Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Anthropology Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Anthropology| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

Anthropological Index Online
The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world. The online index includes all entries from the print index and is updated regularly. During 2000 and early 2001 a retrospective conversion was undertaken which has added some 100,000 records going back to 1957. These were originally published on paper as vols 1-22 of the Anthropological Index some of which Meyer Library has in paper in the reference collection.

ATLA Religion (Religion Index)
The ATLA Religion Database is a major research tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, indexing and abstracting over 1,500 sources annually. The more than 1,300,000 records in ATLA Religion Database include citations to journal articles, essays from multi-author works, and book reviews. ATLA's indexing of multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings, is unique among religion databases. ATLA Religion, published by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), is the online version of the publisher's three print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Coverage is from 1949 to the present.

Daily Life Online
Daily Life Online's suite of social history products (over 430 titles) is comprised of four separate modules: Daily Life through History, Daily Life Premium, World Folklore and Folklife, and Daily Life America. Combined, these four databases provide a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students. All aspects of daily life are covered: religion, domestic issues, economy, government, recreation, food, clothing, travel, music and dance, tales, myths, urban legends, and other subject areas. Daily Life through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary source documents. Covering all time periods and aspects of world history, this database contains 44 volumes from the Daily Life through History series, as well as six volumes from the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life. Daily Life Premium contains an additional 131 titles, including 41 volumes from the Culture and Customs series, as well as over 45 country history monographs, along with other series on food culture and teen life. World Folklore and Folklife contains over 90 monographs, from general overviews of folklife and folklore to specific folktales. Organized by subject and region/country, World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region or country. Finally, Daily Life America, comprised of 125 monographs, highlights such topics as crime, food, music, and other social and cultural aspects of life in America.

Discovering Collection
The Discovering Collection, a Gale Research Group publication, is a comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, geography, science and social studies. Included in this full-text database are 25 reference databases/titles, 16,000 biographies, over 13,000 photographs, illustrations, images, audio and video files, over 16,500 Timeline Events, 3,200 plot summaries, 13,000 criticisms, and 18,000 essays and overviews.

eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database for disciplines with an interest in cultural diversity. eHRAF contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. Cultures included are mostly immigrant groups, Native North Americans, and other ethnic groups from around the world. The Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cross-cultural anthropology. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences. The mission of HRAF is to encourage and facilitate worldwide comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. Founded in 1949 at Yale University, HRAF is a financially autonomous research agency of Yale.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
The online version of this five-volume subject encyclopedia features over 1000 entries that focus on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. The contributions are authored by 300 internationally renowned experts, professors, and scholars from some of the most distinguished universities, institutes and museums in the world. Special attention is given to: hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.

Historical Abstracts on ABC-CLIO
Historical Abstracts provides coverage of the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database contains annotated references to journal articles and other publications on world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. The database contains over half a million citation entries from more than 1,700 periodicals dating from 1954 to the present. In addition, Historical Abstracts includes citations to historical books in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. In 2006, Historical Abstracts began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

Projec Muse
Project Muse provides access to 383 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text (SIFT) offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, gender studies, social work, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SIFT contains more than 1,700,000 records, including informative abstracts for more than 740 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as the early 20th century. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 540 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. SIFT contains full text articles for 330 "core" coverage journals and 90 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text coverage for 566 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Anthropological index
MSU Meyer Reference Z5111 .R67

International bibliography of anthropology
MSU Meyer Reference GN301.Z1 I58x
Continues International bibliography of social and cultural anthropology.


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Anthropology as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Anthropology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

American Anthropologist

American Antiquity

American Ethnologist

American Journal of Physical Anthropology

Anthropological Quarterly

Anthropology and Humanism

Current Anthropology

Ethnology

Ethos

Evolutionary Anthropology: Issues, News, and Reviews

Journal of American Folklore

Journal of Anthropological Archaeology

Journal of Anthropological Research

Journal of Human Evolution

Southwestern Journal of Anthropology

Anthropology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Archaeological anthropology : perspectives on method and theory / edited by James M. Skibo, Michael W. Graves, and Miriam T. Stark ; with a foreword by Patty Jo Watson. Tucson : University of Arizona Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General CC75.7 .A71855 2007

Archaeology of Oceania : Australia and the Pacific Islands / edited by Ian Lilley. Malden, MA : Blackwell, 2006.
MSU Meyer General DU28 .A73 2006

The archaeology of warfare : prehistories of raiding and conquest / edited by Elizabeth N. Arkush and Mark W. Allen. Gainesville : University Press of Florida, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GN799.W26 A73 2006

Ethnographic fieldwork: an anthropological reader / edited by Antonius C.G.M. Robben and Jeffrey A. Sluka. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General GN346 .E675 2007

Extraordinary anthropology: transformations in the field / edited by Jean-Guy A. Goulet and Bruce Granville Miller ; with a preface by Johannes Fabian. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GN502 .E98 2007

Feminist anthropology: past, present, and future / edited by Pamela L. Geller and Miranda K. Stockett. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GN33.8 .F443 2006

Forensic recovery of human remains: archaeological approaches / edited by Tosha L. Dupras ... [et al.]. Boca Raton, FL : Taylor & Francis, 2006.
MSU Meyer General GN69.8 .F695 2006

Galloway, Patricia Kay. Practicing ethnohistory: mining archives, hearing testimony, constructing narrative. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General GN345.2 .G35 2006

Kiefer, Christie W. Doing health anthropology: research methods for community assessment and change. New York : Springer, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GN296 .K54 2007

Matthews, Victor Harold. Studying the ancient Israelites: a guide to sources and methods. Grand Rapids, MI : Baker Academic, 2007.
MSU Meyer General DS112 .M335 2007

Pool, Christopher A. Olmec archaeology and early Mesoamerica. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
MSU Meyer General F1219.8.O56 P66 2007

Randall, Margaret. Stones witness. Tucson : University of Arizona Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GN740 .R35 2007

Saitta, Dean J. The archaeology of collective action. Gainesville : University Press of Florida, c2007.
MSU Meyer General E159.5 .S28 2007

The social experience of childhood in ancient Mesoamerica / edited by Traci Ardren and Scott R. Hutson. Boulder, Colo. : University Press of Colorado, c2006.
MSU Meyer General F1435.2.C44 S63 2006

Wilk, Richard R. Economies and cultures: foundations of economic anthropology. Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General GN448 .W55 2007

Anthropology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

Archaeological encyclopedia of the Holy Land
MSU Meyer Ref DS111.A2 A73 2001

Blackwell companion to social theory
MSU Meyer Ref H61 .B4773 2000

Cambridge encyclopedia of archaeology
MSU Meyer Ref CC165 .C3 1980b

CultureGrams
MSU Meyer Ref Desk GT150 .C863 2005 Vol. 1-4

Encyclopedia of American Indian contributions to the world : 15,000 years of inventions and innovations
MSU Meyer Ref E54.5 .K46 2002

Encyclopedia of anthropology
MSU Meyer Ref GN11 .E52

Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology
MSU Meyer Ref GN307 .E52 1996 Vol. 1-4

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world
MSU Meyer Ref BP40 .E525 2004

Encyclopedia of medical anthropology : health and illness in the world's cultures
MSU Meyer Ref RA418 .E354 2004

Encyclopedia of multiculturalism
MSU Meyer Ref E184.A1 E58 1994

Encyclopedia of world cultures
MSU Meyer Ref GN307 .E53 1991

Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America
MSU Meyer Ref E184.A1 G14 1995

Handbook of social and cultural anthropology
MSU Meyer Ref GN315 .H642

International bibliography of anthropology = Bibliographie internationale d'anthropologie
MSU Meyer Ref GN301.Z1 I58x 1998-2005 Vol. 44 - 51

International bibliography of social and cultural anthropology
MSU Meyer Ref GN301.Z1 I58x

International dictionary of anthropologists
MSU Meyer Ref GN20 .I5 1991

Man, myth & magic; an illustrated encyclopedia of the supernatural
MSU Meyer Ref BF1411 .M25 Vol. 1-24

Native Americans
MSU Meyer Ref E93 .N32 2002

Social science encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref H41 .S63 1996

Thematic list of descriptors--anthropology
MSU Meyer Ref GN301.Z1 I582x 1989

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life
MSU Meyer Ref GN333 .W67 1998

Anthropology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


USA.gov Whatever you want or need from the U.S. government, it's here on USA.gov. You'll find a rich treasure of online information, services and resources.
http://www.usa.gov/

Departments and Agencies:
Smithsonian Institution
http://www.si.edu/

National Museum of Natural History - Anthropology
http://anthropology.si.edu/cm/

Library of Congress, American Folklife Center
http://lcweb.loc.gov/folklife/

Missouri State Historic Preservation Office
http://www.dnr.mo.gov/shpo/

Publications:
Annual report of…the Smithsonian Institution (1846-1992)
MSU Meyer Govt. Docs SI 1.1:

Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology (1879/80-1928/29)
MSU Meyer Govt. Docs SI 2.1

Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletin (Nos. 1-200, 1887-1971)
MSU Meyer Govt. Docs SI 2.3: (incomplete)

Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology (series)
MSU Meyer Govt. Docs SI 1.33: (numbered by volume)

U.S. National Museum Bulletin (series)
MSU Meyer Govt. Docs SI 3.3:

Archeological overview and assessment for Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Greene and Christian counties, Missouri
MSU Meyer Govt. Docs I 29.2:W 69/4

Series: Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US SI 1.33: (numbered by volume)

Archeological overview and assessment for Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Greene and Christian counties, Missouri
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US I 29.2:W 69/4

Anthropology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


American Anthropological Association
http://www.aaanet.org/

American Association of Physical Anthropologists
http://www.physanth.org/

Archaeological Institute of America
http://www.archaeological.org/

SAAweb: Society for American Archaeology
http://www.saa.org

Society for Archaeological Sciences
http://www.socarchsci.org/

Anthropology | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

Anthropology & Archaeology - Selected Internet Resources from Missouri State University Libraries
http://library.missouristate.edu/resources/anth.shtml

Anthropology in the News (Texas A&M)
http://www.tamu.edu/anthropology/news.html  

Anthropology on the Internet for K-12
http://www.sil.si.edu/SILPublications/Anthropology-K12

Careers in Anthropology
http://anthropology.missouristate.edu/41247.htm

Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/e/ehrafe/
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a unique cross-cultural database. It contains more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. The full-text materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.

Public Anthropology
http://www.publicanthropology.org/index.htm

Resources in Ethnographic Studies.
http://lcweb.loc.gov/folklife/other.html

Missouri State University Anthropology Program (Department of Sociology & Anthropology)
http://www.missouristate.edu/anthropology/

Writing Tools for Anthropology Students:
http://www.as.ua.edu/ant/lib/writ1.htm

AAA Style Guide
http://www.aaanet.org/pubs/style_guide.htm

compiled by Crystal Gale | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: January 2008