Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

Agriculture Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

Agriculture| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, a classic reference encyclopedia for the sciences, makes up the core of AccessScience. AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. In addition to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, AcessScience includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines, access to 110,000+ definitions from The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, links to evaluated related web sites, and much more.

AGRICOLA (5 user limit)
Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), AGRICOLA covers materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. The database includes records of books, journals and other serials, audiovisual and other materials from over 5000 sources and contains in excess of 3,600,000 records from 1970 to the present. It is updated monthly.

Animal Breeding Abstracts
Animal Breeding Abstracts is a sub-database of CABI Online Abstract Journals and a product of the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux (CAB) International. It cites and abstracts information from 1972 to the present from journal articles, reports, conferences and books about animal breeding, genetics, reproduction, and production. "Animal Breeding Abstracts is updated weekly online, delivering all the new highly-targeted, searchable summaries covering key English and foreign language journal articles, reports, conferences and books on these topics. Created and indexed by subject specialists Animal Breeding Abstracts provides access to these abstracts alongside comprehensive indexing, classification codes, taxonomies, thesauri and other data mining functionalities. It includes a fully searchable backfile to 1990 of over 165,000 research summaries. Over 12,000 records are added each year, bringing a wealth of current and seminal research in animal genetics, reproduction and husbandry to your fingertips." Topic coverage includes all aspects of biological research in immunogenetics, genetic engineering and fertility improvement in horses, cattle, sheep, goats, poultry, lab animals, etc.

Biological Abstracts (10 user limit)
Biological Abstracts serves as an index to articles in over 4,000 scientific serials from the biological science areas. The database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969. Topics covered include botany, pharmacology, biochemistry, microbiology, and evolutionary ecology, genetics, and more. It is produced by Biological Abstracts, Inc. (BIOSIS), a not-for-profit organization that has served as a link between the life science community and worldwide biological research for over 70 years.

Biology & Agricultural Index (BioAgIndex) (2 user limit)
This database serves as an index to articles in leading U.S. and international publications in agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology. Specific topics include botany, cytology, fishery sciences, food science, genetics, horticulture, plant pathology, veterinary medicine, and zoology. It includes book reviews, biographical sketches, symposia and conference reports, and review articles. Produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, coverage is 1983 to present and includes over 1,100,000 records.

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
This e-resource of the three-volume, 2008 ed. contains over 750 articles about all aspects of global warming and climate change. "Among the selection of articles, specific country entries are included, rather than climatic or environmental regions, to give the reader the opportunity to get information on the status of global warming—its causes and effects—by country, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Also included are articles within specific categories, including: atmospheric sciences; climate; climate change effects; climate and society; climate feedbacks; climate models; institutions studying climate change; oceanography; paleoclimates; programs and conventions; and people studying climate change."

Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment
This online edition of the 2004, four-volume encyclopedia "encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere. A team of outstanding, international contributors has written over 250 entries that cover a broad range of issues facing today's soil scientists, ecologists, and environmental scientists. This four-volume set features thorough articles that survey specific aspects of soil biology, ecology, chemistry and physics. Rounding out the encyclopedia's excellent coverage, contributions cover cross-disciplinary subjects, such as the history of soil utilization for agricultural and engineering purposes and soils in relation to the remediation of pollution and the mitigation of global climate change. This comprehensive, yet accessible source is a valuable addition to the library of scientists, researchers, students, and policy makers involved in soil science, ecology, and environmental science. Also available online via ScienceDirect – featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy."

GreenFile
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. It is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and related topics. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

MEDLINE (6 user limit)
Medline is a bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Medline corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. The Medline database includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. The litany of specific fields, subjects, and topics includes clinical medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, education, psychiatry, experimental medicine, toxicology, health services administration, veterinary medicine and nursing. The Medline database has over 15,000,000 records from 9,584 sources. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Part of the ejournal collections from MSU Libraries, ScienceDirect provides full-text access from 1999-present to about 240 journals published by Elsevier Science which are subscribed to by MSU Libraries, along with complementary access to another 80 titles with limited coverage. The majority of journal titles are from the natural and applied science areas of biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, mathematics, computer sciences, etc. but social science titles such as from business, psychology, library science, economics, and history are also part of the collection. From the ScienceDirect home page as a licensed user through MSU Libraries you can: browse the table of contents of over 2,600 journals, search across all information available in the database, view abstracts of over 3 million articles, and view the full-text of articles in those journals subscribed to by MSU Libraries. For a complete list of ScienceDirect journals titles subscribed to by MSU, go to the ScienceDirect page and check "full-text available".


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Animal breeding abstracts, v.51 (1990) - v.71 (2004)
MSU Meyer RefSF1 .A63

Biological abstracts, v.1 (1926) - v.49 (1968)
MSU Meyer RefQH301 .B37

Biological and agricultural index, v.19 (1964/65) - v.52 (1997/98)
MSU Meyer RefS1.Z1 A46

Nutrition abstracts and reviews, B: livestock feeds and feeding, v.47 (1977) - v.74 (2004)
MSU Meyer RefSF95 .N867

Science citation index, 1981-2003 (v. 1-28) + guide
MSU Meyer RefZ7401 .S365


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Agriculture as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

Agriculture | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

Agribusiness

Agricultural Education Magazine

Agronomy Journal

American Journal of Agricultural Economics

Animal Reproduction Science

Animal Science: an International Journal of Fundamental and Applied Research

Crop Science

Dairy Herd Management

Egg Industry

Environmental Entomology

Farm Journal

Hereford World: HW

Hoard's Dairyman

Journal of Agricultural Education

Journal of Agricultural Science

Journal of Animal Science

Journal of dairy science

Journal of Equine Veterinary Science

Journal of Range Management

Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association

Plant Disease

Poultry Science

Soil Science

Successful Farming

Today's Farmer

Weed Science

Agriculture | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Agricultural growth for the poor : an agenda for development. Washington, D.C. : World Bank, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HD1542 .A337 2005

Agriculture as a producer and consumer of energy / edited by Joe L. Outlaw, Keith J. Collins, and James A. Duffield. Wallingford, Oxfordshire, UK ; Cambridge, MA, USA : CABI Pub., c2005.
MSU Meyer General HD9502.5.A433 A47 2005

Battaglia, Richard A. Handbook of livestock management. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2007.
MSU Meyer General SF65.2 .B38 2007

Centner, Terence J. Empty pastures : confined animals and the transformation of the rural landscape. Urbana, Ill. : University of Illinois Press, c2004.
MSU Meyer General S441 .C45 2004

Christiaensen, Luc J. Down to earth : agriculture and poverty reduction in Africa. Washington, DC : World Bank, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD2117 .C477 2007

Climate change and global food security / edited by R. Lal ... [et al.]. Boca Raton, FL : Taylor & Francis, 2005.
MSU Meyer General S600.7.C54 C6524 2005

Dean, Virgil W. An opportunity lost : the Truman administration and the farm policy debate. Columbia : University of Missouri Press, c2006.
MSU Meyer General HD1761 .D366 2006

Forages : the science of grassland agriculture / under the editorial authorship of Robert F. Barnes ... [et al.] ; with 94 contributing authors. Ames, Iowa : Blackwell, c2007.
MSU Meyer General SB193 .F64 2007

Gardner, Bruce L. American agriculture in the twentieth century : how it flourished and what it cost. Cambridge, Mass. ; London : Harvard University Press, 2006.
MSU Meyer General HD1761 .G2447 2006

Hoover, Dwight W. A good day's work : an Iowa farm in the Great Depression. Chicago : Ivan R. Dee, 2007.
MSU Meyer General F627.M2 H75 2007

Hossner, K. L. (Kim L.). Hormonal regulation of farm animal growth. Wallingford, Oxfordshire, UK ; Cambridge, MA : CABI Publ., c2005.
MSU Meyer General SF768 .H67 2005

Jones, C. Allan. Texas roots : agriculture and rural life before the Civil War. College Station : Texas A&M University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General F389 .J66 2005

Let them eat precaution : how politics is undermining the genetic revolution in agriculture / edited by Jon Entine. Washington, D.C. : AEI Press ; Blue Ridge Summit, PA : Distributed to the trade by National Book Network, c2006.
MSU Meyer General SB106.B56 L48 2006

Moats, Jason B. Agroterrorism : a guide for first responders. College Station : Texas A&M University Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HV6433.5 .M63 2007

Nutrient requirements of small ruminants : sheep, goats, cervids, and New World camelids / Committee on Nutrient Requirements of Small Ruminants, Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources, Division on Earth and Life Studies, National Research Council of the National Academies. Washington, D.C. : National Academies Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General SF95 .N78 2007

Ramírez-Ferrero, Eric. Troubled fields : men, emotions, and the crisis in American farming. New York : Columbia University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HV6548.U52 O57 2005

Ridder, Mary. Roots of change : Nebraska's new agriculture. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c2007.
MSU Meyer General HD1491.U6 N27 2007

Thomson, Jennifer A. Seeds for the future : the impact of genetically modified crops on the environment. Ithaca, NY : Comstock Pub. Associates, 2007.
MSU Meyer General SB123.57 .T494 2007

Whole grains and health / edited by Len Marquart ... [et al.]. Ames, Iowa : Blackwell Pub., 2007.
MSU Meyer General RA776 .W4556 2007

Agriculture | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

American horticultural society A-Z encyclopedia of garden plants
MSU Meyer Ref SB403.2 .A45 1997

Black's veterinary dictionary
MSU Meyer Ref SF609 .B53 1998

Cattle: a handbook to the breeds of the world
MSU Meyer Ref SF198 .P67 1991

Crop protection handbook
MSU Meyer Ref S633 .A5 2007

Dictionary of agriculture
MSU Meyer Ref S411 .D573 1998

Encyclopedia of agricultural, food, and biological engineering
MSU Meyer Ref TP368.2 .E57 2003

Encyclopedia of agricultural science
MSU Meyer Ref S411 .E713 1994

Encyclopedia of global environmental change
MSU Meyer Ref GE 149 .E443 2002

Encyclopedia of plant and crop science
MSU Meyer Ref SB45 .E486 2004

Encyclopedia of plant pathology
MSU Meyer Ref SB728 .E53 2001

Handbook of soil science
MSU Meyer Ref S591 .H23 2000

International encyclopedia of horse breeds
MSU Meyer Ref SF291 .H37 1995 

New York botanical garden illustrated encyclopedia of horticulture. 10 vols. 1980-82
MSU Meyer Ref SB317.58 .E94

Pesticide manual : a world compendium incorporating the agrochemicals handbook
MSU Meyer Ref SB951 .P434 1997

Register of new fruit and nut varieties
MSU Meyer Ref SB357.33 .R44x 1997

Taylor's encyclopedia of plants
MSU Meyer Ref SB403.2 .T39 2003

Agriculture | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.

DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm

USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Departments and Agencies:
National Agriculture Library
http://www.nal.usda.gov/

United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization
http://www.fao.org/

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
http://www.usda.gov/

U.S. Deptartment of the Interior (DOI)
http://www.doi.gov/

USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service: Plant Protection and Quarantine
http://www.aphis.usda.gov/plant_health/index.shtml

USDA Economic Research Service (ERS)
http://www.ers.usda.gov/

ERs State Fact Sheets
http://www.ers.usda.gov/statefacts/

USDA Farm Service Agency
http://www.fsa.usda.gov/pas/default.asp

USDA Foreign Agriculture Service
http://www.fas.usda.gov/ , Horticulture & Tropical Products Division http://www.fas.usda.gov/htp/fruit_veg.asp

USDA Forest Service
http://www.fs.fed.us/

USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.nass.usda.gov/index.asp

US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov/
“EPA's mission is to protect human health and to safeguard the natural environment — air, water, and land — upon which life depends.”  Included are chemistry issues pertaining to water quality such as arsenic in water, anthrax decontamination, toxic waste cleanup, etc.

US Geological Survey: USGS
http://www.usgs.gov/
The USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior in four major areas: natural hazards, resources, the environment, and information and data management

US House Committee on Agriculture
http://agriculture.house.gov/

US Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry
http://www.senate.gov/~agriculture/

US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
http://www.os.dhhs.gov/
Includes agencies like the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Publications:
Agricultural Atlas of the United States 1992, 1997, 2002
1992 http://www.nass.usda.gov/census/census92/atlas92/html/
1997 http://www.nass.usda.gov/census/census97/atlas97/menu.htm
2002 http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp

USDA United States Department of Agriculture Agency Reports/Schedule
http://www.usda.gov/news/releases/rptcal/calindex.htm

World Wide Weather and Climate Events
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/OA/reports/weather-events.html

Agriculture statistics
MSU Meyer Gov Docs A 1.47: or online at http://www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm

Background report on fertilizer use, contaminants, and regulations [microform].
MSU Meyer Gov Docs EP 5.2:F 41

Census of Agriculture 1992, 1997, 2002
MSU Meyer Gov Docs A 92.53/56:997 or online at http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp

Weekly weather and crop bulletin
MSU Meyer Gov Docs C 55.209:  or online at http://www.usda.gov/oce/index.htm

Agriculture | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Agronomic Science Foundation
https://www.a-s-f.org/

American Agricultural Economics Association
http://www.aaea.org/

American Farm Bureau: The Voice of Agriculture
http://www.fb.com/

American Phytopathological Society (plant diseases)
http://www.apsnet.org/

American Society of Agronomy
http://www.agronomy.org/

CAB International – “a leading global...organisation specialising in…solutions for agricultural and environmental problems”
http://www.cabi.org/

Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST)
http://www.cast-science.org/

Crop Science Society of America
http://www.crops.org/

National Corn Growers Association
http://www.ncga.com/

National FFA Organization
http://www.ffa.org/

National Honey Board
http://www.honey.com/

National Pork Board
http://www.porkboard.org/home/default.asp

Soil Science Society of America
http://www.soils.org/

Weed Science Society of America
http://www.wssa.net/

Agriculture | All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

AgEcon Search
http://agecon.lib.umn.edu/

AgriClick
http://industryclick.com/microsites/index.asp?srid=5&pageid=306&siteid=5&magazineid=9999&srtype=0

Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)
http://www.agnic.org/

AgWeb.com
http://www.agweb.com/

Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
http://www.nal.usda.gov/afsic/

American Farmland Trust
http://www.farmland.org/

Animal Welfare
http://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal_welfare/index.shtml

Breeds of Livestock
http://www.ansi.okstate.edu/breeds/


Chicago
Board of Trade for Commodities
http://www.cbot.com/

Congressional Research Service Reports/Agriculture
http://cnie.org/NLE/CRSreports/Agriculture/

Environmental Working Group
http://www.ewg.org/

Environmental Working Group/Farm Subsidy Database (Searchable by state, county, city, zip code, or individual farmer)
http://www.ewg.org/farm/

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
http://www.fao.org/

Missouri State University Department of Agriculture
http://ag.missouristate.edu/

Pork Science & Technology
http://www.pork.org/PorkScience/default.aspx

Refdesk.com/Agriculture
http://www.refdesk.com/factlib.html

SoyGrowers.com by the American Soybean Association
http://www.soygrowers.com/

Sustainable Agriculture Network
http://www.sare.org/

Yahoo/Science/Agriculture
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/agriculture/

compiled by Charlotte Dugan | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July 2007