Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Film Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Film | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

ComAbstracts (Communication Studies)
ComAbstracts, an online publication of Communication Institute for Online Scholarship, contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. No other electronic resources on the World Wide Web provide more comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's scholarship. ComAbstracts has provided continuous service since 1986.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 300 journals. In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.

Media Review Digest (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Reviews of educational media and entertainment resources. Covers approximately 100,000 mediagraphic items, providing comprehensive review coverage of educational media and includes reviews of entertainment resources.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Film literature index
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.Z1 F55

International film index 1895-1990
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998 .I58x 1991 vol. 1-2


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Film as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Film | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Critical Studies in Media Communication

Film Comment

Film Quarterly

Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media

Journal of Mass Media Ethics

Journalism and Communication Monographs

Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly

Mass Communication and Society

Quarterly Review of Film and Video

Quill

Sight and Sound

Velvet Light Trap

Film | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Booker, M. Keith. From box office to ballot box : the American political film. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1995.9.P6 B67 2007

Cartelli, Thomas. New wave Shakespeare on screen. Cambridge : Polity Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PR3093 .C37 2007

Dancyger, Ken. The technique of film and video editing : history, theory, and practice. Amsterdam ; Boston : Focal Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General TR899 .D26 2007

Cinema Taiwan : politics, popularity and state of the arts / edited by Darrell William Davis and Ru-shou Robert Chen. London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1993.5.T28 C56 2007

Donalson, Melvin Burke. Hip hop in American cinema. New York : Peter Lang, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1995.9.H46 D66 2007

Figgis, Mike. Digital filmmaking. New York : Faber and Faber, 2007.
MSU Meyer General TR899 .F48 2007

Flesher, Paul Virgil McCracken. Film & religion : an introduction. Nashville, TN : Abingdon Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1995.5 .F54 2007

Hauer, Rutger. All those moments : stories of heroes, villains, replicants, and Blade Runners. New York : HarperEntertainment, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN2718.H38 A3 2007

Howard, Tony. Women as Hamlet : performance and interpretation in theatre, film and fiction. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PR2807 .H59 2007

Hurbis-Cherrier, Mick. Voice & vision : a creative approach to narrative film and DV production. Amsterdam ; Boston : Focal Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1995.9.P7 H79 2007

Marketing violent entertainment to children / edited by Russell O. Jones. New York : Novinka Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ784.V55 M37 2007

Leab, Daniel J. Orwell subverted : the CIA and the filming of Animal farm. University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1997.A425 L43 2007

Mamet, David. Bambi vs. Godzilla : on the nature, purpose, and practice of the movie business. New York : Pantheon Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1993.5.U6 M244 2007

McClean, Shilo T. Digital storytelling : the narrative power of visual effects in film. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General TR858 .M348 2007

McGowan, Todd. The impossible David Lynch. New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1998.3.L96 M34 2007

Neupert, Richard John. A history of the French new wave cinema. Madison, Wis. : University of Wisconsin Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1993.5.F7 N48 2007

Parish, James Robert. It's good to be the king : the seriously funny life of Mel Brooks. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN2287.B695 P37 2007

Parks, Stacey. The insider's guide to independent film distribution. Amsterdam ; Boston : Focal Press/Elsevier, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1995.9.M29 P37 2007

Purcell, John. Dialogue editing for motion pictures : a guide to the invisible art. Amsterdam ; Boston : Focal Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General TR897 .P7975 2007

Rinzler, J. W. The making of Star Wars : the definitive story behind the original film : based on the lost interviews from the official Lucasfilm archives. New York : Ballantine Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1997.S65943 R56 2007b

Shyles, Leonard. The art of video production. Los Angeles : Sage Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1992.94 .S54 2007

Thompson, Kirsten Moana. Apocalyptic dread : American film at the turn of the millennium. Albany : State University of New York Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1995.9.H6 T47 2007

Troy : from Homer's Iliad to Hollywood epic / edited by Martin M. Winkler. Malden, MA : Blackwell, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1997.2.T78 T78 2007

Twentieth-century American fiction on screen / edited by R. Barton Palmer. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Film | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

American plays and musicals on screen: 650 stage productions and their film and television adaptations
MSU Meyer Ref PS338.M67 H57 2005

Encyclopedia of American independent filmmaking
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .L63 2002

Encyclopedia of early cinema
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of fantastic film: Ali Baba to Zombies
MSU Meyer Ref PN1995.9 .F36 Y68 2000

Encyclopedia of film themes, settings and series
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997 .8.A76 2001

Encyclopedia of novels into film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997.85 .T54 2005

Encyclopedia of stage plays into film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997 .85 .T544 2001

Encyclopedic dictionary of women in early American films, 1895-1930
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998.2 .L686 2005

Enser's filmed books and plays : a list of books and plays from which films have been made, 1928-2001
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997.85 .E55 2003

Fantasy and horror: a critical and historical guide to literature, illustration, film, TV, radio, and the Internet
MSU Meyer Ref Pn56 .F34 Z58 1999

Film encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .K34 2001

Guide to British cinema
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.5.G7 M327 2003

Halliwell’s who’s who in the movies
MSU Meyer Ref PN1993.45 .H323x

International dictionary of broadcasting and film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1990.4 .B64 2000

Women film directors: an international bio-critical dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998.2 .F67 1995

Film | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov

GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/index.html

USA.gov
http://www.usa.gov/

Copyright terms, film labeling, and film preservation legislation: hearings before the Subcommittee on Courts and Intellectual Property of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Fourth Congress, first session, on H.R. 989, H.R. 1248, and H.R. 1734
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US NS 1.13:F48/997

Competition, innovation, and public policy in the digital age : is the marketplace working to protect digital creative works? : hearing before the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, One Hundred Seventh Congress, second session, March 14, 2002
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.J 89/2:S.HRG.107-905 Freely available online.

Editing Hollywood's editors : cleaning flicks for families : hearing before the Subcommittee on Commerce, Trade, and Consumer Protection of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, September 26, 2006
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro  Y 4.C 73/8:109-144 Freely available online.

Family Entertainment and Copyright Act of 2005 : report together with minority views (to accompany S. 167) (including cost estimate of the Congressional Budget Office)
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 1.1/8:109-33/PT.1 Freely available online.

Film & video catalog
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US NS 1.13:F48/997

Intellectual property rights: the music and film industry
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.IN 8/16:IN 8/18

Library of Congress motion pictures, broadcasting, recorded sound : an illustrated guide
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US LC 40.8:M 58

Motion pictures & sound and video recordings in the National Archives
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US AE 1.113:33/994

National Film Preservation Act of 1996
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 1.1/8:104-558/PT.1

Rating entertainment ratings : how well are they working for parents and what can be done to improve them? : hearing before the Committee on Governmental Affairs, United States Senate, One Hundred Seventh Congress, first session, July 25, 2001
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.G 74/9:S.HRG.107-159 Freely available online.

Film | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
http://www.oscars.org

Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers
http://www.amptp.org

American Screenwriters Association
http://www.asascreenwriters.com/

Independent Film & Television Alliance
http://www.ifta-online.org/

Motion Picture Association of America
http://www.mpaa.org/

Screen Actors Guild
http://www.sag.org

Film | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

American Film Institute
http://www.afi.com/

DocuSeek
http://www.docuseek.com

Early Cinema
http://www.earlycinema.com/

Greatest Films
http://www.filmsite.org/

Internet Movie Database
http://us.imdb.com/

Movie Review Query Engine
http://www.mrqe.com/lookup

New York Times Moview Reviews
http://movies.nytimes.com/ref/movies/reviews/index.html

Roger Elbert Movie Reviews
http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/section?category=REVIEWS

ScreenSite
http://www.screensite.org/

Sundance Institute
http://www.sundance.org/

Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2720

Women Make Movies
http://wmm.com/

compiled by Mike Wendt and updated Andrea Miller | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007