Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Fashion Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Fashion | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

Art Full Text (8 user limit--pooled)
Art Full Text indexes and abstracts 425 periodicals dating back to 1984, with full text for 125 periodicals beginning in 1997. In addition to standard areas such as art history, folk art, graphic arts, painting, sculpture, architecture, and pottery, there is also detailed coverage in advertising art, archaeology, costume, film, and textiles. Coverage includes Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.

Emerald eJournal Collection
This e-journal package provides full-text access to 144 journals from Emerald Publishing, with indexing and citation access for yet another 33 titles. Full-text access varies with some journals beginning in 1994 while other titles are in full text only for the past four years. Generally, indexing and citation coverage goes back ten years unless the journal began more recently. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science. Emerald provides a search interface to look for articles by keyword or author. Users can also browse the entire Emerald collection of journals title by title, selecting exact volume and issue and then browse tables of contents.

Gender Studies Database
The Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. GSD covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts provides coverage of the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database contains annotated references to journal articles and other publications on world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. The database contains over half a million citation entries from more than 1,700 periodicals dating from 1954 to the present. In addition, Historical Abstracts includes citations to historical books in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. In 2006, Historical Abstracts began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

LexisNexis Academic Click Sources tab, then select the Industries & Market folder and the Industry Trade Press folder. Select trade press publications you want to search, save as favorites, and click OK.
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Clothing and textile arts index
MSU Meyer Ref TT507 .C6 1980/84 Index


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Fashion as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse

Fashion| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Clothing and Textiles Research Journal

Designer and the Womans Magazine

Esquire

Fashion Theory

Harpers bazaar

International Journal of Clothing Science and Technology

Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management

Marie Claire

Vogue

WWD

Fashion| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Abling, Bina. Fashion sketchbook. New York : Fairchild Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer Folio TT509 .A25 2007

Armstrong, Helen Joseph. Draping for apparel design. New York : Fairchild Publications, c2008.
MSU Meyer General TT520 .A736 2008

Donnellan, John. Merchandise buying and management. New York : Fairchild Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HF5437 .D66 2007

Fashion marketing : contemporary issues / edited by Tony Hines and Margaret Bruce. Amsterdam ; Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HD9940.A2 F373 2007

Garb : a fashion and culture reader / edited by Parme Giuntini and Kathryn Hagen. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2008.
MSU Meyer General TT507 .G37 2008

Heller, Sarah-Grace. Fashion in medieval France. Cambridge ; Rochester, NY : D.S. Brewer, 2007.
MSU Meyer General GT852 .H45 2007

Koda, Harold. Poiret. New York : Metropolitan Museum of Art ; New Haven : Yale University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer Folio TT502 .K64 2007

Lash, Scott. Global culture industry : the mediation of things. Cambridge : Polity, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM626 .L37 2007

Medieval clothing and textiles. Vol. 3 / edited by Robin Netherton and Gale R. Owen-Crocker.
MSU Meyer General GT575 .M423 2007

Rogers, Penelope Walton. Cloth and clothing in early Anglo-Saxon England, AD 450-700. York : Council for British Archaeology, 2007.
MSU Meyer General GT732 .R64 2007

 

Fashion| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Century of women: the most influential events in twentieth-century women's history
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1410 .F44 1999

Complete fashion sourcebook
MSU Meyer Ref GT596 .P393 2005

Contemporary fashion
MSU Meyer Ref TT505.A1 C66 1995

Encyclopedia of American Indian costume
MSU Meyer Ref E98.C8 P37 1994

Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion
MSU Meyer Ref GT507 .E53 2005 Vol. 1-3

Encyclopedia of world costume
MSU Meyer Ref GT507 .Y37

Evolution of fashion: pattern and cut from 1066 to 1930
MSU Meyer Ref GT510 .H5 1967

Fairchild dictionary of fashion
MSU Meyer Ref TT503 .C34 2003

Fashion in history: western dress, prehistoric to present
MSU Meyer Ref GT510 .B47 1979

Fashion terminology
MSU Meyer Ref TT503 .B53 1992

History of twentieth century fashion
MSU Meyer Ref GT596 .E9 1986b

Illustrated encyclopaedia of costume and fashion : from 1066 to the present
MSU Meyer Ref GT720 .C37x 1994

St. James fashion encyclopedia : a survey of style from 1945 to the present
MSU Meyer Ref TT505.A1 S7 1997

Survey of historic costume
MSU Meyer Ref GT580 .T67 1989

20,000 years of fashion : the history of costume and personal adornment
MSU Meyer Ref GT510 .B6713 1987

Who's who in fashion
MSU Meyer Ref TT505.A1 S74 1988

Who's who in fashion. Supplement
MSU Meyer Ref TT505.A1 S74 1988 Suppl.

Fashion| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Departments and Agencies

Department of Commerce
International Trade Administration

Office of Textiles and Apparel
http://otexa.ita.doc.gov/

Federal Trade Commission
http://www.ftc.gov/

National Endowment for the Arts
http://www.nea.gov/

National Endowment of the Humanities
http://www.neh.gov/

World Trade Organization
http://www.wto.org/

Publications

Design arts. [Washington] : National Endowment for the Arts, 1979.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US NF 2.8/2-11:

Library of Congress American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html


Fashion| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Apparel and Footwear Association (AAFA)
http://www.apparelandfootwear.org/

American Fiber Manufacturers Association
http://fibersource.com/

American Sewing Guild
http://www.asg.org/

Association of the Nonwoven Fabrics Industry
http://www.inda.org/

Color Association of the United States
http://www.colorassociation.com/

Costume Society of America
http://www.costumesocietyamerica.com/

Fashion Group International, Inc.
http://newyork.fgi.org/

Fiber Society
http://thefibersociety.org/

International Textile and Apparel Association
http://www.itaaonline.org/

Organic Trade Association (OTA)
http://www.ota.com/index.html

Fashion | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Costume Page
http://costumepage.org/

Costume Site
http://milieux.com/costume/

Fashion Net
http://www.fashion.net/

History of Costume
http://www.siue.edu/COSTUMES/

Lucire: The Global Fashion Magazine
http://www.lucire.com/

Martindale's International Fashion Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/RefFashion.html

Missouri State University' Fashion Program
http://www.missouristate.edu/fid/12510.htm

Style.com
http://www.style.com/

Vogue (offers online editions of Vogue from various countries)
http://www.vogue.co.uk/

Fashion | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Audiovisuals Available at Meyer Library
The links will take you to into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and location in the library.

Abridged history of costume (electronic resource).
MSU Meyer Media Coll Computer disc R499-1

Buying and merchandising fashion [videorecording] / created and written by Ellen Diamond, Jay Diamond. Albany, N.Y. : Delmar Publishers, c1993.
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video cassette N3362

Fashion designers [videorecording] / producer, Stephen J. Abramson ; directed by Charlie Ryan ; writers, Jeff Copeland ... [et al.]. New York, N.Y. : A & E Home Video, c2000.
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video cassette N9229

Fashion frenzy [videorecording] / producer, Melanie Nelson ; writer, Susan Steger-Welsh. [Owatonna, Minn.] : Learning Zone Express, c2002.
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video cassette N9227

Fashion through the ages [videorecording] : the history of costume / producer George H. Russell ; author, Shirley Dye. Huntsville, Tex. : Educational Video Network, c1991.
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video cassette N3705

compiled by Betty Evans | Meyer Library
MSU Libraries | Missouri State University | Updated: December 19, 2007