| Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries |
| Reference & Government Information Department |
Counseling
Pathfinder
Library
research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information
Department
| Counseling | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Find Articles and Basic
Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.
To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access
Online Indexes to Articles
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.Education Full Text on WilsonWeb
Education Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage of articles from over 350 journals ranges as far back as 1996. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Subject areas indexed include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education. The paper version of this index covers the field back to 1929, much further than any of the current on-line educational indexes.ERIC
ERIC is the research database and information system for the field of education. It is produced by the Educational Resources Information Center. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the National Library of Education (NLE). The database contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC Documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.MEDLINE
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".Social Work Abstracts
A starting point for literature searches in social work and social welfare, Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage dating back to 1966 for over 450 U.S. and international social work and human services journals. Coverage also includes books and dissertations in social work and related disciplines. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database contains more than 58,000 citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, mental health, civil and legal rights, and substance abuse.SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, containing over 1,800 entries/3.5 million words, is an essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in the broad field of sociology. It provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. This resource contains materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge, including introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe. While focused broadly in sociology, this encyclopedia touches on a wide range of disciplines such as criminology, ethnography, gender studies, gerontology, psychology, and social work.STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library (2 user limit)
STAT!Ref is an easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals. It is a collection of clinically-oriented health sciences ready reference e-books. The collection provides convenient access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions. The titles can be browsed, searched individually, or multiple titles can be searched at the same time.
General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Counseling as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse
| Counseling | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Selected Journals in
the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet
which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic,
print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online,
or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This
is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University
Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular
title, then use TDNet
as your starting point.
American Journal of Family Therapy
Community Mental Health Journal
Counselor Education and Supervision
Journal for Specialists in Group Work
Journal of Counseling and Development
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Journal of Humanistic Counseling, Education and Development
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Journal of Offender Rehabilitation
Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling & Development
Professional School Counseling
| Counseling | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Recent Books in the
Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State
Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The
citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to
arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number
to browse the shelf for similar materials.
Bromfield,
Richard. Doing
child and adolescent psychotherapy : adapting psychodynamic treatment to contemporary
practice. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RJ504
.B753 2007
Brown,
Sandra L. Counseling
victims of violence : a handbook for helping professionals. Alameda, CA :
Hunter House, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6250.3.U5
B76 2007
Case studies in
school counseling / edited by Larry B. Golden and Patricia
Henderson. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/ Merrill/Prentice Hall, c2007.
MSU Meyer General LB1027.5
.C3965 2007
Dollarhide,
Colette T. Comprehensive
school counseling programs : K-12 delivery systems in action. Boston : Pearson/Allyn
and Bacon, c2008.
MSU Meyer General LB1027.5
.D55 2008
Handbook for
social justice in counseling psychology : leadership, vision, and action /
edited by Rebecca L. Toporek ... [et al.]. Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications,
c2006.
MSU Meyer General BF637.C6
H3115 2006
Handbook of
cognitive-behavior group therapy with children and adolescents : specific
settings and presenting problems / edited by Ray W. Christner,
Jessica L. Stewart, Arthur Freeman. New York : Routledge, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RJ505.C63
H3644 2007
Kase, Larina. Anxiety
disorders. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC531
.K38 2007
Okun,
Barbara F. Effective
helping : interviewing and counseling techniques. Pacific Grove, CA : Thomson
Brooks/Cole, c2008.
MSU Meyer General BF637.C6
O54 2008
Sharf,
Richard S. Theories
of psychotherapy and counseling : concepts and cases. Australia ; United
States : Thomson/Brooks/Cole, c2008.
MSU Meyer General RC480
.S355 2008
Theories of
counseling and psychotherapy : a multicultural perspective / edited by Allen
E. Ivey ... [et al.]. Boston : Pearson Allyn and Bacon, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC465.5
.T474 2007
Vogt,
Peter. Career wisdom
for college students : insights you won't get in class, on the Internet, or from
your parents. New York : Ferguson, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HF5381
.V58 2007
| Counseling | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reference Books at
Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries
catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call
number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials
are non-circulating items.
Addiction counselor's
desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref RC564 .C674 2005
Baker encyclopedia
of psychology & counseling
MSU Meyer Ref BF31.B25 1999
Diagnostic and statistical
manual of mental disorders: DSM-IV-TR
MSU Electronic Resource RC455.2.C4 D76 2000 MSU
only Available electronically
Encyclopedia
of applied psychology Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref BF636 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia
of behavior modification and cognitive behavior therapy Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref RC489.B4 E485 2005
Encyclopedia of careers
and vocational guidance
MSU Meyer Ref Desk HF5381.E52 2005
Encyclopedia
of education
MSU Meyer Ref B15 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia
of education and human development Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref LB15
.E473 2005
Encyclopedia of mental
health
MSU Meyer Ref RC437 .K34 2001
Encyclopedia of psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF31.E52
2000
Encyclopedia of school psychology
MSU Meyer Ref LB1027.55
.E523 2005
Gale encyclopedia
of mental disorders
MSU Meyer Ref RC437 .G35 2003
Handbook of adolescent
psychology
MSU Meyer Ref BF724 .H33 2004
Handbook of death
& dying
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1073 .H36 2003
Handbook of family
measurement techniques
MSU Meyer Ref HQ728 .H267 2001
International
encyclopedia of marriage and family
MSU Meyer Ref HQ9 .E52 2003
Macmillan encyclopedia
of death and dying
MSU Meyer Ref HQ1073 .M33 2003
Mental health desk
reference
MSU Meyer Ref RC466.M464 2001
Mental health
diagnostic desk reference : visual guides and more
for learning to use the Diagnostic and statistical manual (DSM-IV)
MSU Meyer Ref RC455.2.C4 M86 2000
Mental measurements
yearbook
MSU Meyer Ref BF431.Z1 M46
| Counseling | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Government Sources
& Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in
the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.
DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international
government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri
State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm
USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov
GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.
Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov/index.jsp (try a search
on school counselor, vocational education)
Department of Health and Human
Services
http://www.hhs.gov
Batterer intervention
programs : where do we go from here? / edited by Shelly Jackson ...
[et al.]. Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Justice, Office of Justice Programs,
National Institute of Justice, 2003. Freely
available online.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US J 28.15/2:B 32
Child welfare and
substance use disorders : a guide to recovery for families and children.
Rockville, MD : U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and
Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment,
2004.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US HE 20.408:SU 1/5
Counselors
and mentors handbook on federal student aid. [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept.
of Education, [2005].
Freely
available online.
Military sexual
trauma [microform] : counseling and treatment. [Washington, D.C.] : Dept.
of Veterans Affairs, 2004.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro VA 1.22:10-178
Occupational outlook
handbook
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US GP 3.22/2:270/ (also available at Ref Desk)|
Available online: http://www.bls.gov/oco
Substance use disorders
in the workplace : a guide to recovery for employees. Rockville, MD : U.S.
Dept. of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Administration, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 2004.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US HE 20.408:SU 1/4
| Counseling | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.
General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/
American Association for Marriage
and Family Therapy
http://www.aamft.org
American Association of Sex
Educators, Counselors and Therapists
http://www.aasect.org
American College Counseling
Association
http://www.collegecounseling.org/
American Counseling Association
http://www.counseling.org/
American School Counselor
Association
http://www.schoolcounselor.org
American Psychological Association
http://www.apa.org
Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE)
http://www.acteonline.org/
Association for Multicultural
Counseling and Development
http://www.bgsu.edu/colleges/edhd/programs/AMCD/
National Board for Certified
Counselors
http://www.nbcc.org
| Counseling | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information
on the Internet.
About Our Kids
http://www.aboutourkids.com
AddictionSites.com: Your Guide to Substance Abuse Websites
http://www2.alcoholcme.com/TopicReq?id=1251&Topic=General+Substance+Abuse
Buros Institute of Mental Measurements (index to test reviews)
http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp
Children, Youth and Family
Consortium
http://www.cyfc.umn.edu/
National Council on Family
Relations
http://www.ncfr.com
National Youth Advocacy Coalition
http://www.nyacyouth.org
School Psychology Resources
Online
http://www.schoolpsychology.net
Missouri State University
Department of Counseling
http://education.missouristate.edu/counseling/
compiled by Betty
Evans | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August
2007