Duane G. Meyer Library | Missouri State University Libraries
A maroon-colored horizontal line
Reference & Government Information Department

African American Studies Pathfinder
Library research guide from the Meyer Library Reference & Government Information Department

African American Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Find Articles and Basic Reference Information
Magazine and journal indexes and other reference databases.

To access from off campus, most of the databases listed here will require a Missouri State University Windows Account User ID and Password. More information about off-campus access

Online Indexes to Articles
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

Book Review Digest Plus
Book Review Digest Plus brings together the rich data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and some full-text book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. Those indexes are: Applied Science & Technology Index, Art Index, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Index, General Science Index, Humanities Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, Social Sciences Index, and Business Periodicals Index. Retrospective coverage is provided back to 1983, with excerpts from book reviews for more than 150,000 books (and citations to thousands more). Entries currently encompass some 1,300,000 reviews covering over 550,000 books and grows with daily updates. Every book in Book Review Digest Plus appears with all its review citations together. Reviews must meet a length requirement to be cited, but no attempt is made to control the critical opinion they express. Books in all languages and from all countries qualify to be included if they are reviewed in one of the review sources indexed. The database includes children's books as well as book for adults and young adults.

Daily Life Online (5 user limit)
Daily Life Online's suite of social history products (over 430 titles) is comprised of four separate modules: Daily Life through History, Daily Life Premium, World Folklore and Folklife, and Daily Life America. Combined, these four databases provide a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students. All aspects of daily life are covered: religion, domestic issues, economy, government, recreation, food, clothing, travel, music and dance, tales, myths, urban legends, and other subject areas. Daily Life through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary source documents. Covering all time periods and aspects of world history, this database contains 44 volumes from the Daily Life through History series, as well as six volumes from the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life. Daily Life Premium contains an additional 131 titles, including 41 volumes from the Culture and Customs series, as well as over 45 country history monographs, along with other series on food culture and teen life. World Folklore and Folklife contains over 90 monographs, from general overviews of folklife and folklore to specific folktales. Organized by subject and region/country, World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region or country. Finally, Daily Life America, comprised of 125 monographs, highlights such topics as crime, food, music, and other social and cultural aspects of life in America.

eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database for disciplines with an interest in cultural diversity. eHRAF contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. Cultures included are mostly immigrant groups, Native North Americans, and other ethnic groups from around the world. The Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cross-cultural anthropology. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences. The mission of HRAF is to encourage and facilitate worldwide comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. Founded in 1949 at Yale University, HRAF is a financially autonomous research agency of Yale.

Gender Studies Database
The Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. GSD covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The MLA Bibliography includes coverage from 1926 to the present.

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Reader’s Guide Retrospective contains more than 3 million citations to articles in 375 general interest periodicals published between 1890-1982, making it an ideal tool for primary and secondary source material ranging from the dawn of the 20th century through two world wars and the Great Depression up to the 1980’s. A large number of the magazines indexed by the Reader’s Guide Retrospective are held by Meyer Library in print or microformat. This is the online version of the well-known and respected Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature from H.W. Wilson up to 1982.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
"Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive encyclopedia and reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopaedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Through this service, you can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by Encyclopaedia Britannica editors and contributors; over 14,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 215,000 entries--including definitions, pronunciation guides, and word histories--from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus." From EBOnline, 4/2004.

Facts.com
"World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940." It also includes World News Digest of current (including Today's News) and historic events (1940 to present), a searchable "What Happened on That Day" feature from 1940 to present, obituaries (1980 to present), maps, photos, historic documents, country profiles, biographies, heads of state, and more.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Arts & humanities citation index.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .A63

Biography index.
MSU Meyer Ref CT213.Z1 B5
Covers biographical information from English-language periodicals and books for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes. The database indexes articles, books, and autobiographies for biographical subjects from antiquity to the present and includes individual and collective biographies from all fields and nationalities. Online Version of Biography Index is available ONLY to current Missouri State University students and faculty at the Meyer Library Reference Desk with assistance from librarian.

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802-1974.
MSU Meyer Ref Z1035.A1 C58x 1982

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974.
MSU Meyer Ref Z1035.A1 C6x

Essay and general literature index.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .E752

G.K. Hall index to black periodicals.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .O4

Humanities index.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .H85

International index : a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .R49


America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of U.S. and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project's end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

Book Review Digest Plus
Book Review Digest Plus brings together the rich data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and some full-text book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. Those indexes are: Applied Science & Technology Index, Art Index, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Index, General Science Index, Humanities Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, Social Sciences Index, and Business Periodicals Index. Retrospective coverage is provided back to 1983, with excerpts from book reviews for more than 150,000 books (and citations to thousands more). Entries currently encompass some 1,300,000 reviews covering over 550,000 books and grows with daily updates. Every book in Book Review Digest Plus appears with all its review citations together. Reviews must meet a length requirement to be cited, but no attempt is made to control the critical opinion they express. Books in all languages and from all countries qualify to be included if they are reviewed in one of the review sources indexed. The database includes children's books as well as book for adults and young adults.

Daily Life Online (5 user limit)
Daily Life Online's suite of social history products (over 430 titles) is comprised of four separate modules: Daily Life through History, Daily Life Premium, World Folklore and Folklife, and Daily Life America. Combined, these four databases provide a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students. All aspects of daily life are covered: religion, domestic issues, economy, government, recreation, food, clothing, travel, music and dance, tales, myths, urban legends, and other subject areas. Daily Life through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary source documents. Covering all time periods and aspects of world history, this database contains 44 volumes from the Daily Life through History series, as well as six volumes from the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life. Daily Life Premium contains an additional 131 titles, including 41 volumes from the Culture and Customs series, as well as over 45 country history monographs, along with other series on food culture and teen life. World Folklore and Folklife contains over 90 monographs, from general overviews of folklife and folklore to specific folktales. Organized by subject and region/country, World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region or country. Finally, Daily Life America, comprised of 125 monographs, highlights such topics as crime, food, music, and other social and cultural aspects of life in America.

eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database for disciplines with an interest in cultural diversity. eHRAF contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. Cultures included are mostly immigrant groups, Native North Americans, and other ethnic groups from around the world. The Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cross-cultural anthropology. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences. The mission of HRAF is to encourage and facilitate worldwide comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. Founded in 1949 at Yale University, HRAF is a financially autonomous research agency of Yale.

Gender Studies Database
The Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. GSD covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.

JSTOR
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IV is an umbrella journal collection containing four sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: 119 core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics, and statistics; 124 journals in archaeology, classics, and Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies; 150 journals in language, literature, theatre, music, art, and architecture; and, 112 journals in education, management, marketing, political science, and public administration; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of 98 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The MLA Bibliography includes coverage from 1926 to the present.

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Reader’s Guide Retrospective contains more than 3 million citations to articles in 375 general interest periodicals published between 1890-1982, making it an ideal tool for primary and secondary source material ranging from the dawn of the 20th century through two world wars and the Great Depression up to the 1980’s. A large number of the magazines indexed by the Reader’s Guide Retrospective are held by Meyer Library in print or microformat. This is the online version of the well-known and respected Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature from H.W. Wilson up to 1982.


Online Reference Databases (e-Reference Books)
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
"Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive encyclopedia and reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopaedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Through this service, you can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by Encyclopaedia Britannica editors and contributors; over 14,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 215,000 entries--including definitions, pronunciation guides, and word histories--from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus." From EBOnline, 4/2004.

Facts.com
"World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940." It also includes World News Digest of current (including Today's News) and historic events (1940 to present), a searchable "What Happened on That Day" feature from 1940 to present, obituaries (1980 to present), maps, photos, historic documents, country profiles, biographies, heads of state, and more.


Print Indexes in the Meyer Library Reference Collection
The title links here will show you the SWAN library catalog record which gives the Meyer Library holdings of the print title.

Arts & humanities citation index.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .A63

Biography index.
MSU Meyer Ref CT213.Z1 B5
Covers biographical information from English-language periodicals and books for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes. The database indexes articles, books, and autobiographies for biographical subjects from antiquity to the present and includes individual and collective biographies from all fields and nationalities. Online Version of Biography Index is available ONLY to current Missouri State University students and faculty at the Meyer Library Reference Desk with assistance from librarian.

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802-1974.
MSU Meyer Ref Z1035.A1 C58x 1982

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974.
MSU Meyer Ref Z1035.A1 C6x

Essay and general literature index.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .E752

G.K. Hall index to black periodicals.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .O4

Humanities index.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .H85

International index : a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities.
MSU Meyer Ref AI3 .R49

 


General/All Purpose Indexes & Full Text Databases:
The following indexes and databases do not provide the in-depth coverage for studying African American Studies as the indexes above. They do cover a variety of subjects and topics across multiple disciplines and provide good general indexing of magazines, newspapers, and core academic journals. In addition they provide full text articles from many of the sources cited.

EBSCOhost. Enter EBSCOhost Web and select the appropriate database for your research.
FirstSearch. Either jump to the database you need to search, or under Databases on the menu bar to the left click “List All” and select the appropriate database for your research.
LexisNexis Academic. Full-text newspapers! Also includes business, legal research, and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online. An e-reference book collection of over 100 of Oxford University Press’s central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books.
CQ Researcher, FACTS.com, SIRS Researcher
, JSTOR, Project Muse

African American Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Selected Journals in the Library
The title links will take you to TDNet which is the Libraries' tool for locating journals regardless of their format—electronic, print, or microform. Once in TDNet, click on the links to locate journals online, or click on the check box to locate journals in print and microform. This is NOT a complete list of all relevant journals in the Missouri State University Libraries’ collection for this field. If you are looking for a particular title, then use TDNet as your starting point.

African American Review ( Formerly : Black American Literature Forum )

Black American Literature Forum

Journal of African American History

Journal of African American Men (Now: Journal of African American Studies)

North Star, The: a Journal of African American Religious History

Black Collegian

Black Elegance

Black Enterprise

Black Film Review

Black History Bulletin

Black Renaissance/ Renaissance Noire

Black Scholar, The

Journal of Black Psychology

Journal of Black Studies

Journal of Blacks in Higher Educaton

Western Journal of Black Studies

African American Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Recent Books in the Meyer Library Collection
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and complete citation. The citation record will also display the Library of Congress call number used to arrange many of the books in this subject area. You can use the call number to browse the shelf for similar materials.

Black Washingtonians : the Anacostia Museum illustrated chronology / the Smithsonian Anacostia Museum and Center for African American History and Culture. Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley, c2005.
MSU Meyer General F205.N4 B55 2005

Companion to African American history / edited by Alton Hornsby. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
MSU Meyer General E185 .C66 2005

Dyson, Michael Eric. Is Bill Cosby right? : or has the Black middle class lost its mind?. New York : Basic Civitas Books, c2005.
MSU Meyer General E185.86 .D945 2005

Estes, Steve. I am a man! : race, manhood, and the civil rights movement. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General E185.61 .E76 2005

Flamming, Douglas. Bound for freedom : Black Los Angeles in Jim Crow America. Berkeley : University of California Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General F869.L89 N4 2005

Groundwork : local black freedom movements in America / edited by Jeanne Theoharis and Komozi Woodard ; with a foreword by Charles Payne. New York : New York University, c2005.
MSU Meyer General E185.61 .G899 2005

Hunt, Darnell M. Channeling blackness : studies on television and race in America. New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General PN1992.8.A34 H86 2005

Joyce, Joyce Ann. Black studies as human studies : critical essays and interviews. Albany : State University of New York Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General E184.7 .J69 2005

McBride, Dwight A. Why I hate Abercrombie & Fitch : essays on race and sexuality. New York : New York University, c2005.
MSU Meyer General E184.7 .M348 2004

Martin, Waldo E. No coward soldiers : Black cultural politics and postwar America. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2005.
MSU Meyer General E185.6 .M3625 2005

Moore, Christopher. Fighting for America : black soldiers, the unsung heroes of World War II. New York : One World, 2005.
MSU Meyer General D810.N4 M65 2005

New Black renaissance : the souls anthology of critical African-American studies / edited by Manning Marable ; associate editors Khary Jones, Patricia G. Lespinasse, Adina Popescu. Boulder, Colo. : Paradigm Publishers, c2005.
1 copy being processed for MSU Meyer General.

Prince, Valerie Sweeney. Burnin' down the house : home in African American literature. New York : Columbia University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General PS374.N4 P75 2005

Say it plain : a century of great African American speeches / edited by Catherine Ellis and Stephen Drury Smith. New York : New Press : Distributed by W.W. Norton & Co., 2005.
MSU Meyer General PS663.N4 S39 2005

Scarborough, W. S. (William Sanders). The autobiography of William Sanders Scarborough : an American journey from slavery to scholarship / edited with an introduction by Michele Valerie Ronnick ; foreword by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Detroit : Wayne State University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General E185.97.S28 A3 2005

Smethurst, James Edward. The Black Arts Movement : literary nationalism in the 1960s and 1970s. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, 2005.
1 copy ordered for MSU Meyer General on 12-14-2005.

White, Shane. The sounds of slavery : discovering African American history through songs, sermons, and speech. Boston : Beacon Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General E443 .W59 2005

Wiggins, Daphne C. Righteous content : Black women's perspectives of church and faith. New York : New York University Press, c2005.
MSU Meyer General BR563.N4 W493 2005

African American Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Reference Books at Meyer Library
The title links will take you into SWAN, the Missouri State Libraries catalog, to view publishing information and obtain the Library of Congress call number used by Meyer Library to arrange reference materials. Reference materials are non-circulating items.

African-American atlas : Black history and culture--an illustrated reference
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .A79 1998

African-American century : how Black Americans have shaped our country
MSU Meyer Ref E185.96 .G38 2000

African American encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .A253 2001

African American lives
MSU Meyer Ref E185.96 .A446 2004

African American poets : lives, works, and sources
MSU Meyer Ref PS153.N5 P48 2002

African-American writers
MSU Meyer Ref PS153.N5 B214 2004

African American years
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .S797 2003

Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
MSU Meyer Ref DT14 .A37435 2005

American folklore : an encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref GR101 .A54 1996

Best literature by and about Blacks
MSU Meyer Ref PS153.N5 Z8 2000

Black firsts : 4,000 ground-breaking and pioneering historical events
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .B574 2003

Black women in America
MSU Meyer Ref E185.86 .B542 2005

Concise Oxford companion to African American literature
MSU Meyer Ref PS153.N5 C59 2001

Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .E54 1996

Encyclopedia of civil rights in America
MSU Meyer Ref E185.61 .E544 1998

Harlem Renaissance : a Gale critical companion
MSU Meyer Ref PS153.N5 H245 2003

New York Public Library African American desk reference
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .N49x 1999

Notable Black American men
MSU Meyer Ref E185.86 .N68 1999

Reference library of Black America
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .R44 2003

Timetables of African-Amerian history : a chronology of the most important people and events in African-American history
MSU Meyer Ref E185 .H295 1995

Words to make my dream children live : a book of African American quotations
MSU Meyer Ref PN6081.3 .W67 1995

African American Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Government Sources & Publications
Key government departments and agencies and publications in the Meyer Library Government Documents Department.DocLinks - directory of national, state, local, and international government web sites from the Government Documents Department at Missouri State University Libraries.
http://library.missouristate.edu/reference/govinfo.htmUSA.gov - the United States Government's Official Web Portal.
http://www.usa.gov

GPO Access
GPO Access disseminates official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It indexes government publications and offers core documents of U.S. democracy (Constitution, Bill of Rights, Gettysburg Address, etc.) along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources.


Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970.
MSU Meyer Ref Desk C 3.134/2: H62/789-970/ pt. 1-2

African American Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Associations
Organizations of experts, policy makers, and researchers.

General Directory
Scholarly Societies Project from the University of Waterloo Library
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/


Association of Black Women Historians
http://www.abwh.org/

American Historical Association
http://www.historians.org/

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People [NAACP]
http://www.naacp.org/

National Association of African American Studies
http://www.naaas.org/

National Council for History Education
http://www.nche.net/

Organization of American Historians
http://www.oah.org/

African American Studies| All Pathfinders (A-Z)
Find Articles
Journals
Recent Books
Reference Books
Gov Docs
Associations
Web Sites

Web Sites
Selected web directories to sources and a variety of information on the Internet.

African American culture
http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues1999/january1/africanamerican.htm

African American Mosaic
http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/african/intro.html

African-American Women: On-line Archival Collections
http://odyssey.lib.duke.edu/collections/african-american-women.html

African American Women Writers
http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/writers_aa19/

American Slave Narratives: an Online Anthology
http://xroads.virginia.edu/~hyper/wpa/wpahome.html

Black Studies
http://origin.admin.ccny.cuny.edu/library/blacks.html

Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/images_aa19/

Malcolm X Research Site
http://www.brothermalcolm.net/introduction.html

Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project
http://www.stanford.edu/group/King/

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
http://www.nypl.org/research/sc/sc.html

Seeing Black.com
http://seeingblack.com/

compiled by Crystal Gale | Meyer Library
Missouri State University Libraries | Updated: February 2006