Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Communications Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Communications | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
ComAbstracts (Communication Studies)
ComAbstracts, an online publication of Communication Institute for Online Scholarship, contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. No other electronic resources on the World Wide Web provide more comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's scholarship. ComAbstracts has provided continuous service since 1986.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 300 journals. In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
ERIC is the research database and information system for the field of education. It is produced by the Educational Resources Information Center. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the National Library of Education (NLE). The database contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC Documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The MLA Bibliography includes coverage from 1926 to the present.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
CQ Researcher (controversial issues)
Published by Congressional Quarterly, CQ Researcher provides analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. With online coverage from 1991 to present, it features lengthy (15-20 page) reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports.

Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. The Oxford English Dictionary is updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Communication abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref P87 .C59733

Index to journals in communication studies through
MSU Meyer Ref P87.Z1 M38

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts: LLBA
MSU Meyer Ref P121.Z1 L15


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Communications as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Communications | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Communication Education

Communication Monographs

Communication Quarterly

Communication Reports

Communication Research

Communication Research Reports

Communication Studies

Communication Theory

Communication World

European Journal of Communication

Howard Journal of Communications

Human Communication Research

International Journal of Intercultural Relations :IJIR

Journal of Applied Communication Research: JACR

Journal of Communication

Journal of Social and Personal Relationships

Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly (Formerly: Journalism Quarterly)

Mass Communication and Society

Small Group Research

Southern Communication Journal

Western Journal of Communication

Women's Studies in Communication

Communications | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Aronson, Merry. The public relations writer's handbook : the digital age. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM263 .A7864 2007

Barnes, Roscoe. Entrepreneur magazine's public relations made easy. Irvine, Calif. : Entrepreneur Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD59 .B354 2007

Barry, Bruce. Speechless : the erosion of free expression in the American workplace. San Francisco : Berrett-Koehler Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JC599.U5 B29 2007

Carrell, Michael R. Negotiating essentials : theory, skills, and practices. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2008.
MSU Meyer General BF637.N4 C363 2008

Debatabase book : a must-have guide for successful debate / the editors of IDEA ; introduction by Robert Trapp.  New York : International Debate Education Association, c2007.
MSU Meyer General PN4181 .D3945 2007

Eisenberg, Eric M. Strategic ambiguities : essays on communication, organization, and identity. Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD30.3 .E38 2007

Exploring communication ethics : interviews with influential scholars in the field / edited by Pat Arneson. New York : P. Lang, c2007.
MSU Meyer General P94 .E97 2007

Fassett, Deanna L. Critical communication pedagogy. Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General P91.3 .F366 2007

Fearn-Banks, Kathleen. Crisis communications : a casebook approach.  Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HD59 .F37 2007

Gunkel, David J. Thinking otherwise : philosophy, communication, technology. West Lafayette, Ind. : Purdue University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BD213 .G86 2007
 
Hamilton, Cheryl. Communicating for results : a guide for business and the professions. Belmont, CA : Thomson/Wadsworth, c2008.
MSU Meyer General HD30.3 .H35 2008

Hattersley, Michael E. Management communication : principles and practice. Boston : McGraw-Hill/Irwin, c2008.
MSU Meyer General HD30.3 .H377 2008

Ivy, Diana K. Genderspeak : personal effectiveness in gender communication. Boston : Pearson/Allyn and Bacon, c2008.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Kellett, Peter M. Conflict dialogue : working with layers of meaning for productive relationships. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HM1121 .K45 2007

Klüver, Jürgen. On communication : an interdisciplinary and mathematical approach. Dordrecht : Springer, c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.
 
Levesque, Roger J. R.  Adolescents, media, and the law : what developmental science reveals and free speech requires. New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HQ799.2.M35 L48 2007

Robinson, Andrew. The story of writing.  London ; New York : Thames & Hudson, 2007.
MSU Meyer General P211 .R6 2007

Skewes, Elizabeth A. Message control : how news is made on the presidential campaign trail. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2007.
MSU Meyer General JK528 .S57 2007

Theorizing communication : readings across traditions / edited by Robert T. Craig and Heidi L. Muller. Los Angeles : Sage Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General P91.3 .T49 2007

Thill, John V. Excellence in business communication. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2007.
MSU Meyer Curric Textbook HF5718.2.U6 T45 2007

Trenholm, Sarah. Interpersonal communication. New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
MSU Meyer General BF637.C45 T72 2008

Tunstall, Jeremy. The media were American : U.S. mass media in decline. New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Ulmer, Robert R. Effective crisis communication : moving from crisis to opportunity. Thousand Oaks : SAGE Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD49 .U44 2007

Warnick, Barbara. Rhetoric online : persuasion and politics on the World Wide Web. New York : Peter Lang, c2007.
MSU Meyer General P301.5.P67 W37 2007

Communications | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Communications standard dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref TK5102 .W437 1996

Dictionary of communication and media studies
MSU Meyer Ref P87.5 .W38 1997

Historical dictionary of political communication in the United States
MSU Meyer Ref JA85.2.U6 H57 1999

International encyclopedia of communications Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref P87.5 .I5 1989

Language and communication: a cross-cultural encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref P29 .F47 1998

Style manual for communication studies
MSU Meyer Ref Desk P96.A68 S89 2003

Talking terrorism: a dictionary of the loaded language of political violence
MSU Meyer Ref HV6431 .H455 2003

Webster's New World dictionary of media and communications
MSU Meyer Ref P87.5 .W45 1996

Communications | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Combating terrorism : the role of the American media : hearing before the Select Committee on Homeland Security, House of Representatives, One Hundred Eighth Congress, second session, September 15, 2004.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.H 75:108-57 Freely available online.

Competition and the future of digital music : hearing before Antitrust Task Force of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, February 28, 2007.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.J 89/1:110-3 Freely available online.

Decency in broadcasting, cable, and other media : hearing before the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, January 19, 2006.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.C 73/7:S.HRG.109-531 Freely available online.

Media ownership : hearing before the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighth Congress, first session, January 30, 2003.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.C 73/7:S.HRG.108-903 Freely available online.

Communications | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Communication Association
http://www.americancomm.org/

Central States Communication Association
http://www.csca-net.org/

Eastern Communication Association
http://www.ecasite.org/

Electronic Frontier Foundation
http://www.eff.org/

International Association of Business Communicators
http://www.iabc.com/

International Communication Association
http://www.icahdq.org/

National Communication Association
http://www.natcom.org/

Pacific and Asian Communication Association
http://www.ku.edu/~paca/

Public Relations Society of America
http://www.prsa.org/

Southern States Communication Association
http://ssca.net/

Western States Communication Association
http://www.westcomm.org/

Communications | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
http://www.americanrhetoric.com/speechbank.htm

Center for Communication
http://www.cencom.org/

Forest of Rhetoric: Silva Rhetoricae
http://humanities.byu.edu/rhetoric/silva.htm

Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from around the World
http://www.giftsofspeech.org/

Institute
of Communication
Studies, University of Leeds
http://ics.leeds.ac.uk/

Media History Project, University of Minnesota
http://www.mediahistory.umn.edu/

Links to Resources, University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/index.html

Missouri State University Department of Communication
http://communication.missouristate.edu/

Yahoo Directory>Social Sciences>Communications
http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Communications/

compiled by Mike Wendt & updated by Andrea Miller | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007