Missouri State University

Skip search and site index

Missouri State University Libraries

Indexes & Databases - By Subject

 
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z
TitleAccess Notes
This comprehensive database includes modern maps of the world, regions, countries and states, featuring Google Earth® “Skins,” interactive maps, animated maps, antique maps, flag images, and educational and teaching tools. [more info...]
With full-text coverage for more than 5,000 publications, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 13,000 journals in nearly every area of academic study. [more info...]
Containing full text for more than 4,000 publications, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in the collection on nearly every area of academic study. [more info...]
Provides a collection of science reference materials, including the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, along with much more. [more info...]
Covering materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science, this database is compiled by the USDA's National Agricultural Library, with coverage from 1970 to present. [more info...]
Provides citations and abstracts to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with coverage dating back to 1954. [more info...]
Containing over 18,000 biographies, this resource covers deceased persons whose lives or careers directly influenced the course of American history. [more info...]
Provides citations to articles from the contents pages of journals with coverage from 1990 to present, and includes articles from over 23,000 general topic sources. [more info...]
Containing over 236,000 biographical profiles, this is an excellent full-text resource for current celebrities, authors, historical figures, and others. [more info...]
Indexes articles in over 4,000 scientific journals from the life science and biomedical research literature, with coverage back to 1969. [more info...]
Containing over 1,800 entries, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of the field of sociology, from historical theories to recent developments. [more info...]
Includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review cites and some full-text book reviews from eleven other Wilson indexes. Coverage goes back to 1983. [more info...]
Citations and purchasing information for currently in-print, forthcoming, and hard-to-find books, audios and videos by author, title, publisher, keyword, subject and more. [more info...]
An online tax research service from Commerce Clearing House which includes federal and state tax reporters, as well as IRS publications. Coverage is current. [more info...]
An acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 100,000 full-text reviews of children's books. [more info...]
Provides access to all the book reviews published in Choice magazine, a journal which reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. [more info...]
Newspaper with stories on current issues and trends in higher education. [more info...]
Sponsored by: MSU Office of the Provost
A virtual library with thousands of college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools. [more info...]
A geographical dictionary of places and locations, including information on demography, physical geography, political boundaries, industry, trade, and service activities. [more info...]
This online version of a classic reference work includes nearly 70,000 poems in full text and more than 500,000 poetry citations, along with commentaries, biographies, and other features. [more info...]
Provides full-text coverage for nearly 300 journals, along with indexing and abstracts for over 600 journal titles in the communication and mass media fields. [more info...]
As a subset of Academic OneFile, this collection provides coverage for over 250 journals on all aspects of communications, including public relations, advertising, writing, and linguistics. [more info...]
As a subset of Academic OneFile, this database provides product information and reviews on hardware, software, and other applications of computer technology. [more info...]
Covering three research tools (CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, and CQ Encyclopedia of American Government), this database provides objective, analytical reports on the American political system, including the most current and controversial issues of the day. [more info...]
Provides concise and up-to-date explanations, facts, figures, and primary resources on issues of American democracy. [more info...]
Provides objective, analytical reporting by Congressional Quarterly on the most current and controversial issues of the day in lengthy (15-20 page) reports. [more info...]
A bibliography (citations only) of additions to the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, including references to books, articles, pamphlets, maps, and atlases. [more info...]
Contains biographies of natural scientists and mathematicians from around the world and from all historical periods. [more info...]
A comprehensive, full-text database with in-depth reference content, including biographies, in the areas of literature, history, geography, science, and social studies. [more info...]
Provides abstracts for U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses, with coverage from 1861-present. [more info...]
As a subset of Academic OneFile, this collection of nearly 150 journals explores cultural differences and influences in society. [more info...]
Covers both early childhood development and education in the United States and in ten other countries. [more info...]
The generic name for the database platform used to access and search over 30 indexes and databases. [more info...]
An OCLC collection of scholarly journals, covering from 1995 to present. [more info...]
Indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, including full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. [more info...]
Provides full-text resources on all levels of education, from preschool to college, on issues such as bilingual education, testing, technology, and administration. [more info...]
Produced by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), this cross-cultural database contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. [more info...]
Full-text access to nearly 150 journals in the social sciences and business areas, including management, marketing, finance, and information science. [more info...]
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. [more info...]
This is the electronic version of the 22-volume encyclopedia (2006, 2nd. ed.) on Jewish life, culture, history and religion. [more info...]
As the primary text for Muslims worldwide, this online encyclopaedic dictionary covers all aspects of the Quran. [more info...]
Provides over 1000 entries on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. [more info...]
Covers both traditional and contemporary Asian theatre, especially South, Southeast, and Far East Asia. [more info...]
Covering the relationship of business, ethics, and society in today's business climate, this resource offers numerous essays on topics such as corporate responsibility, environmental regulations, and consumer attitudes. [more info...]
Sponsored by: MSU Libraries in honor of Dr. Ron Bottin
Provides over 1,000 entries which discuss the contributions and challenges of persons with disabilities. [more info...]
Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught. [more info...]
Covers the latest research on the biology, psychology, and sociology of aging, in addition to covering how aging is depicted in the humanities. [more info...]
Contains over 750 articles about global warming, climate change, and the impact on specific countries and regions of the world. [more info...]
Contains nearly 300 articles tracing the often complex relationship between religion and politics in the modern world, including topics such as creationism and evolution, Islam, the Christian Right, and abortion. [more info...]
This is the electronic version of the 15-volume encyclopedia (2005, 2nd ed.) which encompasses all aspects in the field of religion. [more info...]
Provides essay-length articles on all aspects of sex and gender, including gender studies, race, ethnicity, sexuality, and social institutions. [more info...]
Contains over 250 entries on the origins, properties, classification, and roles of soils in the biosphere. [more info...]
Contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. [more info...]
As a subset of Academic OneFile, this collection indexes over 250 magazines and journals in the areas of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. [more info...]
The generic name for the database platform from OCLC used to access and search several databases. [more info...]
The generic name for the platform used to access and search over 40 indexes and databases. [more info...]
Contains nearly 100 journals covering key aspects of gardening, landscaping and horticulture studies. [more info...]
Indexes nearly 12,000 periodical titles, including over 7,000 full-text, on a wide range of subjects. [more info...]
Provides official information from all three branches of the U.S. Government, along with a variety of other Federal-wide resources. [more info...]
Contains the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001 ed.), along with four other music resources, including opera and jazz. [more info...]
Contains a collection of documents relating to homeland security policy, strategy, security-related research, and organizational management. [more info...]
IHS is a leading provider of technical standards, codes, and specificiations (including government & military) from more than 370 technical societies around the world such as ANSI, ASME, ASTM, BOCA, and IEEE. [more info...]
As a subset of Academic OneFile, this collection contains nearly 100 journals in the field of library science and information technology. [more info...]
Provides full-text, Spanish language articles from over 400 popular Hispanic magazines. [more info...]
Provides coverage of current events from over 1,200 newspapers from around the world. [more info...]
Provides middle-school students with a wide variety of full-text sources to answer general reference questions. [more info...]
Designed for high school students, this databases access to full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books. [more info...]
Features 3,000 articles and biographies on such global topics as censorship, aging, income distribution, foreign aid, food, crime, health care, etc. [more info...]
Full-text, complete journal collection with 635 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, archaeology, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology. [more info...]
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from the Kansas City area, with coverage from 1991 to present. [more info...]
Provides test preparation materials designed to help people succeed on tests they must pass to further their education or career, improve testing skills, or gain citizenship. Registration required; see more info about registration. [more info...]
Full-text database of news, legal, business, biographical, medical, and country information. [more info...]
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more, with indexing back to the mid-1960s. [more info...]
Contains the contents of four literature criticism titles: Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism [more info...]
Provides access to current biographies of all individuals who appeared in any one of the many Marquis print titles since 1985. [more info...]
A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present. [more info...]
Lists over 4,400 currently indexed periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. [more info...]
A subject-author guide to all styles and genres of music, covering over 775 international music periodicals from 1976 to present. [more info...]
Contains summaries of more than 200,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state, and local government research reports and journal articles from 1975 to present. [more info...]
Allows access to approximately 85,000 musical selections, primarily classical music, but also some jazz and world music, which will play on most Internet computers through streaming technology. [more info...]
Full-text database of news articles from two Missouri newspapers: Kansas City Star (1991 to present) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1988 to present), as well as 28 popular news magazines. [more info...]
This database is a comprehensive collection of over 7,500 biographical and research articles on African American history and culture. [more info...]
Contains 55,000 detailed biographical essays and over 10,000 pictures of people no longer living (from earliest times to present) who have had some significant connection to British history. [more info...]
A guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over a half million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources. [more info...]
This is the platform for Grove Music Online and two other electronic resources. [more info...]
Provides over 185 fully-indexed, cross-searchable subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. [more info...]
An OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide (1993-present) on a wide variety of subjects. [more info...]
This resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations. [more info...]
Provides full-text coverage of over 1,000 magazines covering current events, science, health, sports, and more. [more info...]
An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings, which contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference (1993-present). [more info...]
Provides full-text access to over 420 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines. [more info...]
Contains more than 3 million citations to articles in 375 general interest periodicals published between 1890-1982. [more info...]
A bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 100 languages from thousands of journals, with coverage from 1967 to present. [more info...]
This is the online, full-text equivalent of three print resources: Milestone Documents in American History, Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, and Great Events from History: Modern Scandals. [more info...]
Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection. [more info...]
A general reference database for high school and college students containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues, done according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness. [more info...]
This is a locally-produced index to the Springfield newspapers, covering 1867-June 2002. [more info...]
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events and people in the community, with coverage from 1988 to present. [more info...]
Provides detailed business information and corporation records on over 12,000 publicly held U.S. and international corporations, including individual company stock reports, bond guides, dividend records, and earning guides. [more info...]
An easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals, providing access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions. [more info...]
The site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing daily updates of U.S. economic conditions, as well as foreign investments and economic reports on countries and regions of the world. [more info...]
Contains up-to-date, brief articles on all countries in the world and information on international organizations. [more info...]
Designed especially for youth in grades six to twelve, this database includes magazine and newspaper articles, reference books, photos, flags, and other reference works. [more info...]
United States federal legislative information and links to government resources. [more info...]
Provides information about periodicals (magazines) and serials, including title, publisher information, frequency, cost, and even evaluative reviews of selected titles. [more info...]
The electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations, containing full-text documents accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the UN. [more info...]
A collection of over 158,000 treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the United Nations Secretariat since 1946. [more info...]
An online catalogue of United Nations publications and documentation indexed by the UN Library, including indexing of UN resolutions back to 1945. [more info...]
UN statistical resources in one database, covering social, economic, and demographic data. [more info...]
Contains specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide, with at least ten years of annual files available. [more info...]
Formerly known as FirstGov, USA.gov is the official portal to U.S. government information online. [more info...]
The Wall Street Journal online offers full-text coverage of all articles by Wall Street Journal staff writers from 1984 to date, including the current day’s news. [more info...]
As a subset of Academic OneFile, this collection of nearly 100 periodicals covers world-wide conflicts, their causes, and impacts. [more info...]
An online foreign news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information, compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, with coverage from 1996 to present. [more info...]
A full-text database used to find information and answer questions about major social and political events, world issues, statistics and people of the last 65+ years. [more info...]
Includes catalog records of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. [more info...]