Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Biomedical Sciences Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Biomedical Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
AGRICOLA
Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), AGRICOLA covers materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. The database includes records of books, journals and other serials, audiovisual and other materials from over 5000 sources and contains in excess of 3,600,000 records from 1970 to the present. It is updated monthly.

Analytical WebBase
This online version of Analytical Abstracts is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. It provides indexing and abstracting (with some full-text linking) to around 100 international journals from 1980 to date, updated weekly with around 300 new records to provide comprehensive coverage of new analytical techniques and applications from across the published literature. Key areas of analytical science covered include: Chromatography, electrophoresis, spectrometry and radiochemical methods; inorganic, organic and organometallic analysis, including applied and industrial products; clinical and biochemical analysis, including proteomics and genomics; pharmaceutical analysis, including drugs in biological fluids; and, environmental, agricultural and food analysis.

Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts serves as an index to articles in over 4,000 scientific serials from the biological science areas. The database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969. Topics covered include botany, pharmacology, biochemistry, microbiology, and evolutionary ecology, genetics, and more. It is produced by Biological Abstracts, Inc. (BIOSIS), a not-for-profit organization that has served as a link between the life science community and worldwide biological research for over 70 years.

Biological & Agricultural Index (Bio/Ag Index)
This database serves as an index to articles in leading U.S. and international publications in agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology. Specific topics include botany, cytology, fishery sciences, food science, genetics, horticulture, plant pathology, veterinary medicine, and zoology. It includes book reviews, biographical sketches, symposia and conference reports, and review articles. Produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, coverage is 1983 to present and includes over 1,100,000 records.

Chemical Abstracts Plus (at Reference Desk only)
Available through the SciFinder Scholar platform from the American Chemical Society, the bibliographic portion of this database provides comprehensive coverage of the published research literature in chemistry from 1907 to the present. CAplus covers a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences providing bibliographic references mainly to journal articles and patents from more than 8000 journals and 150 countries. Additional sources include conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
LexisNexis is a leader in providing full-text coverage of news, legal, business, biographical, medical and government information. It is the host platform providing seamless connections to LexisNexis Academic and LexisNexis Congressional. For more information on these specific LexisNexis databases, see their individual title listings.

MEDLINE
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".

Scitation
Scitation is a database/platform for researching physics as well as chemistry, materials science, and engineering. It contains the SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) which includes citations and abstracts to articles from 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and its member societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling over 1.5 million article citations. Scitation allows you to search for articles only in SPIN, or only in Scitation, or in both. MSU students, faculty, and staff have full text access to the AIP material to which we subscribe.

SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus, provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Indexed are articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals and magazines, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, video and audio tapes, and book reviews. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, including bibliographic coverage for over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library
STAT!Ref is an easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals. It is a collection of clinically-oriented health sciences ready reference e-books. The collection provides convenient access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions. The titles can be browsed, searched individually, or multiple titles can be searched at the same time.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Analytical abstracts
MSU Meyer Ref QD71 .A49
From The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), this the premier specialist database for the analytical chemist.

Science citation index
MSU Meyer Ref Z7401 .S365


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Biomedical Sciences as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse

Biomedical Sciences| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition

BioScience

Clinical Nursing Research

Einstein Journal of Biology and Medicine (Formerly: Einstein Quarterly Journal of Biology and Medicine)

International Journal of Food Sciences and Nutrition

Journal of Anatomy

Journal of Biomedical Informatics

Journal of Cell Biology

Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics

Journal of Nutrition

Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry

Perspectives in Biology and Medicine

Reproductive Medicine and Biology

Biomedical Sciences| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Archaea : molecular and cellular biology / edited by Ricardo Cavicchioli. Washington, DC : ASM Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QR82.A69 A735 2007

Biomedical informatics : computer applications in health care and biomedicine / edited by Edward H. Shortliffe and James J. Cimino. New York, NY : Springer, c2006.
MSU Meyer General R858 .M397 2006

Biotechnological applications of photosynthetic proteins : biochips, biosensors, and biodevices / edited by Maria Teresa Giardi and Elena V. Piletska. Georgetown, Tex. : Landes Bioscience/Eurekah.com ; New York : Springer Science+Business Media, c2006.
MSU Meyer General TP248.65.P76 B56 2006

Cooper, Geoffrey M. The cell : a molecular approach. Washington, D.C. : ASM Press ; Sunderland, Mass. : Sinauer Associates, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QH581.2 .C66 2007

Dietary guide / edited by Albert O. Gomber. New York : Novinka Books, c2007.
MSU Meyer General TX360.U6 D515 2007

Gene expression profiling by microarrays : clinical implications / edited by Wolf-Karsten Hofmann. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General QH450 .G46254 2006

Primrose, S. B. Principles of gene manipulation and genomics. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2006.
MSU Meyer General QH442 .O42 2006

Principles of molecular medicine / edited by Marschall S. Runge and Cam Patterson ; foreword by Victor A. Mckusick. Totowa, N.J. : Humana Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RB155 .P695 2006

Rescuing science from politics : regulation and the distortion of scientific research / edited by Wendy Wagner and Rena Steinzor. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General Q125 .R4178 2006

Science, society, and the supermarket : the opportunities and challenges of nutrigenomics / edited by David Castle ... [et al.]. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QP144.G45 S35 2007

Smart biosensor technology / edited by George K. Knopf and Amarjeet S. Bassi. Boca Raton : CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, c2007.
MSU Meyer General R857.B54 S6345 2007

Biomedical Sciences| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Advanced human nutrition
MSU Meyer Ref  QP141.W467x 2000

Cambridge encyclopedia of human growth and development
MSU Meyer Ref  QP84.C26 1998

Cecil textbook of medicine Vol. 1 - 2
MSU Meyer Ref RC46 .C423 2004

Delmar’s guide to laboratory and diagnostic tests

MSU Meyer Ref  RB38.2.D36 2002

Dictionary of cell and molecular biology
MSU Meyer Ref QH575.L24 1999

Encyclopedia of asthma and respiratory disorders
MSU Meyer Ref RC732 .N37 2003 

Encyclopedia of bioethics Vol. 1-5
MSU Meyer Ref QH332 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of molecular biology and molecular medicine
MSU Meyer Ref QH506.E534 1996

Encyclopedia of the brain and brain disorders
MSU Meyer Ref QP376. T87 2002

Encyclopedic dictionary of genetics, genomics, and proteomics
MSU Meyer Ref QH427 .R43 2003

Fields’ virology
MSU Meyer Ref QR360.V5125 2001

Human genome: a user’s guide
MSU Meyer Ref QH431.H353 1999

NutriBase nutrition facts desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref TX551.N75 2001

Nutrition: a reference handbook
MSU Meyer Ref TX353.B45 1997

PDR for nutritional supplements
MSU Meyer Ref RM258.5 .P37

PDR nurse’s drug handbook
MSU Meyer Ref Desk RM125.P472x

Physicians' desk reference : PDR
MSU Meyer Ref Desk RS75.P5

Quantities, symbols, units, and abbreviations in the life sciences: a guide for authors and editors
MSU Meyer Ref QH304.5.Q36 1999

Springer index of viruses
MSU Meyer Ref QR360 .S674 2002

Biomedical Sciences| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (formerly Health Care Financing Administration)
http://cms.hhs.gov/

Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
(Also available in Lexis-Nexis Congressional Universe)

Department of Energy. Office of Biological and Environmental Research
http://www.science.doe.gov/ober/ober_top.html

Department of Health and Human Services
http://www.hhs.gov/

Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005
http://www.health.gov/dietaryguidelines/dga2005/document/

Food and Drug Administration
http://www.fda.gov

FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/list.html

Good Nutrition: It’s a Way of Life
http://www.niapublications.org/engagepages/nutrition.asp

GPO Access Browse Topics (provides government information on a variety of topics such as AIDS, vital and health statistics,etc)
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/

Human Genome Project
http://www.ornl.gov/hgmis

National Bioethics Advisory Commission
http://www.bioethics.gov/

National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC)
http://www.guideline.gov
The National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research) in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

Understanding adult obesity [electronic resource].

National Institutes of Health
http://www.nih.gov/

Health Information
http://health.nih.gov/

Model Organisms for Biomedical Research
http://www.nih.gov/science/models

National Center for Biotechnology Information
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
http://www.nibib.nih.gov

Biosafety in microbiological and biomedical laboratories
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US  HE20.7002:B 52/999

Biomedical Sciences| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Association of Nurse Anesthetists
http://www.aana.com

American Dietetic Association
http://www.eatright.org

American Medical Informatics Association
http://www.amia.org/

American Medical Technologists
http://www.amt1.com/

American Society for Cell Biology
http://www.ascb.org

American Society of Biomechanics
http://www.asbweb.org/

American Society for Nutrition
http://www.nutrition.org/

Biomedical Engineering Society
http://www.bmes.org

Biotechnology Industry Organization
http://www.bio.org

Foundation for Biomedical Research
http://www.fbresearch.org

IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society
http://embs.gsbme.unsw.edu.au/

Society for Nutrition Education
http://www.sne.org

Biomedical Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Internet Resources for Nurse Practitioner Students
http://nurseweb.ucsf.edu/www/arwwebpg.htm

Martindale’s Health Science Guide: The “Virtual” Nursing Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/Nursing.html

Medical Encyclopedia
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html

Meyer Library Home Page: Selected Internet & WWW Sources: Medical
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/medical.shtml

On-Line Medical Dictionary
http://cancerweb.ncl.ac.uk/omd/

Missouri State University Department of Biomedical Science
http://www.missouristate.edu/bms/

Yoursurgery.com
http://www.yoursurgery.com/

Biomedical Sciences | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites
Audiovisuals

Audiovisuals Available at Meyer Library
The links will take you to into SWAN, the Missouri State University Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and location in the library.

DNA. The secret of life [videorecording] / produced and directed by David Glover.
MSU Meyer Media Coll DVD466

Food fight [videorecording] : childhood obesity and the food industry : food for thought / ABC News.
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video cassette N9054

High tech healthcare
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video Cassette N8222

Molecular biology
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video Cassette N6067

New directions [videorecording] / producer/writer/editor, Deborah Solomon Reid.
MSU Meyer Media Coll DVD319

Nutrition-focused physical assessment [videorecording] / HSTN.
MSU Meyer Media Coll Video cassette N9002

compiled by Betty Evans | Meyer Library
MSU Libraries | Missouri State University | Updated: July 2007