Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Communication Sciences & Disorders Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Communication Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.

Alt HealthWatch
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers researchers an immediate resource of full text articles from more than 180 international and often peer reviewed journals, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

ArticleFirst (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
This database is produced by the Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) and is located on FirstSearch. It gives citations to articles from the contents pages of journals. Coverage is from 1990 to present and includes articles from over 16, 000 general topic sources, including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Each record describes the source for one article from a journal or magazine and provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts serves as an index to articles in over 4,000 scientific serials from the biological science areas. The database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969. Topics covered include botany, pharmacology, biochemistry, microbiology, and evolutionary ecology, genetics, and more. It is produced by Biological Abstracts, Inc. (BIOSIS), a not-for-profit organization that has served as a link between the life science community and worldwide biological research for over 70 years.

CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.

ComAbstracts
ComAbstracts, an online publication of Communication Institute for Online Scholarship, contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. No other electronic resources on the World Wide Web provide more comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's scholarship. ComAbstracts has provided continuous service since 1986.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 300 journals. In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.

ECO - Electronic Collections Online (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
The OCLC Electronic Collections Online (ECO) database is a collection of scholarly journals, with over 5,400 sources. It includes bibliographic information for all journals, and lets you view abstracts and full-text articles from journals to which Missouri State subscribes. ECO is multi-disciplinary in its subject areas, and coverage extends from 1995 to present.

Education Full Text
Education Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage of articles from over 350 journals ranges as far back as 1996. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Subject areas indexed include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education. The paper version of this index covers the field back to 1929, much further than any of the current on-line educational indexes.

Encyclopedia of Disability
The online version of the Encyclopedia of Disability embraces five volumes that improve the reader's understanding and appreciation of the world of disability: Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a Reader's Guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability. This encyclopedia includes contributions from more than 500 scholars who have written over 1,000 entries in an effort to bring students and researchers closer to the experience of disability.

Encyclopedia of Gerontology
This online version of the revised, two-volume Encyclopedia of Gerontology (2007 ed.) provides a reference source for identifying major areas of investigation and knowledge on the biology, psychology and sociology of aging, in addition to covering how aging is depicted in the humanities. The articles touch upon the many and varied aspects of research in gerontology, from the genetics and biology of aging, to issues of daily life: the workplace, family life, retirement, health care, social security and pensions. Each of the 180 articles provides depth and breadth of coverage, including theory and summaries of empirical findings. Articles also contain a definition paragraph, describing the subject at hand, a glossary of unfamiliar terms, and a bibliography of suggested readings. Search terms can be truncated (psych* for psychology or psychological).

ERIC
ERIC is the research database and information system for the field of education. It is produced by the Educational Resources Information Center. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the National Library of Education (NLE). The database contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC Documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database provides searchable full text for nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals. This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Topics include medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. This database also contains Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

MasterFILE Premier
"Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags."

MEDLINE
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

PapersFirst (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
PapersFirst, from OCLC, is an index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. It covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Coverage is 1993 to the present, and the database is updated twice a month.

ProceedingsFirst (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Proceedings is an OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings. The database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre and contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. The Proceedings database contains over 169,000 records and includes coverage from 1993 to the present.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".

Scitation
Scitation is a database/platform for researching physics as well as chemistry, materials science, and engineering. It contains the SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) which includes citations and abstracts to articles from 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and its member societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling over 1.5 million article citations. Scitation allows you to search for articles only in SPIN, or only in Scitation, or in both. MSU students, faculty, and staff have full text access to the AIP material to which we subscribe.

Social Work Abstracts
A starting point for literature searches in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage dating back to 1966 for over 450 U.S. and international social work and human services journals. Coverage also includes books and dissertations in social work and related disciplines. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database contains more than 58,000 citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, mental health, civil and legal rights, and substance abuse.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library (2 user limit)
STAT!Ref is an easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals. It is a collection of clinically-oriented health sciences ready reference e-books. The collection provides convenient access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions. The titles can be browsed, searched individually, or multiple titles can be searched at the same time.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Communication abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref P87 .C59733

Index to journals in communication studies
MSU Meyer Ref P87.Z1 M38

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts : LLBA
MSU Meyer Ref P121.Z1 L15


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Communication Sciences as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Communication Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Annals of the Deaf

Audiology

Ear, Nose & Throat Journal

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research : JSLHR

Otology & Neurotology

Sign Language Studies

Topics in Language Disorders

Communication Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Auditory processing disorders : assessment, management and treatment / edited by Donna Geffner and Deborah Ross-Swain. San Diego : Plural Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC394.W63 A94 2007

Augmentative communication strategies for adults with acute or chronic medical conditions / edited by David R. Beukelman, Kathryn L. Garrett, and Kathryn M. Yorkston. Baltimore : Paul H. Brookes Pub. Co., c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Clark, Morag. A practical guide to quality interaction with children who have a hearing loss. San Diego, CA : Plural Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RF291.5.C45 C553 2007

The clinician's guide to treating cleft palate speech / edited by Sally J. Peterson-Falzone. . . [et al.]. St. Louis, Mo. : Mosby/Elsevier, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RD525 .P47 2006

Differential diagnosis and treatment of children with speech disorder / edited by Barbara Dodd. London ; Philadelphia : Whurr, 2005.
MSU Meyer General RJ496.S7 D54 2005

Dollaghan, Christine A. The handbook for evidence-based practice in communication disorders. Baltimore : Paul H. Brookes Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC423 .D65 2007

Duffy, Joseph R. Motor speech disorders : substrates, differential diagnosis, and management. St. Louis, Mo. : Elsevier Mosby, c2005.
MSU Meyer General RC423 .D84 2005

Dwight, Debra M. Here's how to do therapy : hands-on care skills in speech-language pathology. San Diego : Plural Pub., 2006.
MSU Meyer General RC428 .D95 2006

Educating children with velo-cardio-facial syndrome / edited by Donna Cutler-Landsman. San Diego : Plural Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RB155.5 .E38 2007

Foundations of pediatric audiology : identification and assessment / edited by Fred H. Bess and Judith S. Gravel. San Diego, CA : Plural Pub., c2006.
MSU Meyer General RF291.5.C45 F682 2006

Handbook of (central) auditory processing disorder / edited by Frank E. Musiek, Gail D. Chermak. San Diego, CA : Plural Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC394.W63 H362 2007

Hegde, M. N. (Mahabalagiri N.). Treatment protocols for language disorders in children. San Diego, CA : Plural, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RJ496.S7 H43 2006

Holland, Audrey L. Counseling in communication disorders : a wellness perspective. San Diego : Plural Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC428.8 .H6673 2007

Introduction to clinical methods in communication disorders / edited by Rhea Paul and Paul W. Cascella ; with invited contributors. Baltimore : Paul H. Brookes Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC423 .I545 2007

Kahn, Alice. Waardenburg syndrome. San Diego : Plural Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General RF292 .K34 2007

Maxwell, David L. Research and statistical methods in communication sciences and disorders. Boston, MA : Thomson/Delmar Learning, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC423 .M3698 2006

Meline, Timothy J. Research in communication sciences and disorders : methods--applications--evaluation. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Education, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC337 .M45 2006

Møller, Aage R. Hearing : anatomy, physiology, and disorders of the auditory system. Amsterdam ; Boston : Academic Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RF290 .M58 2006

Multilayered transcription / edited by Nicole Müller. San Diego : Plural Pub., c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC423 .M69 2006

Pannbacker, Mary H. Clinical research in speech-language pathology and audiology. San Diego, Calif. ; Abingdon : Plural, 2007.
1 copy ordered for MSU Meyer General on 03-22-2007.

Pharmacology and ototoxicity for audiologists / edited by Kathleen C.M. Campbell. Clifton Park, NY : Thomson/Delmar Learning, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RF285.O83 P453 2007

Schiavetti, Nicholas. Evaluating research in communicative disorders. Boston : Allyn & Bacon, 2006.
MSU Meyer General RC423 .V45 2006

Screen, Robert Martin. HIV, substance abuse, and communication disorders in children. New York : Haworth Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RJ520.P74 S3744 2007

Teaching students with special needs in inclusive settings / edited by Tom E.C. Smith ... [et al.]. Boston : Pearson, c2008.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Trimble, Michael R. The soul in the brain : the cerebral basis of language, art, and belief. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QP376 .T75 2007

Vaughn, Sharon. Teaching exceptional, diverse, and at-risk students in the general education classroom. Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c2006.
MSU Meyer General LC3981 .V28 2006

Communication Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Audiologists' desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref RF294 .H32 1997 v.1-2

Childhood disorders diagnostic desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref RJ50.C483 2003

Disability express: travel and disability resource directory
MSU Meyer Ref HV 1568.6.D57 2000

Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness
MSU Meyer Ref HV2365 .G35 1987

Illustrated dictionary of speech-language pathology
MSU Meyer Ref RC423 .S533 2000

Quick reference to speech-language pathology
MSU Meyer Ref RC423 .P665 1999

Random House Webster's American sign language computer dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref HV2475 .C6623 2001

Communication Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Ear infections [microform] : facts for parents about otitis media.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs HE 20.3652:EA 7

Handbook of hearing aid measurement / Auditory Research Laboratory, Central Audiology and Speech Pathology Program, VA Medical Center [and] Center for Medical Engineering and Process Technology, National Bureau of Standards [and] Biocommunications Laboratory, Catholic University
MSU Meyer Gov Docs VA 1.22/3:

Hearing aid marketplace: is the consumer adequately protected? : hearing before the Special Committee on Aging, United States Senate, One Hundred Third Congress, first session, Washington, DC, September 15, 1993
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Y 4.AG 4: S.HRG.103-361

Speech & Language... Developmental Milestones... U.S. Department Of Health & Human Services
MSU Meyer Gov Docs HE 20.3652:SP 3

Supporting families of children with special needs / Parents as Teachers National Center, Inc. and Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
MSU Meyer Gov Docs ED .SP 2:SU7/2

Communication Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
http://www.asha.org/

Aphasia Hope Foundation
http://www.aphasiahope.org/

Childhood Apraxia of Speech Association
http://www.apraxia-kids.org/

Cleft Palate Foundation
http://www.cleftline.org/

Cochlear Implant Association, Inc.
http://www.wici.org/

Council on Education of the Deaf (CED)
http://www.deafed.net/PageText.asp?hdnPageId=58

Hollins Communication Research Institute
http://stuttering.org

International Society for Augmentative and Alternative Communication
http://www.isaac-online.org/en/home.shtml

National Student Speech Language Hearing Association (NSSLHA)
http://www.nsslha.org/nsslha/

National Stuttering Association
http://www.nsastutter.org/

Speech-Language Pathology Resources
http://www.herring.org/speech.html

Stuttering Foundation of America
http://www.stutteringhelp.org/

Wide Smiles: The Cleft Lip, Cleft Palate and Craniofacial Deformities Resources Site
http://www.widesmiles.org/

What is Stuttering from ASHA
http://www.asha.org/public/speech/disorders/stuttering.htm

Communication Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Brock University Stuttering Research Lab
http://www.brocku.ca/stutter/srlab.html

Deafness & Hard of Hearing Information from About.com
http://deafness.about.com

Deafness Research Foundation
http://www.drf.org/

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov

Net Connections for Communication Disorders and Sciences
http://www.mnsu.edu/comdis/kuster2/library.html

NIDCD Information on Stuttering
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/health/voice/stutter.asp

Otorhinolaryngologic Disease
http://www.mic.ki.se/Diseases/c9.html

Missouri State University Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
http://www.missouristate.edu/csd/

Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI)
http://seriweb.com

Speech Pathology Resources
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/speech.html

Stuttering Home Page
http://www.stutteringhomepage.com

Virtual Medical Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/Medical.html

compiled by Edward DeLong | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July 2007