up Israel's Rift Valley. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Geology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Climates of the states: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration narrative summaries, tables, and maps for each state, with overview of state climatologist programs, 2 vols
MSU Meyer Ref QC983 .C56 1985

Color encyclopedia of gemstones
MSU Meyer Ref QE392 .A69 1987

Dictionary of ecology and environment
MSU Meyer Ref QH540.4.C65 2001

Encyclopedia of global environmental change
MSU Meyer Ref GE 149 .E443 2002

Encyclopedia of volcanoes
MSU Meyer Ref QE522 .E53 2000

Facts on file dictionary of earth science
MSU Meyer Ref QE5 .F318 2000

Glossary of geology
MSU Meyer Ref QE5 .B38 1987

Geological atlas of western and central Europe
MSU Meyer Ref QE260 .Z53 1982

Geologists and the history of geology: an international bibliography from the origins to 1978. 5 vols.
MSU Meyer Ref QE21 .Z1 S28x 1980

McGraw-Hill dictionary of geology and mineralogy
MSU Meyer Ref QE5 .M3654 1997

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of the geological sciences
MSU Meyer Ref QE5 .M29

Oxford companion to the earth
MSU Meyer Ref QE5 .O94 2000

Water encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref TD351 .V36 1990

Geology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Departments and Agencies:

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) @ http://www.noaa.gov/

National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC).
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/
National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
http://www.nodc.noaa.gov/

U.S. Dept. of the Interior (DOI)
http://www.doi.gov/

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
http://www.usgs.gov/. The USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior in four major areas: natural hazards, resources, the environment, and information and data management.

Office of Surface Mining
http://www.osmre.gov/

USGS Geology Homepage
http://geology.usgs.gov/index.shtml

The Ajo Mining District, Pima County, Arizona [electronic resource] : evidence for Middle Cenozoic detachment faulting, plutonism, volcanism, and hydrothermal alteration / edited by Dennis P. Cox ... [et al.]. Reston, Va. : U.S. Dept. of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, 2006.
Freely available online.

Fossils, rocks, and time
MSU Meyer Gov Docs I 19.2:F 79/999

Geist, Eric L. Local tsunami hazards in the Pacific Northwest from Cascadia subduction zone earthquakes. Reston, Va. : U.S. Dept. of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey ; Denver, Co. : Information Services [distributor], 2005.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US I 19.16:1661-B Freely available online.

Glaciers, a water resource
MSU Meyer Gov Docs I 19.2: G 45/5

New Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
http://pubs.usgs.gov/publications/index.shtml

Rebuilding Mount St. Helens [electronic resource] / edited by Steve P. Schilling ... [et al.]. [Reston, Va.] : U.S. Dept. of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey ; Denver, CO : For sale by U.S. Geological Survey, Information Services, 2006.
Freely available online.

Stoffer, Philip W. (Philip Ward). Where's the San Andreas Fault? [electronic resource] : a guidebook to tracing the fault on public lands in the San Francisco Bay region. Reston, Va. : U.S. Geological Survey, 2006.
Freely available online.

Tephra layers of Blind Spring Valley and related upper Pliocene and Pleistocene tephra layers, California, Nevada, and Utah : isotopic ages, correlation, and magnetostratigraphy / edited by Andrei M. Sarna-Wojcicki ... [et al.]. Denver, CO : U.S. Dept. of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey : USGS Information Services [distributor], 2005.
Freely available online.

Whitney, John W. Geology, water, and wind in the Lower Helmand Basin, Southern Afghanistan [electronic resource] : By John W. Whitney. [Reston, Va] : U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, [2006].
Freely available online.

Geology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Geological Institute
http://www.agiweb.org/

American Geophysical Union
http://www.agu.org/

ASPRS, the American Society for Photogrammetry & Remote Sensing
http://www.asprs.org/

Geological Society of America
http://www.geosociety.org/

Mineralogical Society of American
http://www.minsocam.org/

National Association of Geoscience Teachers
http://www.nagt.org/

National Speleological Society (NSS)
http://www.caves.org/

Seismological Society of America
http://www.seismosoc.org/

Sigma Gamma Epsilon: The National Honor Society for the Earth Sciences
http://www.earth.uni.edu/SGE/

Geology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

AGI (American Geological Institute) Government Affairs Program (GAP)
http://www.agiweb.org/gap/gaphome.html

GEOLEX - U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Geological Names Lexicon
http://ngmdb.usgs.gov/Geolex/geolex_home.html

Learning Web (USGS Science for a Changing World)
http://www.usgs.gov/education/

Missouri State University Department Geography, Geology, & Planning
http://geosciences.missouristate.edu/

compiled by Charlotte Dugan | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007