| Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries |
| Reference & Government Information Department |
Sports Medicine
& Athletic Training Pathfinder
Library
research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information
Department
| Sports Medicine & Athletic Training | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Find Articles and Basic
Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.
To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access
Online Indexes to Articles
Alt HealthWatch
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers researchers an immediate resource of full text articles from more than 180 international and often peer reviewed journals, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including articles published in virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from 17 allied health disciplines. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database also includes information on consumer health, health services librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982, with approximately 7,000 records added monthly.Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular strength in nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.MEDLINE
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Subjects include the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 25 language. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present. Over 55,000 references are added annually through regular updates.SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus, provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Indexed are articles from more than 2,000 sport-related journals and magazines, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, video and audio tapes, and book reviews. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, including bibliographic coverage for over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Sports Medicine & Athletic Training as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse
| Sports Medicine & Athletic Training | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Selected Journals in
the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet
which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic,
print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online,
or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This
is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University
Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular
title, then use TDNet
as your starting point.
ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal
Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly : APAQ
American Journal of Sports Medicine
Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Experimental Biology and Medicine
International Journal of Sports Medicine
Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy
Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
Sports Medicine Standards and Malpractice Reporter : MSUMR
| Sports Medicine & Athletic Training | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Recent Books in the
Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State
Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The
citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to
arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number
to browse the shelf for similar materials.
ACSM's health-related
physical fitness assessment manual / edited by Gregory B. Dwyer and Shala
E. Davis. Philadelphia : Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV436 .A35 2005
Athletic training
and sports medicine / edited by Chad Starkey, Glen Johnson. American Academy
of Orthopedic Surgeons. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .A84 2006
Biophysical foundations
of human movement / edited by Bruce Abernethy ... [et al.]. Champaign, IL
: Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General QP303 .B586 2005
Cuppett, Micki. General
medical conditions in the athlete. St. Louis, Mo. : Elsevier Mosby, c2005.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .C78 2005
DeLee & Drez's
orthopaedic sports medicine : principles and practice / edited by Jesse
C. DeLee, David Drez, Jr. Philadelphia, PA : Saunders, c2003.
MSU Meyer General RD97 .O78 2003
Female athlete
/ edited by Mary Lloyd Ireland, Aurelia Nattiv. Philadelphia : W.B. Saunders,
c2002.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .F365 2002
France, Robert C. Introduction
to sports medicine & athletic training. Australia ; United States [Clifton
Park, NY] : Thomson/Delmar Learning, c2004.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .F73 2004
Hillman, Susan Kay. Introduction
to athletic training. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .H49 2005
Norris, Christopher M. Sports
injuries : diagnosis and management. Edinburgh ; New York : Butterworth
Heinemann, 2004.
MSU Meyer General RD97 .N67 2004
Prentice, William E. Arnheim's
principles of athletic training : a competency-based approach. Boston :
McGraw-Hill, c2006.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .A75 2006
Sandler, David. Sports
power. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2005.
MSU Meyer General GV711.5 .S26 2005
Sports medicine
: a comprehensive approach / edited by Giles R. Scuderi, Peter D. McCann.
Philadelphia : Mosby-Elsevier, c2005.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .S76 2005
Starkey, Chad. Therapeutic
modalities. Philadelphia : F.A. Davis Co., c2004.
MSU Meyer General RC1210 .S785 2004
Training room
management of medical conditions / edited by John M. MacKnight. Philadelphia
: Saunders, c2005.
MSU Meyer General RC1200 .C34 2005
| Sports Medicine & Athletic Training | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reference Books at
Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries
catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call
number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials
are non-circulating items.
ACSM's
health/fitness facility standards and guidelines / American College of Sports
Medicine
MSU Meyer Ref GV429 .A45 1997
Advanced human nutrition
MSU Meyer Ref QP141.W467x 2000
Encyclopedia of public
health
MSU Meyer Ref RA423.E53 2002
Encyclopedia
of sports medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC1206 .O355 2005
Nutrition: a reference
handbook
MSU Meyer Ref TX353.B45 1997
Oxford dictionary of
sports science and medicine
MSU Meyer Ref RC1206 .O94 1994
Quick reference dictionary
for athletic training
MSU Meyer Ref RC1206 .B475 2002
Sports
and games of medieval cultures
MSU Meyer Ref GV 1200. W55 2002
Sports and games of the ancients
MSU Meyer Ref GV 17. C73 2002
Sports injuries sourcebook:
basic consumer health information about common sports injuries
MSU Meyer Ref RD97.S736 1999
| Sports Medicine & Athletic Training | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Government Sources
& Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in
the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.
DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international
government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri
State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm
USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov
GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.
Department of Health and Human Services
http://www.hhs.gov/
http://www.nih.gov/
http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/list.html
Healthfinder
http://www.healthfinder.gov/
Medline Plus
http://medlineplus.gov/
| Sports Medicine & Athletic Training | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.
General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/
American College of Sports Medicine
http://www.acsm.org/
American Council on Exercise
http://www.acefitness.org/
American Medical Athletic Association
http://www.amaasportsmed.org/
American Sports Medicine Institute
http://www.asmi.org/
National Athletic Trainers' Association
http://www.nata.org
National Federation of Professional Trainers
http://www.nfpt.com
National Strength and Conditioning Association
http://www.nsca-lift.org
Nicholas Institute of Sports Medicine and Athletic
Trauma
http://www.nismat.org/index.html
| Sports Medicine & Athletic Training | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information
on the Internet.
Atlas of Human Anatomy in Cross Section. Univ
of Iowa, Virtual Hospital
http://www.vh.org/Providers/Textbooks/HumanAnatomy/CrossSectionAtlas.html
British Journal of Sports Medicine
http://bjsm.bmjjournals.com/
Clinical Sports Medicine
http://www.clinicalsportsmedicine.com/index.htm
Gatorade Sports Science Institute
http://www.gssiweb.com/
Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body from Bartleby.com
http://www.bartleby.com/107/
Health Information
http://health.nih.gov/
MEDWEB @Emory University
http://www.medweb.emory.edu/MedWeb/
Missouri State University Department of Sports Medicine and Athletic Training
http://www.missouristate.edu/sportsmed/
Open Directory Project’s Sport Medicine links
http://dmoz.org/Health/Medicine/Medical_Specialties/Sports_Medicine/
Physician and Sports Medicine
http://www.physsportsmed.com/index.html
SportsMedicine.com
http://www.sportsmedicine.com/
compiled by Mike
Wendt adn updated by Byron Stewart | Meyer
Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: January
2006