Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Chemistry Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Chemistry| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.

Analytical WebBase
This online version of Analytical Abstracts is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. It provides indexing and abstracting (with some full-text linking) to around 100 international journals from 1980 to date, updated weekly with around 300 new records to provide comprehensive coverage of new analytical techniques and applications from across the published literature. Key areas of analytical science covered include: Chromatography, electrophoresis, spectrometry and radiochemical methods; inorganic, organic and organometallic analysis, including applied and industrial products; clinical and biochemical analysis, including proteomics and genomics; pharmaceutical analysis, including drugs in biological fluids; and, environmental, agricultural and food analysis.

CAS Registry. Available at the Meyer Library Reference Desk.
Available through the SciFinder Scholar platform from the American Chemical Society, CAS Registry covers specific chemical substances, including organic compounds, biosequences, coordination compounds, polymers, alloys, and tabular inorganics, covering 1957 to the present. The Registry is the largest and most current database of chemical substance information in the world containing more than 21 million substance and 27 million sequence records. Each substance in the CAS Registry is identified by a unique numeric identifier called a CAS Registry Number.

CASREACT. Available at the Meyer Library Reference Desk.
Available through the SciFinder Scholar platform from the American Chemical Society, CASREACT covers information for single- and multiple-step reactions from journals from 1974 to the present and patents 1982 to the present. CASREACT includes reactions covered in Chemical Abstracts and reactions supplied by the German software company, InfoChem. It can be searched by reaction, product, reactant or reagent. CASREACT can help answer questions such as finding different reactions producing the same product, uses or applications of a particular catalyst, and various ways to carry out specific functional group transformations.

Chemical Abstracts Plus. Available at the Meyer Library Reference Desk.
Available through the SciFinder Scholar platform from the American Chemical Society, the bibliographic portion of this database provides comprehensive coverage of the published research literature in chemistry from 1907 to the present. CAplus covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences providing bibliographic references mainly to journal articles and patents from more than 8000 journals and 150 countries. Additional sources include conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more.

ECO - Electronic Collections Online (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
The OCLC Electronic Collections Online (ECO) database is a collection of scholarly journals, with over 5,400 sources. It includes bibliographic information for all journals, and lets you view abstracts and full-text articles from journals to which Missouri State subscribes. ECO is multi-disciplinary in its subject areas, and coverage extends from 1995 to present.

Energy Citations Database (ECD)
Includes bibliographic records of report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents in disciplines of interest to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science and more.

GeoRef (Bibliography and Index of Geology)
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Subjects covered include, but are not limited to, crystallography, hydrogeology, economic geology, hydrology, environmental geology, marine geology, engineering geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, oceanography, geophysics, and paleontology. Coverage is from 1785 to present for North America, and 1933 to present for international.

Information Bridge
Provides an open source to full-text and bibliographic records (1948- present) of the Department of Energy's (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, and more.  Consists of full-text documents produced and made available by the Department of Energy National Laboratories and grantees from 1995 forward. Journal Sources.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".

SciFinder Scholar (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Available through the SciFinder Scholar platform from the American Chemical Society, the bibliographic portion of this database provides comprehensive coverage of the published research literature in chemistry from 1907 to the present. SciFinder Scholar includes the following databases: Chemical Abstracts Plus (CAplus) which provides references to published literature, the CAS Registry database covering substance structure, and the CASREACT database covering reactions. CAplus covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences providing bibliographic references mainly to journal articles and patents from more than 8000 journals and 150 countries. Additional sources include conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more. CAS REGISTRY covers specific chemical substances, including organic compounds, biosequences, coordination compounds, polymers, alloys, and tabular inorganics, covering 1957 to the present. The Registry is the largest and most current database of chemical substance information in the world containing more than 21 million substance and 27 million sequence records. Each substance in the CAS Registry is identified by a unique numeric identifier called a CAS Registry Number. CASREACT covers information for single- and multiple-step reactions from journals from 1974 to the present and patents 1982 to the present. CASREACT includes reactions covered in CA and reactions supplied by the German software company, InfoChem. It can be searched by reaction, product, reactant or reagent. CASREACT can help answer questions such as finding different reactions producing the same product, uses or applications of a particular catalyst, and various ways to carry out specific functional group transformations.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Analytical abstracts . Also Available Electronically.
MSU Meyer Ref QD71 .A49

Biological and agricultural index 1965-1998
MSU Meyer Ref S1.Z1 A46

Science citation index 1981-2003
MSU Meyer Ref Z7401 .S365


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Chemistry as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Chemistry | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Analytical Chemistry

Biochemistry

Chemical Communications: Chem Comm.

Chemical Reviews

European Journal of Organic Chemistry

Faraday Discussions

Inorganic Chemistry

Journal of Biological Chemistry

Journal of Chemical Education

Journal of Materials Chemistry

Journal of Organic Chemistry

Journal of Physical Chemistry. A, Molecules, Spectroscopy, Kinetics, Environment & General Theory

Journal of Physical Chemistry. B, Materials, Surfaces, Interfaces & Biophysical

Journal of the American Chemical Society

Polyhedron

Tetrahedron Letters

Chemistry | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Balbes, Lisa M. Nontraditional careers for chemists : new formulas in chemistry. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Basalla, Susan Elizabeth. "So what are you going to do with that?" : finding careers outside academia. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HF5382.7 .B374 2007

Bodner, George M. Theoretical frameworks for research in chemistry/science education. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QD40 .B665 2007

Carraher, Charles E. Introduction to polymer chemistry. Boca Raton : CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QD381 .C37 2007

Daniel, M., Dr. Medicinal plants : chemistry and properties. Enfield, NH : Science Publishers, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QK99.A1 D36 2006

Engel, Thomas. Physical chemistry. San Francisco : Pearson Benjamin Cummings, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QD453.3 .E54 2006

Goldsmith, Barbara. Obsessive genius : the inner world of Marie Curie. New York : W.W. Norton, c2005.
MSU Meyer General QD22.C8 G56 2005

Klein, David R. Organic chemistry II as a second language. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QD257 .K54 2006

Li, Jie Jack. Laughing gas, Viagra, and Lipitor : the human stories behind the drugs we use. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General RM301.15 .L5 2006

Lowe, John P. Quantum chemistry. Burlington, MA : Elsevier Academic Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General QD462 .L69 2006

Morrisson, Mark S. Modern alchemy : occultism and the emergence of atomic theory. New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QD13 .M67 2007

Rode, Bernd M. (Bernd Michael). The basics of theoretical and computational chemistry. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; Chichester : John Wiley [distributor], c2007.
MSU Meyer General QD39.3.E46 R63 2007

Scerri, Eric R. The periodic table : its story and its significance. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Chemistry | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Aldrich library of 13C and 1H FT NMR spectra
MSU Meyer Ref QD96.I5 P64x 1993

Aldrich library of FT-IR spectra
MSU Meyer Ref QD96 .I5 P66

Aldrich library of NMR spectra
MSU Meyer Ref QD96.N8 P68 1983

Chemical formulary  Vols. 1-15
MSU Meyer Ref TP151 .C53

Comprehensive coordination chemistry II : from biology to nanotechnology Vols. 1-10
MSU Meyer Ref QD474 .C65 2004

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
MSU Meyer Ref QD65 .H3

Dean's handbook of organic chemistry
MSU Meyer Ref QD251.3 .G65 2004

Facts on File dictionary of chemistry
MSU Meyer Ref QD5 .F33 1999

Handbook of data on common organic compounds
MSU Meyer Ref QD257.7 .H35 1995

Hazardous chemicals desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref T55.3.H3 L49 2002

Lange's handbook of chemistry
MSU Meyer Ref QD65 .L36 2005

Merck index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
MSU Meyer Ref Desk RS51 .M4 2001

Nobel scientists : a biographical encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref Q141 .K78 2002

Reference materials in analytical chemistry : a guide for selection and use
MSU Meyer Ref QD75.4.Q34 R43 2000

Van Nostrand's encyclopedia of chemistry
MSU Meyer Ref QD4 .V36 2005

1001 chemicals in everyday products
MSU Meyer Ref TP200 .L49 1999

Chemistry | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


FirstGov: Whatever you want or need from the U.S. government, it's here on FirstGov.gov. You'll find a rich treasure of online information, services and resources.
http://www.firstgov.gov

Departments and Agencies:
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services (HHS)
http://www.os.dhhs.gov/
Includes agencies like the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov/
“EPA's mission is to protect human health and to safeguard the natural environment — air, water, and land — upon which life depends.”  Included are chemistry issues pertaining to water quality such as arsenic in water, anthrax decontamination, toxic waste cleanup, etc.

U.S. Geological Survey: USGS
http://www.usgs.gov/
The USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior in four major areas: natural hazards, resources, the environment, and information and data management.

Missouri Dept. of Natural Resources
http://www.dnr.mo.gov/

Publications:
Background report on fertilizer use, contaminants, and regulations
MSU Meyer Gov Docs EP 5.2:F 41

Chronic neurological sequelae of acute organophosphate pesticide poisoning: a case-control study, final report
MSU Meyer Gov Docs EP 5.2: N 39

DEA, forensic chemist: a career opportunity
MSU Meyer Gov Docs J 24.2:C 42/4

Honoring the life of Percy Lavon Julian, a pioneer in the field of organic chemistry research and development and the first and only African American chemist to be inducted into the National Academy of Sciences : report (to accompany H. Con. Res. 34).
Freely available online.

Missouri secondary science safety manual
MSU Meyer Gov Docs MO (
Missouri ) ED 7:Sci 2/2

Plan for Broadening Participation in Chemistry [electronic resource]. Freely available online.

Transport, behavior, and fate of volatile organic compounds in streams
MSU Meyer Gov Docs I 19.16:1589

Chemistry | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Chemical Society
http://www.acs.org/portal/Chemistry

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB)
http://www.asbmb.org/

Biochemical Society
http://www.biochemistry.org/default.htm

Chemical Institute of Canada
http://www.cheminst.ca/

European Chemical Society
http://www.chim.ucl.ac.be/CHIM/ECS/

Royal Society of Chemistry
http://www.rsc.org/

Chemistry | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Arizona State University Libraries: Science Reference Room: Chemistry Resources
http://www.asu.edu/lib/noble/chem/

Best Information on the Net: Chemistry
http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Majors/Chemical/chemindex.htm

ChemCAI: Instructional Software and Other Resources for Chemical Education
http://www.chem1.com/chemed/

ChemFinder.com
http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com/

Chemistry: Selected Chemistry Web Sites
http://www.ncsu.edu/sciencejunction/terminal/imse/lowres/1/chemistry.htm

General Chemistry Online!
http://antoine.frostburg.edu/chem/senese/101/index.shtml

IUPAC, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (USA)
http://www.iupac.org/dhtml_home.html

Laboratory Survival Manual, University of Virginia: Office of Environmental Health and Safety
http://keats.admin.virginia.edu/lsm/home.html

Missouri State University Department of Chemistry
http://chemistry.missouristate.edu/

WWW Virtual Library: Links for Chemists
http://www.liv.ac.uk/Chemistry/Links/links.html

Yahoo! Directory: Chemistry
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Chemistry/

compiled by Charlotte Dugan | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July 2007