Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Defense & Strategic Studies Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Defense & Strategic Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

ArticleFirst (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
This database is produced by the Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) and is located on FirstSearch. It gives citations to articles from the contents pages of journals. Coverage is from 1990 to present and includes articles from over 16, 000 general topic sources, including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Each record describes the source for one article from a journal or magazine and provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.

CQ Researcher
Published by Congressional Quarterly, CQ Researcher provides analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. With online coverage from 1991 to present, it features lengthy (15-20 page) reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports.

Current Geographical Publications
Published by the American Geographical Society (AGS), Current Geographical Publications is a bibliography (citations only) of additions to the collections of the American Geographical Society Library. This includes references to books, periodical articles, pamphlets, government documents, maps, and atlases. The references are arranged in accordance with the classification scheme used by the AGS Library Research Catalog. The four sections in each issue are: Topical, Regional, Maps/Atlases, and Selected Books. Online coverage is 1985 – present. Meyer Library has Current Geographical Publications in print back to volume 61, 1968.

Emerald eJournal Collection
This e-journal package provides full-text access to 144 journals from Emerald Publishing, with indexing and citation access for yet another 33 titles. Full-text access varies with some journals beginning in 1994 while other titles are in full text only for the past four years. Generally, indexing and citation coverage goes back ten years unless the journal began more recently. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science. Emerald provides a search interface to look for articles by keyword or author. Users can also browse the entire Emerald collection of journals title by title, selecting exact volume and issue and then browse tables of contents.

Facts.com
This e-journal package provides full-text access to 144 journals from Emerald Publishing, with indexing and citation access for yet another 33 titles. Full-text access varies with some journals beginning in 1994 while other titles are in full text only for the past four years. Generally, indexing and citation coverage goes back ten years unless the journal began more recently. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science. Emerald provides a search interface to look for articles by keyword or author. Users can also browse the entire Emerald collection of journals title by title, selecting exact volume and issue and then browse tables of contents.

Gender Studies Database (5 user limit)
The Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. GSD covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts provides coverage of the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database contains annotated references to journal articles and other publications on world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. The database contains over half a million citation entries from more than 1,700 periodicals dating from 1954 to the present. In addition, Historical Abstracts includes citations to historical books in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. In 2006, Historical Abstracts began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

MasterFILE Premier
"Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags."

Military & Government Collection
This is EBSCOHOST’s full-text database containing current news pertaining to all branches of the military and non-military areas, including areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy, international affairs and much more. The database covers a collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies providing cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. The Military & Government Collection database includes coverage from 1975 to the present.

Oxford Reference Online (5 user limit)
Oxford Reference Online contains over 1.3 million entries, including definitions, facts, figures, people, places, sayings, and dates from over 170 of Oxford University Press's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. These are all combined in this online service to create one integrated and searchable e-reference book collection. Subjects covered include art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, biological sciences, classics, computing, earth and environmental sciences, economics and business, English dictionaries and thesauri, English language reference, food and drink, history, law, literature, medicine, military history, mythology and folklore, names and places, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social sciences, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science. A complete list of subjects and books covered by Oxford Reference Online is available.

PAIS International
This database chronicles global public policy and social issues from 3,600 sources and contains over 480,000 records from 1972 to date. Meyer Library also has this index in print from Vol. 1, 1915 -- , located at Ref. JX 71 .Z1 P83x. Online Version of PAIS is available ONLY to current Missouri State University students and faculty at the Meyer Library Reference Desk with assistance from librarian.

ProceedingsFirst (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Proceedings is an OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings. The database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre and contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. The Proceedings database contains over 169,000 records and includes coverage from 1993 to the present.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (5 user limit)
Reader’s Guide Retrospective contains more than 3 million citations to articles in 375 general interest periodicals published between 1890-1982, making it an ideal tool for primary and secondary source material ranging from the dawn of the 20th century through two world wars and the Great Depression up to the 1980’s. A large number of the magazines indexed by the Reader’s Guide Retrospective are held by Meyer Library in print or microformat. This is the online version of the well-known and respected Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature from H.W. Wilson up to 1982.

Scitation
Scitation is a database/platform for researching physics as well as chemistry, materials science, and engineering. It contains the SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) which includes citations and abstracts to articles from 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and its member societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling over 1.5 million article citations. Scitation allows you to search for articles only in SPIN, or only in Scitation, or in both. MSU students, faculty, and staff have full text access to the AIP material to which we subscribe.

Social Work Abstracts
A starting point for literature searches in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage dating back to 1966 for over 450 U.S. and international social work and human services journals. Coverage also includes books and dissertations in social work and related disciplines. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database contains more than 58,000 citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, mental health, civil and legal rights, and substance abuse.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

SPORTDiscus (8 user limit)
SPORTDiscus, provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Indexed are articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals and magazines, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, video and audio tapes, and book reviews. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, including bibliographic coverage for over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

UN Official Documents System (ODS)
The United Nations Official Documents System (ODS) is the electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. The full text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the UN. Documents are stored in two databases: United Nations documentation, with comprehensive coverage beginning in 1993 and selected earlier coverage, and United Nations resolutions, which includes the official records version of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946. Information on how to search for documents is available from extensive HELP files or by clicking on any of the field names on the search forms. The Useful links page provides access to essential tools that can be helpful in searching for United Nations documentation. It is easiest to use other resources to identify the symbols of the requested documents (e.g., printed indexes found in DOC REF UN, UNBISNETat http://unbisnet.un.org/ , or UN-I-QUE at http://lib-unique.un.org/lib/unique.nsf, using ODS as electronic stacks and approaching it with a list of classification symbols (call numbers) to submit for documentation retrieval.

UN Treaty Collection
A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. Accessible only from library workstations in the Meyer Library. The UN Treaty Collection includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. The collection currently contains over 50,000 treaties and a similar number of related subsequent actions which have been published in hard copy in over 2,100 volumes. The treaty reference information made available for the UNTS at this site corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered up to April 1998. The complete text of treaties corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered approximately up to August 2001. Currently, the database is being expanded at the rate of over 100 new volumes per year.

UNBISnet
UNBISnet is a catalogue of UN publications and documentation indexed by the United Nations Dag Hammarskjold Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjold Library. UNBISnet coverage is primarily from 1979 to the present; however, indexing for resolutions of the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, Security Council and Trusteeship Council are included back to 1945. Also covered are: the voting records for all resolutions which were adopted - either without a vote or by roll-call or recorded vote - by the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-); and citations to speeches made in the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-), the Security Council beginning with its 38th year (1983-), the Economic and Social Council beginning in 1983 and the Trusteeship Council beginning with its 15th special session (1982).

USA.gov
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

World News Connection (WNC)
World News Connection (WNC) is an online foreign news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Most of the articles included in WNC are in full-text format, and coverage ranges from 1996 to present. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, this information is available within 24-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. The material in WNC is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum between 1975 and 2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO from 1984 to 2000. As of August 2005 approximately 1,510 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States. Furthermore, the references cited in the bibliography of the source article have been included for citations to core journals in political science, added to the database since 2001, and for all journals added since 2004. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Major areas of coverage include: comparative politics, developing nations, disarmament, economic policy, electoral systems, environmental policy, government/political systems, history and theory of political science, international relations/trade, labor relations, military policy, methodology and research technology, political behavior, political economy, political psychology, politics and law, politics and communication, politics and religion, politics and society, public administration, security and defense, and welfare systems.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Columbia Gazetteer of the World is a geographical dictionary of places and locations published by Columbia University Press. Its entries include information on demography, physical geography, political boundaries, industry, trade, and service activities. The length of the articles varies from brief notations to essay length articles. Coverage reflects developments of the past half century. The Columbia Gazetteer can be searched by Type of Place, Name Search, and Word Search.

LexisNexis Congressional
(NOTE: As of June 30, 2008, this index will no longer be available. Please go to THOMAS in the database listings or at http://www.thomas.gov/). Lexis-Nexis Congressional contains indexing, with some full text, for congressional materials from 1789 to present, specifically committee hearings and prints, as well as serial set reports and document. Other full-text materials include bills (1989-present), public laws (1988-present), Congressional Record (1985-present), and the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations (1981-present). Congressional actions, including bill tracking (1989-present), floor votes (1988-present), and legislative histories (1969-present) are also included. The database also contains political news from the past 20 years, as well as current hot topics in the political arena.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Accounting as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Defense & Strategic Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Armed Forces and Society

Diplomatic History

Foreign Affairs

Foreign Policy

International Affairs

International Economic Review

International Peacekeeping

International Security

Jane's Defence Weekly

Jane's Intelligence Review

NATO Review

Proceedings of the United States Naval Institute

Security dialogue

World Affairs

Defense & Strategic Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Abraham Lincoln : the observations of John G. Nicolay and John Hay / edited by Michael Burlingame. Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E457.15 .A155 2007

Adejumobi, Saheed A. The history of Ethiopia. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DT381 .A45 2007

Allison, William Thomas. Military justice in Vietnam : the rule of law in an American war. Lawrence, Kan. : University Press of Kansas, c2007.
MSU Meyer General KF7620 .A949 2007

Carlisle, Rodney P. World War I. New York : Facts On File, Inc., c2007.
MSU Meyer General D521 .C4355 2007

Chafe, William Henry. The unfinished journey : America since World War II. New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E743 .C43 2007

Confer, Clarissa W. The Cherokee nation in the Civil War. Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E99.C5 C713 2007

D'Souza, Dinesh. The enemy at home : the cultural left and its responsibility for 9/11. New York : Doubleday, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E902 .D76 2007

Engel, Jeffrey A. Cold War at 30,000 feet : the Anglo-American fight for aviation supremacy. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E183.8.G7 E49 2007

Fisher, Marc. Something in the air : radio, rock, and the revolution that shaped a generation. New York : Random House, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HE8698 .F47 2007

Frankel, Robert Perry. Observing America : the commentary of British visitors to the United States, 1890-1950. Madison, Wis. : University of Wisconsin Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E169.1 .F828 2007

Isserman, Maurice. America divided : the civil war of the 1960s . New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
1 copy ordered for MSU Meyer General on 03-21-2007.

Jacobson, Gary C. A divider, not a uniter : George W. Bush and the American people : the 2006 election and beyond. New York : Pearson Longman, c2008.
MSU Meyer General E902 .J33 2008

McPherson, James M. This mighty scourge : perspectives on the Civil War. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E468 .M24 2007

Meisler, Stanley. Kofi Annan : a man of peace in a world of war. Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley & Sons, c2007.
MSU Meyer General D839.7.A56 M45 2007

Mohamedou, Mohammad-Mahmoud. Understanding Al Qaeda : the transformation of war. London ; Ann Arbor, MI : Pluto, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6432.5.Q2 M64 2007

Moss, Todd J. African development : making sense of the issues and actors.Boulder : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HC800 .M6775 2007

Mueller, Doris Land. M. Jeff Thompson : Missouri's swamp fox of the Confederacy. Columbia : University of Missouri Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E467.1.T47 M84 2007

O'Hara, Vincent P. The U.S. Navy against the Axis : surface combat, 1941-1945. Annapolis, Md. : Naval Institute Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General D773 .O35 2007

Perret, Geoffrey. Commander in chief : how Truman, Johnson, and Bush turned a presidential power into a threat to America's future. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E745 .P395 2007

Silbey, David. A war of frontier and empire : the Philippine-American war, 1899-1902. New York : Hill and Wang, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DS679 .S57 2007

Sociology in America : a history / edited by Craig Calhoun. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM477.U6 S63 2007

Troy : from Homer's Iliad to Hollywood epic / edited by Martin M. Winkler. Malden, MA : Blackwell, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN1997.2.T78 T78 2007

Tyner, James A. America's strategy in Southeast Asia : from the Cold War to the Terror War. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield, c2007.
MSU Meyer General DS526.7 .T79 2007

Wheelan, Joseph. Invading Mexico : America's continental dream and the Mexican War, 1846-1848. New York : Carroll & Graf, 2007.
MSU Meyer General E404 .W44 2007

Defense & Strategic Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Brassey's encyclopedia of military history and biography
MSU Meyer Ref. U24 .B73 1994

Chronological history of U.S. foreign relations
MSU Meyer Ref E183.7.B745 2003 3volumes.

Civil liberties in America : a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref KF4749.W35 2004

Crimes of war: what the public should know
MSU Meyer Ref. K 5301 .C75 1999

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy
MSU Meyer Ref E 183.7 .E52 2002

Encyclopedia of modern American extremists and extremist groups
MSU Meyer Ref HN90.R3A75 2002

Encyclopedia of terrorism (Sage Publications)
MSU Meyer Ref HV6431. C65 2002

Encyclopedia of terrorism (Fatcs on File)
MSU Meyer Ref HV 6431 .K883 2003

Encyclopedia of world terrorism
MSU Meyer Ref HV6431.E53 2003

International military and defense encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref. U24 .I58 1993

Major peace treaties of modern history / introductory essays by Arnold B. Toynbee, Hans J. Morgenthau, George J. Mitchell ; editor, Fred L. Israel ; associate editor, Michael P. Kelly ; commentaries, Emanuel Chill
MSU Meyer Ref KZ184.2 .I8 2002

Military geography for professionals and the public
MSU Meyer Ref. UA 990 .C554 1998

Terrorism 1996-2001: a chronology
MSU Meyer Ref HV 6431 .M4992 2002

U.S. intelligence community
MSU Meyer Ref. JK 468 .I6 R53 1999

Defense & Strategic Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


USA.gov : Whatever you want or need from the U.S. government, it's here on USA.gov. You'll find a rich treasure of online information, services and resources.
http://www.usa.gov/

Defense & Strategic Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Federation of American Scientists Intelligence Resource Program
http://www.fas.org/irp/

International Policy Institute for Counter-Terrorism
http://www.ict.org.il/

Terrorism Library
http://www.terrorismlibrary.com/

Terrorism Research Center
http://www.terrorism.com/

UN Action Against Terrorism
http://www.un.org/terrorism/

Defense & Strategic Studies | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Center for Defense Information
http://www.cdi.org/

Center for Global Security and Democracy
http://www.cgsd.rutgers.edu/

Defense Department
http://www.defenselink.mil/

Defense & Strategic Studies Links
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/bymajor.shtml

Missouri State University Department of Defense and Strategic Studies
http://www.missouristate.edu/dss/

compiled by Edward DeLong | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July 2007