| Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries |
| Reference & Government Information Department |
Accounting
Pathfinder
Library
research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information
Department
| Accounting| All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Find Articles and Basic
Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.
To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access
Online Indexes to Articles
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Business Source Premier provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922 and contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. This database is updated daily.Business Source Premier - Enhanced Business Searching Interface
This database, an expanded version of Business Source Premier, includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and Country Watch, as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.LexisNexis Academic, See All topics - Select "Accounting and Tax" or "Accounting law."
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of several thousand news, business, legal, and biographical sources. The "news" section includes over 350 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, 600 newsletters, wire services, transcripts of broadcasts, and nearly 300 college/university papers. "Business" sources include business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. "Legal" includes primary source materials such as case law, statutes, and regulations, including Shepard's citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, as well as all federal and state courts. It also includes law review articles from over 500 publications, and patents from 1971 forward. "People" includes biographical information for persons, both alive and deceased. In addition to news, business, legal and biographical information, LexisNexis Academic provides access to medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. Country information on over 190 countries, with business and political risk analysis, as well as the World Almanac are other selected resources found in this database.
Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
CCH Tax Research Network
Included in this online tax research service from Commerce Clearing House are Federal, State, and Financial & Estate files. The Federal service includes the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, Federal Estate/Gift Tax Reporter, Federal Excise Tax Reporter, current Internal Revenue Code, cases and rulings, as well as other IRS publications. The State file contains all State Tax Reporters as well as State Tax Laws. Coverage is current and updates vary according to the publication.Standard and Poors NetAdvantage
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is the premier reference tool for company financial and business industry information. Provides detailed business information and corporation records on over 12,000 publicly held U.S. and international corporations. Includes individual company stock reports, bond guides, dividend records, earnings guides, mutual fund reports, and S&P's Industry Surveys reports. NetAdvantage also contains a directory of corporation contact information, including directors and executives, and also includes a security dealers directory. NetAdvantage is a powerful research tool giving access to the core Standard & Poor's reference publications in one single interface.STAT-USA (Available at the Meyer Library reference desk).
STAT-USA (http://www.stat-usa.gov/), a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government such as United States economic indicators and statistical releases on U.S. economy; the National Trade Data Bank; foreign investment and marketing research reports and sources & economic reports on countries and regions of the world. Focused data on the United States domestic economy is provided in the State of the Nation portion of STAT-USA, while the Globus & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) section provides international trade and foreign country market information. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. GLOBUS also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library in GLOBUS/NTDB is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade.
Specialized Tax Research Tools in the Print Reference Collection of Meyer Library
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.From BNA
Tax Management Portfolios
MSU Meyer Ref KF6289.A1 T35
Series of accounting practice and standards, rules and regulations, on specific tax accounting topics. More than 300 Portfolios written by more than 1,000 of the world’s leading tax authorities cover U.S. Income; Estates, Gifts and Trusts; and Foreign Income. See the titles published by Tax Management Inc. in the Meyer Reference Collection.From RIA
Fiduciary tax return guide
MSU Meyer Ref KF6443.Z9 F5 2002Individual tax return guide
MSU Meyer Ref KF6369.6 .R47 2002RIA federal tax handbook
MSU Meyer Ref KF6272 .M37Tax action coordinator
MSU Meyer Ref KF6365 .T25xCorporation and partnership tax return guide
MSU Meyer Ref KF6452.A65 C67x 2002
Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.Accounting & tax index
MSU Meyer Ref HF5635 .A33xAccountants' index. Supplement
MSU Meyer Ref Z7164.C81 A5
General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying Accounting as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 175 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher, JSTOR, Project Muse
| Accounting | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Selected Journals in
the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet
which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic,
print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online,
or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This
is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University
Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular
title, then use TDNet
as your starting point.
International Journal of Accounting
Journal of Accounting Literature
National Public Accountant (title change to NPA Magazine)
| Accounting | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Recent Books in the
Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State
Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The
citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to
arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number
to browse the shelf for similar materials.
Bragg, Steven M. Accounting
best practices. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2004.
MSU Meyer General HF5635 .B818 2004
Bragg,
Steven M. Controller's
guide : roles and responsibilities for the first years. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley,
c2005.
MSU Meyer General HG4026
.B662 2005
Bragg,
Steven M. The ultimate
accountants' reference : including GAAP, IRS & SEC
regulations, leases, and more. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HF5616.U5
B713 2005
Bendrey, Mike. Essentials
of financial accounting in business. London : Thomson Learning, 2004.
MSU Meyer General HF5635 .B418 2004
Choi,
Frederick D. S. International
accounting. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Pearson Prentice Hall, c2005.
MSU Meyer General HF5686.I56
C53 2005
Evans, Thomas G. Accounting
theory : contemporary accounting issues. Mason, Ohio : Thomson/South-Western,
c2003.
MSU Meyer General HF5625 .E93 2003
Federal and state
taxation of limited liability companies. Gaithersburg, Md. : Aspen Publishers,
c2002.
MSU Meyer General KF6452 .F43 2003
Financial accounting
theory and analysis : text readings and cases / edited by Richard G. Schroeder,
Myrtle W. Clark, Jack M. Cathey. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, 2005.
MSU Meyer General HF5625 .A2394 2005
Focus on finance
and accounting research / edited by Michael H. Neelan. New York : Nova Science
Publishers, c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.
Globalisation
of accounting standards / edited by Jayne M. Godfrey and
Keryn Chalmers. Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA : Edward Elgar, c2007.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.
Jackson,
Steve. Managerial
accounting : a focus on ethical decision making. Mason, OH : Thomson/South-Western,
c2008.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.
Taxes and business
strategy : a planning approach edited by Myron S. Scholes ... [et al.].
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall, 2005.
MSU Meyer General KF6450 .S33 2005
| Accounting | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Reference Books at
Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries
catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call
number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials
are non-circulating items.
Accountant’s handbook
MSU Meyer Ref HF5621 .A22
Accounting methods
: adoption and changes
MSU Meyer Ref KF6289.A1 T35 no. 572-
Accounting thesaurus:
500 years of accounting
MSU Meyer Ref HF5625 .A56 1995
Blackwell encyclopedic
dictionary of accounting
MSU Meyer Ref HF5621 .B54 1997
Dictionary
of accounting [electronic
resource] MSU
Only Available Electronically
MSU Electronic Resource HF5621 .D53 2005
Encyclopedia of accounting
systems
MSU Meyer Ref HF5635 .E54 1994
Handbook of financial
analysis, forecasting, and modeling
MSU Meyer Ref HG4011 .S46 2001
Oxford encyclopedia
of economic history
MSU Meyer Ref HC15 .O94 2003
RIA's complete analysis
of the economic growth and tax relief reconciliation act of 2001 : with
code sections as amended and committee reports
MSU Meyer Ref KF154 .A425x 2001
RIA's complete analysis of the job creation and worker assistance
act of 2002
MSU Meyer Ref KF6276.595.R53 2002
| Accounting | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Government Sources
& Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in
the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.
DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international
government web sites from the Reference and Government Department at Missouri
State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htm
USA.gov - the United States government's official web portal.
http://www.usa.gov
GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.
Building the workforce
capacity to successfully implement financial systems [electronic resource] :
exposure draft / Chief Financial Officers Council and Joint Financial Management
Improvement Program.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs (Online)
EFTPS : 4 easy ways to use EFTPS : for tax practioners, accountants
and payroll companies
MSU Meyer Gov Docs
Executive guide, best
practices in achieving consistent, accurate physical counts of inventory and
related property
MSU Meyer Gov Docs
Information for Accountants and Auditors
http://sec.gov/about/offices/oca.htm
Internal revenue
cumulative bulletin / edited by Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service.
Washington : U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., 1953-1969.
MSU Meyer Gov Docs US T 22.25:
Internal Revenue Service
http://www.irs.gov/
Missouri Department of Revenue
http://dor.mo.gov/
Occupational Outlook Handbook Data
http://www.stats.bls.gov/oco/ocos001.htm
United States Security andExchange Commission
http://www.sec.gov/
Links from the SEC at http://www.sec.gov/links.shtml
| Accounting | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.
General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
http:// www.aicpa.org
Association for Accounting Administration
http://www.cpaadmin.org
Financial Accounting Standards Board
http://www.fasb.org/
International Federation of Accountants
http://www.ifac.org
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy
http://www.NASBA.org
| Accounting | All Pathfinders (A-Z) | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information
on the Internet.
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
http://www.aicpa.org/index.htm
CPAFirms.com
http://www.cpafirms.com/
CPAnet
http://www.cpanet.com/
Missouri State University School of Accountancy
http://www.missouristate.edu/SOA/
Tax and Accounting Sites Directory
http://taxsites.com/associations2.html
Tax Analysts
http://www.taxanalysts.com/
TaxHelpOnline.com
http://www.taxhelponline.com/
compiled by Mike
Wendt & updated by Tammy Stewart | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: July
2007