Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Business Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Business | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
ABI/Inform (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
ABI/Inform is a comprehensive business database providing indexing for more than 2,700 business publications, including full-text links to U.S. and international articles on business and management. With ABI/Inform, "users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape." International and domestic professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines are indexed, covering such subjects as accounting, advertising, economics, finance, insurance, management, marketing, public administration, real estate and taxation. Database coverage is from 1971 to present, with weekly updates. The MSU Libraries currently have access to this database for an unknown time period, and patrons wanting to use it must come to the Reference desk to get logged on to a computer in the library.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.

Business Source Premier - Enhanced Business Searching Interface
This database, an expanded version of Business Source Premier, includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and Country Watch, as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.

EconLit
EconLit is the American Economic Association's electronic database providing references to economic research literature. EconLit is the online version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. Examples of publications indexed in EconLit include: Accounting Review, Advances in Macroeconomics, African Finance Journal, American Economist, British Journal of Industrial Relations, Business Economics, Canadian Journal of Development Studies, Harvard Business Review, Journal of Applied Business Research, Marketing Science, Policy, Small Business Economics, Technology Analysis and Strategic Management, etc. EconLit records include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers.

Emerald eJournal Collection
This e-journal package provides full-text access to 144 journals from Emerald Publishing, with indexing and citation access for yet another 33 titles. Full-text access varies with some journals beginning in 1994 while other titles are in full text only for the past four years. Generally, indexing and citation coverage goes back ten years unless the journal began more recently. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science. Emerald provides a search interface to look for articles by keyword or author. Users can also browse the entire Emerald collection of journals title by title, selecting exact volume and issue and then browse tables of contents.

LexisNexis
LexisNexis is a leader in providing full-text coverage of news, legal, business, biographical, medical and government information. It is the host platform providing seamless connections to LexisNexis Academic and LexisNexis Congressional. For more information on these specific LexisNexis databases, see their individual title listings.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
CCH Internet Research Network for Health and Human Resources
This is Commerce Clearing House's full-text search service containing federal and state laws and regulations, case law, forms, manuals, and news reports arranged in seven topical libraries of information: Human Resources Management; Payroll; Pension/Benefits; Employment Law; Safety, OSHA & Worker's Compensation; Health Law; Food and Drug. Coverage is current and updates vary according to the publication.

CCH Tax Research Network
Included in this online tax research service from Commerce Clearing House are Federal, State, and Financial & Estate files. The Federal service includes the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, Federal Estate/Gift Tax Reporter, Federal Excise Tax Reporter, current Internal Revenue Code, cases and rulings, as well as other IRS publications. The State file contains all State Tax Reporters as well as State Tax Laws. Coverage is current and updates vary according to the publication.

Standard and Poors NetAdvantage
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is the premier reference tool for company financial and business industry information. Provides detailed business information and corporation records on over 12,000 publicly held U.S. and international corporations. Includes individual company stock reports, bond guides, dividend records, earnings guides, mutual fund reports, and S&P's Industry Surveys reports. NetAdvantage also contains a directory of corporation contact information, including directors and executives, and also includes a security dealers directory. NetAdvantage is a powerful research tool giving access to the core Standard & Poor's reference publications in one single interface.

STAT-USA (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov/), a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government such as United States economic indicators and statistical releases on U.S. economy; the National Trade Data Bank; foreign investment and marketing research reports and sources & economic reports on countries and regions of the world. Focused data on the United States domestic economy is provided in the State of the Nation portion of STAT-USA, while the Globus & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) section provides international trade and foreign country market information. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library in GLOBUS/NTDB is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Accounting & tax index
MSU Meyer Ref HF5635.A33x

Business education index
MSU Meyer Ref HF1101.Z1 B88

Business periodical index
MSU Meyer Ref Z 7164.C81 B983


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Business as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Business | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Barron’s: the Dow Jones Business and Financial Weekly

Business Credit

Business Valuation Review

Business Week

Forbes

Fortune

Harvard Business Review

Inc

International Journal of Business

Journal of Property Management

Journal of Business Strategy

Money

Quarterly Journal of Business and Economics

Regional Business Review

Survey of Current Business

Business | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Barker, Tom. Leadership for results : removing barriers to success for people, projects, and processes. Milwaukee, Wis. : ASQ Quality Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General HD57.7 .B3663 2006

Bowie, Norman E. Management ethics. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
MSU Meyer General HF5387 .B684 2005

The brave new world / Theodore H. Moran, editor. Washington, DC : World Bank, c2004.
MSU Meyer General HG4538.5 .B7 2004

Entrepreneurship and the financial community : starting up and growing new businesses / edited by Bart Clarysse, Juan Roure, and Tom Schamp. Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA : Edward Elgar, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HG4751 .E584 2007

Gutiérrez, Jairo. Business data communications and networking : a research perspective. Hershey, PA : Idea Group Pub., c2007.
MSU Meyer General TK5105.5 .G87 2007

Head, John W. (John Warren). Global business law : principles and practice of international commerce and investment. Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General K1030 .H43 2007

Hughes, Karen D. Female enterprise in the new economy. Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HD6072.6.C2 H84 2005

International business : the challenge of global competition / edited by Donald A. Ball ... [et al.]. Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2008.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Lawrence, Anne T. Business and society : stakeholders, ethics, public policy. Boston : McGraw-Hill Irwin, c2008.
MSU Meyer General HD60 .F72 2008

Missouri corporate organization and operation. Jefferson City, Mo. : Missouri Bar, c2005.
MSU Meyer General KFM8010 .M57 2005

Moran, Robert T. Managing cultural differences : global leadership strategies for the 21st century. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Butterworth-Heinemann, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD62.4 .H37 2007

Operations, strategy, and technology : pursuing the competitive edge / edited by Robert Hayes ... [et al.]. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HD30.28 .O64 2005

Porter-Roth, Bud. Writing killer sales proposals : win the bid and close the deal. [Irvine, CA] : Entrepreneur Press, c2004.
MSU Meyer General HF5718.5 .P68 2004

Samli, A. Coskun. Up against the retail giants : targeting weakness, gaining an edge. Mason, OH : Thomson, c2004.
MSU Meyer General HF5429 .S277 2004

Schneider, Gary P. Electronic commerce. Boston, Mass. : Course Technology, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HF5548.32 .S35 2007

Scoble, Robert. Naked conversations : how blogs are changing the way businesses talk with customers. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2006.
MSU Meyer General TK5105.8884 .S26 2006

Sherman, Andrew J. Raising capital : get the money you need to grow your business. New York : AMACOM, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HG4027.6 .S534 2005

Technologies for business information systems / edited by Witold Abramowicz, Heinrich C. Mayr. Dordrecht ; London : Springer, 2007.
MSU Meyer General T58.6 .T425 2007

West's business law : text and cases : legal, ethical, international, and e-commerce environment / edited by Kenneth W. Clarkson ... [et al.]. Mason, Ohio : Thomson/West, c2006.
MSU Meyer General KF888 .C55 2006

Business | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios
MSU Meyer Ref HF5681.R25 T68

Business rankings annual
MSU Meyer Ref HG4050.B88

Business statistics of the United States
MSU Meyer Gov Docs Ref HC101 .A131222

CRB commodity yearbook
MSU Meyer Ref HF1041.C56

Dictionary of financial abbreviations
MSU Meyer Ref HG151.3 .P38 2003

Dictionary of international business terms
MSU Meyer Ref HD62.4 .S54x 1998

Guide to economic indicators
MSU Meyer Ref Desk HC103 .F9 2000

North American industry classification system
MSU Meyer Ref HF 1042 .N67 2002

Oxford dictionary for international business
MSU Meyer Ref HF1001 .O96 1998

Oxford encyclopedia of economic history
MSU Meyer Ref HC15 .O94 2003

Webster's new world English-Spanish/Spanish-English business dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref HF1002 .K375 2006

Business | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Business Services, Missouri Secretary of State
http://sos.mo.gov/business/

FedBizOpps
http://fedbizopps.gov/ FedBizOpps.gov is the single government point-of-entry (GPE) for Federal government procurement opportunities over $25,000. Government buyers are able to publicize their business opportunities by posting information directly to FedBizOpps via the Internet. Through one portal - FedBizOpps (FBO) - commercial vendors seeking Federal markets for their products and services can search, monitor and retrieve opportunities solicited by the entire Federal contracting community.

Small Business Administration
http://sba.gov/

Business | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Academy of Legal Studies in Business
http://www.alsb.org/

American Business Women’s Association
http://www.abwa.org/

Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management
http://www.appam.org/home.asp

Business History Conference
http://www2.h-net.msu.edu/~business/bhcweb/

International Academy of Business Disciplines
http://www.iabd.org/

International Association for Business and Society
http://www.iabs.net/

International Association of Business Communicators
http://www.iabc.com/

International Cost Engineering Council
http://www.icoste.org/

International Food and Agribusiness Management Association
http://www.ifama.org/

Society for Consumer Psychology
http://fisher.osu.edu/marketing/scp/

Business | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Alamanc of Policy Issues
http://www.policyalmanac.org/

The 'Lectric Law Library's Business & General Forms
http://www.lectlaw.com/formb.htm

Business & Economic links from IPL: Internet Public Library
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/bus00.00.00/

Business, Finance, & Jobs links from Librarians’ Index to the Internet
http://www.lii.org/search/file/busfinjobs

Brint
http://www.brint.com/links/

Missouri State University College of Business Administration
http://www.coba.missouristate.edu/

Departments:
School of Accountancy
Department of Computer Information Systems
Department of Finance and General Business
Department of Management
Department of Marketing

ThomasNet
http://www.thomasnet.com/

U.S. Chamber of Commerce
http://www.uschamber.com/default

Zycon
http://www.zycon.com/

compiled by Douglas Stehle and updated by Tammy Stewart | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July 2007