Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Criminology Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Criminology| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 170,000 criminal justice publications. NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime and public safety including policy makers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
LexisNexis Congressional
(NOTE: As of June 30, 2008, this index will no longer be available. Please go to THOMAS in the database listings or at http://www.thomas.gov/). Lexis-Nexis Congressional contains indexing, with some full text, for congressional materials from 1789 to present, specifically committee hearings and prints, as well as serial set reports and document. Other full-text materials include bills (1989-present), public laws (1988-present), Congressional Record (1985-present), and the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations (1981-present). Congressional actions, including bill tracking (1989-present), floor votes (1988-present), and legislative histories (1969-present) are also included. The database also contains political news from the past 20 years, as well as current hot topics in the political arena.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, containing over 1,800 entries/3.5 million words, is an essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in the broad field of sociology. It provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. This resource contains materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge, including introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe. While focused broadly in sociology, this encyclopedia touches on a wide range of disciplines such as criminology, ethnography, gender studies, gerontology, psychology, and social work.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Criminal justice abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref HV6001 .C67

Criminology & penology abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref HV6001 .E9


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Criminology as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Criminology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

British Journal of Criminology

Crime and Delinquency

Crime and Justice International

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice & Behavior

Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice

Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology

Journal of Gang Research

Law & Society Review

Policing

Prison Journal

Women and Criminal Justice

Criminology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Asad, Talal. On suicide bombing. New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6431 .A82 2007.

Bartollas, Clemens. Juvenile justice in America . Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2008.
MSU Meyer General HV9104 .B347 2008

Blakely, Curt R. Prisons, penology and penal reform : an introduction to institutional specialization. New York : Peter Lang, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV9471 .B53 2007

Burkhead, Michael Dow. The treatment of criminal offenders : a history. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV9304 .B866 2007

Cassel, Elaine. Criminal behavior. Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6105 .C37 2007

Chandler, Michael. Countering terrorism : can we meet the threat of global violence? . London : Reaktion, 2007.
MSU Meyer General. HV6431 .C445 2007

Constructing justice and security after war / edited by Charles T. Call. Washington, D.C. : United States Institute of Peace, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV639 .C67 2007

Culture of prison violence / edited by James M. Byrne, Don Hummer, and Faye S. Taxman. Boston : Pearson/Allyn and Bacon, c2008.
MSU Meyer General HV9025 .C85 2008

Downes, David M. Understanding deviance : a guide to the sociology of crime and rule-breaking. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM811 .D68 2007

Dutton, Donald G. The psychology of genocide, massacres, and extreme violence : why "normal" people come to commit atrocities. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Security International, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HM1116 .D88 2007

Farrington, David P. Saving children from a life of crime : early risk factors and effective interventions. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV9104 .F37 2007

Gangs in the global city : alternatives to traditional criminology / edited by John M. Hagedorn. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6437 .G354 2007

Hamm, Mark S. Terrorism as crime : from Oklahoma City to Al-Qaeda and beyond. New York : New York University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6431 .H364 2007

Haney, Craig. Reforming punishment : psychological limits to the pains of imprisonment. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2006.
MSU Meyer General HV9471 .H33 2006

Jaspin, Elliot. Buried in the bitter waters : the hidden history of racial cleansing in America. New York : Basic Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer Reserve 2 Hour E185.61 .J37 2007

Larkin, Ralph W. Comprehending Columbine. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General LB3013.33.C6 L37 2007

Lea, Suzanne R. Goodney. Delinquency and animal cruelty : myths and realities about social pathology. New York : LFB Scholarly Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV9104 .L343 2007

Lilly, J. Robert. Criminological theory : context and consequences. Thousand Oaks : SAGE Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6018 .L55 2007

Martin, Susan Ehrlich. Doing justice, doing gender : women in legal and criminal justice occupations. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV9950 .M3 2007

Owens-Sabir, Mahasin Cecelia. The effects of race and family attachment on self-esteem, self-control, and delinquency. New York : LFB Scholarly Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV9104 .O985 2007

Putchinski, Laurence J. Union influence and police expenditures / Laurence J. Putchinski. New York : LFB Scholarly Pub. LLC, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV8145.F6 P88 2007

Race, gender, and punishment : from colonialism to the war on terror / edited by Mary Bosworth and Jeanne Flavin. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV9950 .R333 2007

Robinson, Matthew B. Death nation : the experts explain American capital punishment. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2008.
MSU Meyer General KF9227.C2 R63 2008

Siegel, Larry J. Juvenile delinquency : the core. Belmont, Calif. : Thomson Wadsworth, c2008.
MSU Meyer General HV9104 .S52 2008

Spergel, Irving A. Reducing youth gang violence : the Little Village Gang Project in Chicago. Lanham, MD : AltaMira Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6439.U7 C384 2007

Stein, Abby. Prologue to violence : child abuse, dissociation, and crime. Mahwah, N.J. : Analytic Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6626.5 .S84 2007

Zimbardo, Philip G. The Lucifer effect : understanding how good people turn evil. New York : Random House, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BF789.E94 Z56 2007

Criminology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

City crime rankings
MSU Meyer Ref HV6787 .C58

Clues from killers : serial murder and crime scene messages
MSU Meyer Ref HV6529 .G53 2004

Constitutional rights sourcebook
MSU Meyer Ref KF4550.Z9 R463

Crime state rankings
MSU Meyer Ref HV6787 .C77

Criminal justice information: how to find it, how to use it
MSU Meyer Ref HV7419.5 .C75 1998

Encyclopedia of American prisons
MSU Meyer Ref HV9471 .S54 2003

Encyclopedia of capital punishment
MSU Meyer Ref HV8694 .G76 1998

Encyclopedia of crime and justice (Vol. 1-4)
MSU Meyer Ref HV6017.E52 2002

Encyclopedia of criminology (Vol. 1-3)
MSU Meyer Ref HV6017 .E5295 2005

Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior (Vol. 1-4)
MSU Meyer Ref HV6017 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of juvenile justice
MSU Meyer Ref HV9104 .E58 2003

Encyclopedia of murder & violent crime
MSU Meyer Ref HV6515 .E5323 2003

Encyclopedia of prisons & correctional facilities
MSU Meyer Ref HV9471 .E427 2005

Encyclopedia of serial killers
MSU Meyer Ref HV6245 .N49 2000

Encyclopedia of sociology
MSU Meyer Ref HM17 .E5 2000

Encyclopedia of unsolved crimes
MSU Meyer Ref HV6251 .N48 2004b

Encyclopedia of women and crime
MSU Meyer Ref HV6046 .E56 2000

Encyclopedia of world terrorism
MSU Meyer Ref HV6431 .E53 2003

Guns In American Society
MSU Meyer Ref  HV 7436 .G8783 2002

Hate crimes: a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref HV6773.52 .A47 2005

Historical atlas of American crime
MSU Meyer Ref HV6779 .R67 2005

Prentice Hall's dictionary of American criminal justice, criminology, and criminal law
MSU Meyer Ref KF9223.A68 F35 2005

Violence in America: an encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref HN90.V5 V5474 1999

Criminology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Amending the Indian Child Protection and Family Violence Prevention Act to identify and remove barriers to reducing child abuse to provide for examinations of certain children, and for other purposes : report (to accompany S. 398).
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 1.1/5:110-45 Freely available online.

Family resource guide on international parental kidnapping [electronic resource] / Office of Juvenile Justice adn Delinquency Prevention. Freely available online.

FBI: Federal Bureau of Investigation
http://www.fbi.gov/

FBI law enforcement bulletin
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US J 1.14/8:

Fighting crime : the challenges facing local law enforcement and the federal role : hearing before the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, September 22, 2006, Wilmington, Delaware.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.J 89/2:S.HRG.109-755 Freely available online.

Missouri Attorney General’s Office (AGOnline)
http://www.ago.mo.gov/

Missouri Department of Corrections
http://www.doc.missouri.gov/

Missouri Judiciary
http://www.courts.mo.gov/

Sexual exploitation of children over the Internet : a staff report prepared for the use of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, U.S. House of Representatives, 109th Congress
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Micro Y 4.C 73/8:109-F Freely available online.

Sourcebook of criminal justice statistics
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US J 29.9/6:

Supreme Court of Missouri
http://www.courts.mo.gov/page.asp?id=27

Supreme Court of the United States
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/

Uniform crime reports for the United States
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US J 1.14.7:

U.S. Department of Justice (U.S. Attorney General)
http://www.usdoj.gov/

Criminology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
http://www.acjs.org/

American Correctional Association
http://www.aca.org/

American Society of Criminology
http://www.asc41.com/

Criminal Justice Policy Foundation
http://www.cjpf.org/

International Society of Crime Prevention Practitioners
http://www.iscpp.org/

Justice Research and Statistics Association
http://www.jrsainfo.org

National Criminal Justice Association
http://www.ncja.org

Criminology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Crime Library
http://www.crimelibrary.com

Crime Spider
http://www.crimespider.com/

Handbook of Forensic Services, FBI
http://www.fbi.gov/hq/lab/handbook/intro.htm#forensic

International Victimology Web site
http://www.victimology.nl/

Interpol
http://www.interpol.int/

Missouri State University Crime & Society Program (Department of Sociology & Anthropology)
http://crimeandsociety.missouristate.edu/

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/

National Consortium on Violence Research (NCOVR)
http://www.ncovr.heinz.cmu.edu/

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
http://www.ncjrs.org/

Prentice Hall's Cybrary: The World's Criminal Justice Directory
http://talkjustice.com/links.asp?453053901

compiled by Douglas Stehle and updated by Andrea Miller | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: August 2007