Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

English Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

English | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Arts and Humanities Search
(AHSearch) (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Indexes selected articles from social science and science journals; indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more.

Columbia Granger's Poetry Database
Columbia Granger's Poetry Database is an online service from Columbia University Press. Granger's was first published in 1904. The online version was begun in 1990. This database currently has nearly 70,000 poems in full text and more than 500,000 poem citations. Also included is bibliographic information for 1,800 anthologies. Supplemental information includes over 1,100 commentaries and some 560 biographies. It also includes bibliographies, notes on form, The Classic Hundred Poems, Guide to Poetry Anthologies, The Top 500 Poems, Dictionary of Poetry Quotations, Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works, Index to African-American Poetry, and the ability to search by author category (Asian-American, Polish, Irish, etc.).

Book Review Digest Plus
Book Review Digest Plus brings together the rich data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and some full-text book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. Those indexes are: Applied Science & Technology Index, Art Index, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Index, General Science Index, Humanities Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, Social Sciences Index, and Business Periodicals Index. Retrospective coverage is provided back to 1983, with excerpts from book reviews for more than 150,000 books (and citations to thousands more). Entries currently encompass some 1,300,000 reviews covering over 550,000 books and grows with daily updates. Every book in Book Review Digest Plus appears with all its review citations together. Reviews must meet a length requirement to be cited, but no attempt is made to control the critical opinion they express. Books in all languages and from all countries qualify to be included if they are reviewed in one of the review sources indexed. The database includes children's books as well as book for adults and young adults.

Daily Life Online (5 user limit)
Daily Life Online's suite of social history products (over 430 titles) is comprised of four separate modules: Daily Life through History, Daily Life Premium, World Folklore and Folklife, and Daily Life America. Combined, these four databases provide a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students. All aspects of daily life are covered: religion, domestic issues, economy, government, recreation, food, clothing, travel, music and dance, tales, myths, urban legends, and other subject areas. Daily Life through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary source documents. Covering all time periods and aspects of world history, this database contains 44 volumes from the Daily Life through History series, as well as six volumes from the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life. Daily Life Premium contains an additional 131 titles, including 41 volumes from the Culture and Customs series, as well as over 45 country history monographs, along with other series on food culture and teen life. World Folklore and Folklife contains over 90 monographs, from general overviews of folklife and folklore to specific folktales. Organized by subject and region/country, World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region or country. Finally, Daily Life America, comprised of 125 monographs, highlights such topics as crime, food, music, and other social and cultural aspects of life in America.

Discovering Collection (3 user limit)
The Discovering Collection, a Gale Research Group publication, is a comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, geography, science and social studies. Included in this full-text database are 25 reference databases/titles, 16,000 biographies, over 13,000 photographs, illustrations, images, audio and video files, over 16,500 Timeline Events, 3,200 plot summaries, 13,000 criticisms, and 18,000 essays and overviews.

Dissertations Abstracts Online (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Provides abstracts for U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses, with coverage from 1861-present.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The MLA Bibliography includes coverage from 1926 to the present.

Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. The Oxford English Dictionary is updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries.

Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains over 1.3 million entries, including definitions, facts, figures, people, places, sayings, and dates from over 170 of Oxford University Press's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. These are all combined in this online service to create one integrated and searchable e-reference book collection. Subjects covered include art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, biological sciences, classics, computing, earth and environmental sciences, economics and business, English dictionaries and thesauri, English language reference, food and drink, history, law, literature, medicine, military history, mythology and folklore, names and places, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social sciences, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science. A complete list of subjects and books covered by Oxford Reference Online is available.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Arts & humanities citation index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .A63

Bibliographic index
MSU Meyer Ref Z1002 .B595

Book review index
MSU Meyer Ref Z1035.A1 B6

Book review digest
MSU Meyer Ref Z1219 .C96

Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies
MSU Meyer Ref PN1022 .H39 1997 

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802-1974
MSU Meyer Ref Z1035 .A1 C58x 1982

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974
MSU Meyer Ref Z1035 .A1 C6x

Essay and general literature index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .E752

Humanities index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .H85

International index : a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .R49

MLA international bibliography of books and articles on the modern languages and literatures
MSU Meyer Ref Z7006 .M64

Pooles’ index to periodical literature
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .P7 1958

Social sciences & humanities index
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .R49 

Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .W45 


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying English as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

English | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Literature

American Poetry Review

Composition Studies

Contemporary Literature

ELH : English Literature History

English Journal

Explicator

Poetry

Southern Poetry Review

Studies in Short Fiction

Studies in the Novel

World Literature Today

English | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Grace, Nancy McCampbell. Jack Kerouac and the literary imagination. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PS3521.E735 Z66 2007

Keshavarz, Fatemeh. Jasmine and stars : reading more than Lolita in Tehran. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PK6413.5.W65 K47 2007

Lane, Rose Wilder. The rediscovered writings of Rose Wilder Lane, literary journalist. Columbia : University of Missouri Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PS3523.A553 A6 2007

Mehta, Brinda J. Rituals of memory : in contemporary Arab women's writing. Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PJ7525.2 .M44 2007

Meyer-Lee, Robert John. Poets and power from Chaucer to Wyatt. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PR317.P6 M49 2007

Morgan, Jo-Ann. Uncle Tom's cabin as visual culture. Columbia : University of Missouri Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PS2954.U6 M67 2007

Murray, Rolland. Our living manhood : literature, Black power, and masculine ideology. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E185.86 .M958 2007

Native Americans and the environment : perspectives on the ecological Indian / edited and with an introduction by Michael E. Harkin and David Rich Lewis ; foreword by Judith Antell ; preface by Brian Hosmer ; afterword by Shepard Krech III. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GF501 .N37 2007

Richardson, Riché. Black masculinity and the U.S. South : from Uncle Tom to gangsta. Athens : University of Georgia Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E185.86 .R537 2007

Simcikova, Karla. To live fully, here and now : the healing vision in the works of Alice Walker. Lanham : Lexington Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PS3573.A425 Z87 2007

Tuerk, Richard Carl. Oz in perspective : magic and myth in the L. Frank Baum books. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2007.
MSU Meyer General PS3503.A923 Z88 2007

Walsh, John Evangelist. The night Casey was born : the true story behind the great American ballad "Casey at the bat". Woodstock, NY : Overlook Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PS3014.T3 Z96 2007

Winter, Molly Crumpton. American narratives : multiethnic writing in the age of realism. Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PS153.M56 W56 2007

Women and medieval epic : gender, genre, and the limits of epic masculinity / edited by Sara S. Poor and Jana K. Schulman. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
MSU Meyer General PN690.W66 W66 2007

Wright, Sarah Bird. Critical companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne : a literary reference to his life and work. New York, NY : Facts On File, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PS1881 .W75 2007

English | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Academic writing : a handbook for international students
MSU Meyer Ref PE1413 .B28 2006

African American poets : lives, works, and sources
MSU Meyer Ref PS153.N5 P48 2002

Annual bibliography of English language and literature
MSU Meyer Ref PE10.Z1 A55

Bartlett's familiar quotations : a collection of passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature
MSU Meyer Ref Desk PN6081 .B27 2002b

Bram Stoker's Dracula : a documentary volume
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x Vol.304

Classical studies : a guide to the reference literature
MSU Meyer Ref PA91.Z1 J4 2006

Contemporary authors : a bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.
MSU Meyer Ref PN771 .C6

Contemporary literary criticism (CLC)
MSU Meyer Ref PN 771 .C62x

Contemporary novelists
MSU Meyer Ref PR883 .C64 1996

Contemporary poets
MSU Meyer Ref PR603 .C6 1996

Critical survey of long fiction
MSU Meyer Ref PN3451.C75 2000

Dictionary of American children's fiction
MSU Meyer Ref PS374.C454H45 2002

Dictionary of literary biography (DLB)
MSU Meyer Ref PN 41 .D45x

Encyclopedia of feminist literature
MSU Meyer Ref PN471 .S58 2006

Encyclopedia of the Harlem literary renaissance
MSU Meyer Ref PS153.N5 B675 2006

Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century
MSU Meyer Ref PN771 .E5 1999

Gothic literature
MSU Meyer Ref PR408.G68 G675 2006

Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism
MSU Meyer Ref PN81 .J554 2005

New Partridge dictionary of slang and unconventional English
MSU Meyer Ref PE3721 .P3 2006

Nineteenth-century literature criticism (NCLC)
MSU Meyer Ref PN 751 .N5

Nobel prize laureates in literature
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x Vol. 329- Vol.331

South Asian writers in English
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x Vol.323

Thematic guide to popular short stories
MSU Meyer Ref PN3373 .S62 2002

Twentieth-century literary criticism (TCLC)
MSU Meyer Ref PN 771 .F27

Twentieth-century Spanish fiction writers
MSU Meyer Ref  PN41 .D45x Vol.322

Writers in Yiddish
MSU Meyer Ref PN41 .D45x Vol.333                   

English | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Literary recordings: a checklist of the archive of recorded poetry and literature in the Library of Congress
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US LC 4.2: L 71/2 

Student-posed questions for literature-based discussion
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US ED 1.302: ST 9/12

Literature fellowships
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US NF 2.16:

National Endowment for the Arts
http://arts.endow.gov/

War, literature, and the arts
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro D 305. 22/3:

English | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Comparative Literature Association
http://www.acla.org/

American Literature Association
http://www.americanliterature.org/

British Comparative Literature Association
http://www.bcla.org/index.htm

Folger Shakespeare Library
http://www.folger.edu

H-Net: Humanities & Social Sciences Online
http://www.h-net.msu.edu/

Modern Language Association
http://www.mla.org/

English | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Celebration of Women Writers. Mary Mark, 1994-
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/

ClassicNote.com by GradeSaver
http://www.gradesaver.com/classicnotes/titles/

Literaryhistory.com
http://www.literaryhistory.com/

Literary Resources on the Net
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/

Mississippi Writers Page
http://www.olemiss.edu/depts/english/ms-writers/

Missouri State University Department of English
http://www.missouristate.edu/English/index.html

Northern Lights Publisher Index
http://www.lights.com/publisher/

Project Gutenberg (E-Texts of classic works)
http://promo.net/pg/

Publishers Weekly Book Bestseller Lists
http://www.publishersweekly.com/

Victorian Women Writers Project
http://www.indiana.edu/~letrs/vwwp/

Voice of the Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/

Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color
http://voices.cla.umn.edu/

Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
http://www.letrs.indiana.edu/web/w/wright2/

Yahoo: Literature
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Literature/

Selected Internet Resources from Meyer Library
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/esl.shtml

Quotations
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/quotations.shtml

Term Paper Help
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/termpap.shtml

Writing
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/termpap.shtml#writing

compiled by Charlotte Dugan | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007