Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Biology Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Biology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.

AGRICOLA (5 user limit)
Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), AGRICOLA covers materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. The database includes records of books, journals and other serials, audiovisual and other materials from over 5000 sources and contains in excess of 3,600,000 records from 1970 to the present. It is updated monthly.

Analytical WebBase
This online version of Analytical Abstracts is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. It provides indexing and abstracting (with some full-text linking) to around 100 international journals from 1980 to date, updated weekly with around 300 new records to provide comprehensive coverage of new analytical techniques and applications from across the published literature. Key areas of analytical science covered include: Chromatography, electrophoresis, spectrometry and radiochemical methods; inorganic, organic and organometallic analysis, including applied and industrial products; clinical and biochemical analysis, including proteomics and genomics; pharmaceutical analysis, including drugs in biological fluids; and, environmental, agricultural and food analysis.

Biological Abstracts (10 user limit)
Biological Abstracts serves as an index to articles in over 4,000 scientific serials from the biological science areas. The database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969. Topics covered include botany, pharmacology, biochemistry, microbiology, and evolutionary ecology, genetics, and more. It is produced by Biological Abstracts, Inc. (BIOSIS), a not-for-profit organization that has served as a link between the life science community and worldwide biological research for over 70 years.

Biological & Agricultural Index (BioAgIndex) (2 user limit)
This database serves as an index to articles in leading U.S. and international publications in agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology. Specific topics include botany, cytology, fishery sciences, food science, genetics, horticulture, plant pathology, veterinary medicine, and zoology. It includes book reviews, biographical sketches, symposia and conference reports, and review articles. Produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, coverage is 1983 to present and includes over 1,100,000 records.

Dissertations Abstracts Online (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
Academic topics found in dissertations. Sources include U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses. Number of records: 2,000,000+. Dates covered: 1861 to present. Abstracts since 1980. Thesis abstracts since 1988.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
The online version of this five-volume subject encyclopedia features over 1000 entries that focus on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. The contributions are authored by 300 internationally renowned experts, professors, and scholars from some of the most distinguished universities, institutes and museums in the world. Special attention is given to: hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.

Ingenta
A database for the search and delivery of articles in all fields, including biology and other sciences. Free access for searching. Article delivery is fee-based. http://www.ingenta.com/

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

MEDLINE (6 user limit)
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

PapersFirst. (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk.)
PapersFirst, from OCLC, is an index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. It covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Coverage is 1993 to the present, and the database is updated twice a month.

ProceedingsFirst. (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk.)
Proceedings is an OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings. The database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre and contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. The Proceedings database contains over 74,000 records and includes coverage from 1993 to the present.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Analytical abstracts 1965-2005
MSU Meyer Ref QD 71 .A49

Biological and agricultural index 1964/1965-1998
MSU Meyer Ref S1.Z1 A46

Biological abstracts 1926-1968
MSU Meyer Ref QH301 .B37

Bioresearch index 1967-1969 (Continued by Biological abstracts/RRM).
MSU Meyer Ref QH301.Z1 B56x

Pollution abstracts 1970-1990
MSU Meyer Ref TD172 .P65

Science citation index 1981-2003
MSU Meyer Ref Z7401 .S365


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Biology as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Biology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Biology Teacher

American Midland Naturalist

American Naturalist

Animal Behavior

Audubon

BioScience

FASEB Journal: Official Publication of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Freshwater Biology

Integrative and Comparative Biology (Formerly: American Zoologist)

Journal of Bacteriology

Journal of Biological Education

Journal of Ecology

Journal of Experimental Biology

Journal of Fish Biology

Journal of Herpetology

Journal of Insect Behavior

Journal of Mammalogy

Journal of Wildlife Management

Quarterly Review of Biology

Wetlands: the Journal of the Society of the Wetlands Scientists

Biology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Biology, medicine, and surgery of elephants / edited by Murray E. Fowler and Susan K. Mikota. Ames, Iowa : Blackwell Pub., 2006.
MSU Meyer General SF997.5.E4 B56 2006

Conover, Michael R. Predator-prey dynamics : the role of olfaction. Boca Raton : CRC Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QL758 .C69 2007

Cooper, Geoffrey M. The cell : a molecular approach. Washington, D.C. : ASM Press ; Sunderland, Mass. : Sinauer Associates, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QH581.2 .C66 2007

Glass, David J. Experimental design for biologists. Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y. : Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QH323.5 .G565 2007

Gould, Stephen Jay. The richness of life : the essential Stephen Jay Gould. New York : W.W. Norton, 2007.
MSU Meyer General QH81 .G6733 2007

Humes, Edward. Monkey girl : evolution, education, religion, and the battle for America's soul. New York : Ecco, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QH362 .H86 2007

Kandel, Eric R. In search of memory : the emergence of a new science of mind. New York : W. W. Norton & Company, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC339.52.K362 A3 2006

Lienesch, Michael. In the beginning : fundamentalism, the Scopes trial, and the making of the antievolution movement. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General BT712 .L54 2007

Mukhopadhyay, Carol Chapnick. How real is race? : a sourcebook on race, culture, and biology. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2007.
MSU Meyer General HT1521 .M785 2007

The panda's black box : opening up the intelligent design controversy / edited by Nathaniel C. Comfort ; foreword by Daniel J. Kevles. Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Primrose, S. B. Principles of gene manipulation and genomics. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2006.
MSU Meyer General QH442 .O42 2006

Scientists confront intelligent design and creationism / edited by Andrew J. Petto and Laurie R. Godfrey. New York : W.W. Norton & Co., c2007.
MSU Meyer General QH366.2 .S43 2007

Stanford, Craig B. (Craig Britton). Apes of the impenetrable forest : the behavioral ecology of sympatric chimpanzees and gorillas. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2008.
MSU Meyer General QL737.P96 S723 2008

Stem cell research advances / edited by Lydia P. Davenport. New York : Nova Biomedical Books, c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Stem cells and myocardial regeneration / edited by Marc S. Penn. Totowa, N.J. : Humana Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General QH588.S83 S75 2007

Stow, D. A. V. (Dorrik A. V.). Oceans : an illustrated reference. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2006, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GC11.2 .S76 2006

Weaver, Robert Franklin. Molecular biology. Dubuque, IA : McGraw-Hill, c2008.
MSU Meyer General QH506 .W43 2008

Weinberg, Robert A. (Robert Allan). The biology of cancer. New York : Garland Science, c2007.
MSU Meyer General RC268.4 .W45 2007

Williams, D. Dudley. The biology of temporary waters. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General QH541.5.W3 W449 2006

Wilson, David Sloan. Evolution for everyone : how Darwin's theory can change the way we think about our lives. New York : Delacorte Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer Curric Juv B818 .W665 2007

Why aren't more women in science? : top researchers debate the evidence / edited by Stephen J. Ceci and Wendy M. Williams. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2007.
1 copy ordered for MSU Meyer General on 05-09-2007

Biology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America Vol. 1-7
MSU Meyer Ref QH77.N56 B43 2001

Biology Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref QH307.2 .B556 2002

Complete encyclopedia of trees and shrubs
MSU Meyer Ref QK474.87 .C66 2003

Complete guide to Antarctic wildlife : birds and marine mammals of the Antarctic continent and the Southern Ocean
MSU Meyer Ref QL695.2 .S55 2002

Diseases of trees and shrubs
MSU Meyer Ref SB762 .S56 2005

Encyclopedia of animal behavior Vol. 1-3
MSU Meyer Ref QL750.3 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of bioethics Vol. 1-5
MSU Meyer Ref QH332 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of biodiversity
MSU Meyer Ref QH541.15.B56 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of environmental studies
MSU Meyer Ref TD9 .A84 2001

Encyclopedia of evolution Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref QH360.2 .E54 2002

Encyclopedia of global environmental change
MSU Meyer Ref GE 149 .E443 2002

Encyclopedia of insects
MSU Meyer Ref QL462.3 .E49 2003

Encyclopedia of mammals
MSU Meyer Ref QL703.E53 2001

Encyclopedic dictionary of genetics, genomics, and proteomics
MSU Meyer Ref QH427 .R43 2003

Field guide to the mammals of Australia
MSU Meyer Ref QL733 .M46 2004

Firefly encyclopedia of birds
MSU Meyer Ref QL672.2 .F53 2003

Firefly encyclopedia of insects and spiders
MSU Meyer Ref QL462.3 .F57 2002

Firefly encyclopedia of reptiles and amphibians
MSU Meyer Ref QL640.7 .F57 2002

Handbook of medicinal herbs
MSU Meyer Ref QK99.A1 D83 2002

Life on earth : an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref QH541.15.B56 L54 2002

Magill's encyclopedia of science : plant life Vol. 1-4
MSU Meyer Ref QK7 .M34 2003

Mysterious creatures : a guide to cryptozoology Vol. 1-2
MSU Meyer Ref QL88.3 .E24 2002

Parasites of Homo sapiens : an annotated checklist of the protozoa, helminths, and arthropods for which we are home
MSU Meyer Ref QR251 .A83 2003

Taylor's encyclopedia of plants
MSU Meyer Ref SB403.2 .T39 2003

Biology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


SGA Biological Resources
http://biology.usgs.gov/

U.S. Dept. of the Interior
http://www.doi.gov/

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
http://www.fws.gov/

U.S. Geological Survey
http://www.usgs.gov/

Bioindicators for assessing ecological integrity of prairie wetlands
MSU Meyer Gov Docs EP 1.2:B 52/21

Cranes: their biology, husbandry, and conservation
MSU Meyer Gov Docs I 73.2:B 85

Department of Defense coral reef protection implementation plan
MSU Meyer Gov Docs D 1.2:C 81/2

Land use history of North America [electronic resource]

Life into space : space life sciences experiments, Ames Research Center, Kennedy Space Center, 1991-1998: including profiles of 1996-1998 experiments
MSU Meyer Gov Docs NAS 1.21:2000-534

Wild turkey harvest management: biology, strategies, and techniques
MSU Meyer Gov Docs I 49.2:T 84

Biology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Fisheries Society
http://www.fisheries.org/

American Institute of Biological Sciences
http://www.aibs.org/index.html

American Society for Microbiology
http://www.asm.org/

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists
http://www.asih.org/

American Society of Mammalogists
http://www.mammalsociety.org/

American Zoo and Aquarium Association
http://www.aza.org/

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
http://www.faseb.org/

Institute of Biology
http://www.iob.org/

National Association of Biology Teachers
http://www.nabt.org/

National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) http://www.nbii.gov/index.html

National Parks Conservation Association
http://www.npca.org/

National Science Foundation
http://www.nsf.gov/

Organization of Biological Field Stations
http://www.obfs.org/

Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology
http://www.sicb.org/

Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
http://www.ssarherps.org/

Biology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Conservation & Research Center Program (Smithsonian)
http://nationalzoo.si.edu/ConservationAndScience/CRC/

Environmental Working Group
http://www.ewg.org/

Environmental Research Center
http://www.serc.si.edu/

Frontiers in Bioscience
http://www.bioscience.org/

Smithsonian
http://www.si.edu/

National Museum of Natural History Research & Collections
http://www.mnh.si.edu/rc/

Missouri State University Department of Biology
http://biology.missouristate.edu/

Useful Links from Missouri State University Bio Dept: http://biology.missouristate.edu/Information/Resources.htm

Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
http://serc.si.edu/

Yahoo-Science-Biology
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Biology/

compiled by Charlotte Dugan | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July 2007