| Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries |
| Reference & Government Information Department |
Economics Pathfinder
Library
research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information
Department
| Economics | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Find Articles and Basic
Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.
To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access
Online Indexes to Articles
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.Business Source Premier - Enhanced Business Searching Interface
This database, an expanded version of Business Source Premier, includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and Country Watch, as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.EconLit
EconLit is the American Economic Association's electronic database providing references to economic research literature. EconLit is the online version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. Examples of publications indexed in EconLit include: Accounting Review, Advances in Macroeconomics, African Finance Journal, American Economist, British Journal of Industrial Relations, Business Economics, Canadian Journal of Development Studies, Harvard Business Review, Journal of Applied Business Research, Marketing Science, Policy, Small Business Economics, Technology Analysis and Strategic Management, etc. EconLit records include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers.JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.LexisNexis Academic - Sources - Topics - Select Economics
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.
Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is the premier reference tool for company financial and business industry information. Provides detailed business information and corporation records on over 12,000 publicly held U.S. and international corporations. Includes individual company stock reports, bond guides, dividend records, earnings guides, mutual fund reports, and S&P's Industry Surveys reports. NetAdvantage also contains a directory of corporation contact information, including directors and executives, and also includes a security dealers directory. NetAdvantage is a powerful research tool giving access to the core Standard & Poor's reference publications in one single interface.STAT-USA (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov/), a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government such as United States economic indicators and statistical releases on U.S. economy; the National Trade Data Bank; foreign investment and marketing research reports and sources & economic reports on countries and regions of the world. Focused data on the United States domestic economy is provided in the State of the Nation portion of STAT-USA, while the Globus & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) section provides international trade and foreign country market information. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library in GLOBUS/NTDB is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade.
Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.Business periodicals index
MSU Meyer Ref Z7164.C81 B983International bibliography of economics Bibliographie internationale de science économique.
MSU Meyer Ref HB1.A1 Z63xIndex of economic articles in journals and collective volumes
MSU Meyer Ref Z7164.E2 I48
PAIS international in print
MSU Meyer Ref JX71.Z1P83x
General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Economics as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse
| Economics | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Selected Journals in
the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet
which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic,
print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online,
or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This
is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University
Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular
title, then use TDNet
as your starting point.
Economic Development Quarterly
Journal of Economics and Business
Journal of International Economics
Quarterly Journal of Economics
Regional Science and Urban Economics
Review of Economics and Statistics
| Economics | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Recent Books in the
Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State
Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The
citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to
arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number
to browse the shelf for similar materials.
China's reforms
and international political economy / edited by David
Zweig and Chen Zhimin. London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HC427.92
.C46548 2007
DesJardins,
Joseph R. Business,
ethics, and the environment : imagining a sustainable future. Upper Saddle
River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HC79.E5
D4638 2007
Holcombe,
Randall G. Public
sector economics : the role of government in the American economy. Upper
Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Education, c2006.
MSU Meyer General HJ257.2
.H653 2006
Inside the economist's
mind : conversations with eminent economists / edited by Paul A. Samuelson
and William A. Barnett. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General HB76
.I57 2007
Levitt,
Steven D. Freakonomics
: a rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything. New York : William
Morrow, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HB74.P8
L479 2005
Luderer,
Bernd. Mathematical
formulas for economists. Berlin ; New York : Springer, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HB135
.L83 2005
Mastrianna, Frank V. Basic
economics. Mason, Ohio : Thomson/South-Western, c2004.
MSU Meyer General HB171.5 .M43 2004
Mishan,
E. J. (Edward J.). Cost-benefit
analysis. London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.
Neugeboren,
Robert H. The student's
guide to writing economics. New York ; London : Routledge, 2005.
MSU Meyer General PE1479.E35
N48 2005
The origins
of development economics : how schools of economic thought have addressed
development / edited by Jomo K.S., Erik S. Reinert. London ; New York : Zed
; New York : Distributed in the USA exclusively by Palgrave, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD78
.O75 2005
Restoring fiscal
sanity 2007 : the health spending challenge / edited by Alice
M. Rivlin and Joseph R. Antos. Washington, D.C. : Brookings Institution Press,
c2007.
MSU Meyer General RA410.53
.R488 2007
Salvatore,
Dominick. Managerial
economics in a global economy. New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HD30.22
.S247 2007
Von
Mises, Ludwig. Theory
and history : an interpretation of social and economic evolution. Indianapolis,
Ind. : Liberty Fund, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HB71
.V64 2005
| Economics | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reference Books at
Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries
catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call
number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials
are non-circulating items.
Dictionary of
financial terms
MSU Meyer Ref HG151 .M66 2007
Dictionary of
U.S. government statistical terms
MSU Meyer Ref Desk Z1223.Z7 D54x 1991
Elsevier's dictionary
of financial and economic terms : Spanish-English and English-Spanish
MSU Meyer Ref HG151 .U75 1996
Encyclopedia
of law and economics
MSU Meyer Ref K487.E3 E53 2000 5 Volumes
Everyman's dictionary of economics
MSU Meyer Ref HB61
.S39 2005
Fortune encyclopedia
of economics
MSU Meyer Ref HB61 .F67 1993
Gale encyclopedia of
US economic history
MSU Meyer Ref HC102 .G35 1999
Illustrated
book of world rankings
MSU Meyer Ref HA155.K87 2001
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia
of economics
MSU Meyer Ref HB61 .E55 1994
New Palgrave
dictionary of economics and the law
MSU Meyer Ref K487.E3 N48x 1998 3 Volumes
North
American industry classification system
MSU Meyer Ref HF 1042 .N67 2002
One hundred years of
economic statistics: United Kingdom, United States of America, Australia, Canada,
France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Sweden
MSU Meyer Ref HC106 .L68 1989
Oxford dictionary
for international business
MSU Meyer Ref HF1001 .O96 1998
Worldmark encyclopedia
of the nations
MSU Meyer Ref G63 .W67 2001 6 Volumes
| Economics | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Government Sources
& Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in
the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.
DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international
government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri
State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm
USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov
GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (Dept. of Commerce)
http://www.bea.gov/
Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs (Dept.
of State)
http://www.state.gov/www/issues/economic/us_trade.html
Congressional Budget Office
http://www.cbo.gov/
Council of Economic Advisors
http://www.whitehouse.gov/cea/
National Economic Council
http://www.whitehouse.gov/nec/
Economic Indicators
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Y 4.Ec 7: Ec
7/ Freely available
online.
Handbook of International
Economic Statistics
MSU Meyer Gov Docs PREX 3.16: Freely
available online.
Statistical Abstract
MSU Meyer Gov Docs C 3.134 Freely
available online.
Most recent editions at MSU Meyer Reference & Government Information Desk.
| Economics | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.
General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/
American Economic Association
http://www.aeaweb.org/aea_home_fr.html
Association for Evolutionary Economics
http://www.orgs.bucknell.edu/afee/
Association for Social Economics
http://www.socialeconomics.org/
Business and Economics Society International
http://www.besiweb.com/
Canadian Economics Association
http://economics.ca/
Economic Policy Institute
http://www.epinet.org/
Missouri Valley Economics Association
http://ecedweb.unomaha.edu/mvea.htm
National Bureau of Economic Research
http://www.nber.org/
Society of Government Economists
http://sge-econ.org/
| Economics | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information
on the Internet.
Hieros Gamos Economic Links
http://www.hg.org/econom.html
Inomics (economics search engine)
http://www.inomics.com/
Internet Resources for Economists
http://www.oswego.edu/~economic/econweb.htm
Law and Economics Links from the University
of Chicago
http://www.law.uchicago.edu/Lawecon/links.html
Missouri State University Department of Economics
http://www.missouristate.edu/econ/econmain.htm
Yahoo! Economics Links
http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Economics/
compiled by Douglas
Stehle and updated by Tammy Stewart |
Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July
2007